We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Good Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

As mentioned by prior reviewers, the location is great for those wanting to catch the metro into DC. The metro also stops at the airport, making it really convenient for those flying in who may not want to rent a car. The hotel is classic embassy suites, with central atrium, cooked to order breakfast, and managers reception. This style of hotel in my view is a little dated, but its well maintained. For those driving in, be advised that parking costs $26 per day - which is not unusual in cities. The hotel is near the start of King St where many restaurants are located, however it can be a long walk to some of them and the free King St. Trolley which you may read about, fills up very quickly - so don't count on it. In bad weather that could be a consideration. All and all I would recommend the Embassy and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You are right, the King St. Trolley can get busy at times and as an alternate option we do have our hotel shuttle that is available. Please note that our shuttle is also on a first come first serve basis, but nonetheless offers an alternate means of transportation, should it be needed. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
448
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After reading reviews and tips from other guests we decided to do what someone suggested and asked for one of the newly remodeled rooms. We were very satisfied with the room we received which was decorated nicely and very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets are really soft. The breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good. The omelet I had was one of the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back. Also, in great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is most gratifying to know that not only were you pleased with your stay, but that you would recommend and return to our property. As a hotel, there is not much more we could hope for. I will copy the breakfast staff on your review. I am sure that they will be pleased that they surpassed your food expectations and thrilled that your omelet was one of the best you ever had! Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stay at Embassy Suites whenever I can! It is the best for families. It offers plenty of space and privacy for a family. There is a hot cooked to order breakfast in the atrium...with lots of seconds! There is a free happy hour every night, even Thanksgiving! We ordered food from the local Boston Market and Whole Foods(across the street) an had a Thanksgiving dinner in our room! This hotel is also right across from the Metro which takes you everywhere you need to go. Oh and King St., Old Town is in walking distance with lots of great local boutiques!
My only minor complaint is the front desk staff can be a little difficult but end up coming through in the end!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It concerns me that you had difficulty with our front desk staff and would have appreciated knowing what issue you encountered. I am however, pleased that whatever it was, it was taken care of and resolved in the end. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly sited if your DC-area travels can be done by metro, as the King Street metro stop is right across the street. Also, the Old Town free trolley leaves from right across the street as well. Finally, the Whole Foods a block away out the back door is great, as is the pizza place right outside the back door (try the greek salad!). Breakfast cooked to order, free business room, they scanned something for me that I needed in digital form and emailed it to me, no charge or bother. Agree with other reviews saying that parts of it are a bit dated - the bathroom cabinets in particular - but I love the extra space gained by having a separate living room and bedroom, and the fridge. Don't forget to bring some money down to breakfast so you can tip the short order cook. Didn't try the pool or gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As mentioned before, our rooms will be updated with new case goods sometime in the latter part of 2013 and I hope that you will be able to visit us again to witness the changes. Although our staff appreciates any “goodies” left for them, I can assure you that “tipping” is not expected or warranted. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location - across the street from the Metro into DC and a Trolley into Old Towne. Even with a group of over 250 high school students who were visiting the Capitol during Thanksgiving, the hotel didn't seem overcrowded. My room was great: very comfortable bed, just installed new LG TV's and new microwave. All the comforts of home while you're traveling.

Room Tip: I was on fourth floor away from elevators, on a corner overlooking atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Please come back and visit us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Had the occasional old ageing signs here and there like the vanity separating from wall, old A/C units (always on or switched off), etc. Breakfast was full featured and managers reception was great. Had 2 set of high school girls on field trips, but was still roomy enough to accommodate everyone. Will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I look forward to your return in the latter part of 2013, when all of our rooms will be getting a well deserved case goods update. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I just recently stayed here with my husband for a quick "mini-moon" after getting married. We picked this hotel due to the location ( directly across from the metro) and it worked out perfect for a DC trip. King street was awesome, so many neat shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel shuttle is great and the guy working when we were there was a lot of fun. The free King Street Trolley was really neat too! Breakfast in the morning was great not only because it was free but the made to order omelets and eggs were great and one of the best breakfast buffets I have had from a hotel. Manager's reception in the evening was a great surprise, free beer and wine and a small spread of snacks was perfect since we had planned on a late dinner. (Cheese, chips and salsa, hummus, potato chips, popcorn) Parking in the deck is VERY tight just FYI. I will recommend this hotel to friends and plan on staying here again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding. I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us, for your brief trip! Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and for your review. I hope we will be able to welcome you and your husband again for the many years to come. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.