We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned for the great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big on Parking!
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We returned for the great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've used this hotel several times before because we think the location is unbeatable. It is directly across the street from Amtrak and King St. Metro stations. It is only two short Metro stops from Reagan National Airport. The area seems safe and there are lots of eating places nearby; also, a Whole Foods Market is about a block away.

Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Our "view" was of the roof-quiet but ugly. The atrium remodel is nice although it is a bit small when the hotel is full. Breakfast is good - we especially like the oatmeal toppers including fresh almond slices. In-room wireless Internet seemed faster this time. That being said, there is room for improvement - old televisions, worn out sofa/sleeper, blanket for sleeper had holes, tub faucet coming away from wall, grout looked like it was applied by a child. It's nice that managers reception is held every day, but "snacks" amounted to popcorn, potato chips, and salsa.

Room Tip: We had a room in the past that faced the George Washington Masonic building and was very scenic. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your return visit and review. How wonderful that we were able to serve you again. I so hope that your next visit will be as pleasant. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    398
    126
    41
    16
See reviews for
494
147
25
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have started taking Amtrak from Norfolk to DC. This hotel is across the street from Amtrak and King Street metro stop. The most convenient/inexpensive for the Amtrak/Metro commuter. Very clean hotel w/ nice staff. Rooms are better than adequate. Great free breakfast - eggs to order.

Room Tip: all rooms open to an inner atrium. Sort of like a motel turned inside out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. You are right. Amtrak and metro are so convenient, that driving into town is not always the best option. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

this hotel is not only pretty and clean....when your inside you feel like you are out side....it is right across from the metro station. We took the metro every day into downtown Washington ..15-20.the hotel has a shuttle to go to old town Alexandria or the town has a trolley that runs up and down kings st.you can get the trolley at the metro station.every night the hotel has a happy hr...free beer and wine...chips,popcorn ..we had a blast! the breakfast that came with the room was great.made to order eggs, pancakes,bacon etc. the room we had...two room suite was really nice...and best of all we went on the weekend and it was a really good price. We even left our car in the lot on Monday ...no problem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It is always gratifying when comments posted about our hotel are positive in nature and that I know the guest truly enjoyed his/her stay. Thank you for your review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent staff and service. They were eager to please and to correct problems that we had with our room (which was minor, 1 king instead of 2 queens). Free hot breakfast was above average. Atrium in the hotel was beautiful and a nice place to hang out and relax in the evening. Bed and even pull out sofa were comfortable. Great location with free weekend parking across the street at the King St. metro station (though they'll try to get you to park in their garage for $26 per night, but be warned that the clearance is pretty low). Less than a mile walk to the Old Town and all of the bars and restaurants there. A free trolly dropped us off right across from the hotel on our way home. Pool, hot tub, and fitness room were good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating and provided you with “excellent” service. Please come see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The travel guru at Channel 70 Video Productions picked this hotel because she knows I prefer Embassy Suites. And, this one was literally steps away from the client located on Prince Street. So, great hotel and close by hotel. Well, great except our grip truck wouldn't fit into the hotel's underground garage. By the way, no free parking here - a whopping $26 day for self-parking in not-New York, not DC, not London, but, Alexandria VA. The assistant manager suggested the Amtrac parking lot some distance away, but Amtrac was having none of that. Magically, a space sort of across from the hotel opened up and there went the truck. But, this was the DC area and no way we were going to leave super expensive video unattended overnight. So, we lugged the most valuable gear from the truck and into our rooms. There was a charge for internet, but we all use 3G/4G phones and netbooks so it wasn't an issue. 3G/4G speeds were very fast in this town. The rooms were quiet despite the railroad across the street. Breakfast, as I've come to expect, was very good. We all packed in the chow since it was already known it would be a very late lunch do to our shooting schedule. This is a busy hotel, but the staff handled everything with ease - except for the switchboard. Slow service from hotel switchboards at larger hotels seem to be a US-wide problem. (never at Ritz Carlton, though) We ate at Joe's next door (would have preferred Sonny's) and had a fine time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. I can appreciate that parking a large truck can be an issue, for the convenience of our guests, the spaces are located closest to the hotel main entrance and tend to be smaller in size. We do have larger spaces available for guest vans or trucks, but I understand that your truck might not have fit in any of the available spaces. I am pleased that a space became available for you on the street, although I do remain certain, that we would have accommodated your truck somewhere. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here to see the Nats play. The hotel is across the street from the Metro, change lines once to get to the stadium. Self park is $25/day -- spaces are tiny. This is an older Embassy that is not well set up for computer use -- no computer desk, few easily accessible electric plugs. Breakfast was very good -- cooked to order omelets, pancakes, and real oatmeal (not instant) with nuts, cranberries, and brown sugar, as well as fresh fruit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. As mentioned before in other reviews, we will be updating our case goods for our rooms in 2013 which will provide a more conducive area for computer work. We presently have 20 new rooms that were completed in 2012 which offer what you are looking for. Perhaps on your next visit you can request one of these newly appointed rooms? I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Embassy Suites has been undergoing renovations for quite a while now, and it seems to be almost done. Overall, well done. The lobby bar looks great, a huge upgrade over the prior setup back in the corner. The restaurant has been rebranded into Mediteranean cuisine. They closed the Duke’s restaurant, which I think is a loss.

As always, the people here make the difference. I needed to get a couple of pieces of bamboo cut (long story: see my Hilton Shanghai review), and was quickly and happily assisted. I also met the GM, who actually works in the glassed in office in the lobby… I was impressed that she was there, and actually talking with guests. Ten points!

You can still expect this property to attract large groups of families with students… lots of student traffic. They handle it well, and the morning breakfast scrum is well equipped to manage the groups. That said, if you’re looking for Zen and Quiet, this might not be your best bet. The Westin Alexandria could be a better choice. If you value the convenience of landing at DCA, grabbing Metro two stops, and being 100metres from your hotel, then this is a great place.

I’ve been here before, will certainly return, and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. As always we appreciate any review that involves “our staff”, and how they make a difference in your stay. It is important that the hotel be clean comfortable and pleasant for a “good” stay, but the employees who work there make it a “great” stay and I am glad that you were able to experience our hospitality. I look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.