We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great location near the King Street Metro exit, just 2 stops from Reagan National. I loved how quaint Alexandria was. Walking distance to Old Town Alexandria. Lots of shops and food shops in Alexandria.

Breakfast was great, but a bit crowded with lots of families there. The usual Embassy Suites fare-fresh fruit (really fresh), juices, eggs, bacon and omlettes to order if you're willing to wait in line for them. Rooms were clean, had good internet connections, and you can never beat having a full suite. I would stay here again if I was in the area. Seems to be a far ride to DC though if you're thinking of using this as a vacation hotel.

I appreciated that they held our luggage while we went to get dinner, even though we had already checked out that morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. I am always gratified when a guest takes the time to let us know how we are doing and appreciate the comments, whether good or not so good. Our focus is to build our business to make every guest want to return and I am pleased that we are going to see you again in your travels. I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
446
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, a little far from downtown dc (expect at least 30 minutes on the weekend), but overall a solid hotel. We'll stay here again in the future. Great location in Old Towne, shuttle odd included off you go downtown Old Towne, with lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for writing this review, how great that you will consider us for your next visit to the area! I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've used this hotel several times before because we think the location is unbeatable. It is directly across the street from Amtrak and King St. Metro stations. It is only two short Metro stops from Reagan National Airport. The area seems safe and there are lots of eating places nearby; also, a Whole Foods Market is about a block away.

Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Our "view" was of the roof-quiet but ugly. The atrium remodel is nice although it is a bit small when the hotel is full. Breakfast is good - we especially like the oatmeal toppers including fresh almond slices. In-room wireless Internet seemed faster this time. That being said, there is room for improvement - old televisions, worn out sofa/sleeper, blanket for sleeper had holes, tub faucet coming away from wall, grout looked like it was applied by a child. It's nice that managers reception is held every day, but "snacks" amounted to popcorn, potato chips, and salsa.

Room Tip: We had a room in the past that faced the George Washington Masonic building and was very scenic. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your return visit and review. How wonderful that we were able to serve you again. I so hope that your next visit will be as pleasant. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have started taking Amtrak from Norfolk to DC. This hotel is across the street from Amtrak and King Street metro stop. The most convenient/inexpensive for the Amtrak/Metro commuter. Very clean hotel w/ nice staff. Rooms are better than adequate. Great free breakfast - eggs to order.

Room Tip: all rooms open to an inner atrium. Sort of like a motel turned inside out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. You are right. Amtrak and metro are so convenient, that driving into town is not always the best option. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

this hotel is not only pretty and clean....when your inside you feel like you are out side....it is right across from the metro station. We took the metro every day into downtown Washington ..15-20.the hotel has a shuttle to go to old town Alexandria or the town has a trolley that runs up and down kings st.you can get the trolley at the metro station.every night the hotel has a happy hr...free beer and wine...chips,popcorn ..we had a blast! the breakfast that came with the room was great.made to order eggs, pancakes,bacon etc. the room we had...two room suite was really nice...and best of all we went on the weekend and it was a really good price. We even left our car in the lot on Monday ...no problem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It is always gratifying when comments posted about our hotel are positive in nature and that I know the guest truly enjoyed his/her stay. Thank you for your review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent staff and service. They were eager to please and to correct problems that we had with our room (which was minor, 1 king instead of 2 queens). Free hot breakfast was above average. Atrium in the hotel was beautiful and a nice place to hang out and relax in the evening. Bed and even pull out sofa were comfortable. Great location with free weekend parking across the street at the King St. metro station (though they'll try to get you to park in their garage for $26 per night, but be warned that the clearance is pretty low). Less than a mile walk to the Old Town and all of the bars and restaurants there. A free trolly dropped us off right across from the hotel on our way home. Pool, hot tub, and fitness room were good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating and provided you with “excellent” service. Please come see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The travel guru at Channel 70 Video Productions picked this hotel because she knows I prefer Embassy Suites. And, this one was literally steps away from the client located on Prince Street. So, great hotel and close by hotel. Well, great except our grip truck wouldn't fit into the hotel's underground garage. By the way, no free parking here - a whopping $26 day for self-parking in not-New York, not DC, not London, but, Alexandria VA. The assistant manager suggested the Amtrac parking lot some distance away, but Amtrac was having none of that. Magically, a space sort of across from the hotel opened up and there went the truck. But, this was the DC area and no way we were going to leave super expensive video unattended overnight. So, we lugged the most valuable gear from the truck and into our rooms. There was a charge for internet, but we all use 3G/4G phones and netbooks so it wasn't an issue. 3G/4G speeds were very fast in this town. The rooms were quiet despite the railroad across the street. Breakfast, as I've come to expect, was very good. We all packed in the chow since it was already known it would be a very late lunch do to our shooting schedule. This is a busy hotel, but the staff handled everything with ease - except for the switchboard. Slow service from hotel switchboards at larger hotels seem to be a US-wide problem. (never at Ritz Carlton, though) We ate at Joe's next door (would have preferred Sonny's) and had a fine time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I can appreciate that parking a large truck can be an issue, for the convenience of our guests, the spaces are located closest to the hotel main entrance and tend to be smaller in size. We do have larger spaces available for guest vans or trucks, but I understand that your truck might not have fit in any of the available spaces. I am pleased that a space became available for you on the street, although I do remain certain, that we would have accommodated your truck somewhere. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.