We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the week of July 4th. It was perfect. The hotel is directly across from the Metro rail station. Once we parked at the hotel, we didn't have to get back into our suv until it was time to leave. This was great because parking was Very tight in the parking garage. Our only regret was not driving our sedan. There are a few restaurants within walking distance if the hotel. We had lunch at subway. There is also a great restaurant inside the hotel. All in all, this hotel is perfect for a visit to Arlington and the DC attractions. This is probably the only place I would consider staying at when I return to the area. The rooms were typical Embassy designed and they were clean.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    330
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
401
116
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were there with a wedding group and several of our reservations were incorrect on check in including the bride's. It took a bit of doing but they did fix things. When they did check us in finally, they did not go over any of our benefits. We had to ask for the special rate for parking as they were going to charge us full freight instead of the special rate for the wedding group. They did not tell us the breakfast was included -- so we went out for breakfast when we saw how crowded it was and how loud the jackhammering was in the lobby (which they are still renovating). That cost us quite a bit more over two days. Had we known it was included in the price, we would have grabbed breakfast and carried it to our room. We finally ate there the third morning and that's when we realized it was free. It was excellent, including choice of omelets, but very crowded and slow moving.

Oh yes, and they charge extra for internet. When are hotels going to realize that it makes people feel nickle and dimed to be charged for something they have to have for their own business and it doesn't cost them a penny more to provide it? To be fair, they do have a computer room with free access to the internet in the lobby. It even has a printer so you can print directions, boarding passes, etc.

Our suite was nice but not outstanding -- it smelled stale. Since windows don't open however, we could not do anything about it. We also could not get the air conditioning to stay at the desired temperature. It kept creeping up. Plus, there was an elevator that wasn't working right so people were getting stuck in it. That combined with the jackhammering in the lobby did not make for a great impression.

I must say, the location is fabulous. The free trolley into old town stops across the street and the Metro station is right there as well. The hotel also has a free shuttle into old town, which they did not tell us about -- we learned about it from another guest.

Oh yes, and we walked up to the Masonic National Memorial to George Washington which is a short walk past the Metro station. It was closed and the grounds were seriously neglected. It appeared no one had mowed the lawn in weeks.

Old town Alexandria was great fun though!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will address your check in with the front office manager to understand the circumstances contributing to the delay upon arrival. Although the group organizers will usually inform their attendees of hotel amenities and services before arrival, the information should have been forthcoming by the front office agent at check in. We are excited that our hotel is being renovated but remain concerned about our guest’s comfort, and therefore have scheduled the noisier work to take place during the day hours when most guests are out and about visiting our Nation’s Capital. I do hope to be able to have you visit our property in the future and enjoy all that this area has to offer. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel was a great location for our trip to DC. The metro yellow line is right across the street! Very easy to get around on the metro. The neighborhood was fine. We took the free Old Town Trolley to some cute shops. The front desk staff was helpful with direction on the bus to Mt. Vernon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you and your family were able to appreciate the convenience of our hotel and the charm of Alexandria Old Town. I look forward to your return. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

You can tell the management has been working hard on making this a strong property. Communication was great about the amenities and services available. The train station is across the street and plenty of dining options are in the area.

I will recommend this to others heading to the DC area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our management team does work hard to keep things running smoothly especially in this exciting time of change and renovation. All of our staff is exceptional and I appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge them. Thank you for your referral and we look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place has a great location for food, shopping and tourist things. The George Washington National Monument is a short walk and in full view of the hotel. Go up the elevator in the monument and get a great 360 degree view! The hotel has great full breakfast, omelette station, free happy hour in the evening, just a great place.. Only two stops down from Ronald Reagan airport on the blue or yellow line.

With the metro rail station across the street you are moments away from all of DC. My wife and especially like to take it to gallery place/china town. There is a lot to see and eat near that station also

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the DC area. I appreciate that you took the time to write this review and wish to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Excellent if a trifle dated property characterized by superior location and accommodating staff seriously compromised by predatory and confiscatory parking arrangements.

Reviewers from North Carolina have remarked on this deficit. I can only add that local alternatives appear nonexistent. One pays New York prices to park in an underground facility where parking even a compact sedan is a challenge. The spaces are so small that an SUV driver told me he routinely occupies two of them. Those interested in surveying automotive color choices can do so by examining the scratched-off paint samples on the support columns. We counted a half-dozen grey and blacks, plus one deep red. The garage is Lilliputian, fit only for Fiat 500s and Austin Minis.

Reception informed me that Colonial Parking, Inc., holds a monopoly of sorts on downtown parking, and that Embassy Suites' garage is owned by them, hence hotel cannot determine pricing. That's too bad, because it sours you on the whole experience. We had a nice, big top floor room, very clean and well-appointed, overlooking Alexandria's two (2) railroad stations. Maybe this was a hint. Arrive by Amtrak, and take the DC Metro for local destinations, and maybe rent a car for a day or two. That way you'd dodge the parking rip-off, plus avoid the area's legendary traffic snarls, only marginally improved by a new Potomac crossing for the Beltway. NB: DC's Friday rush hour begins at 12:Noon.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should avoid rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. As an employee of this hotel I understand that the underground parking garage is at times a challenge and accommodating larger vehicles can be an issue. We share these 1000+ parking spaces with a large business complex and have positioned the parking area closest to the hotel entrance for ease of maneuvering with luggage. I agree that the general parking area can definitely seem small, based on the location of the support pillars. For that reason we do offer a few larger parking spots for oversized vehicles. When taking the train or flying into the area, it is recommended that due to our proximity to the metro, that it may be considered a viable alternative for transportation. In the hopes that for your next visit you may be able to avail yourself of this option. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I chose the Embassy Suites at Old Town since it's in a great location; just across the street from the King Street Metro. I normally have a great stay at Embassy Suites, but this night just didn't measure up. As previously noted, the hotel is undergoing a renovation, so things were a little out of kilter, which I can understand, but compounding the problem, their computer was barely working so something as simple as switching rooms became a mufti-hour proposition. The shortcomings with the manager's Reception and the breakfast drill were detailed quite accurately and comprehensively by H0lidayr0ad's review; not much else I could add to that detailed review. Also concur with the room description in that review, but I would add that I found the brown vinyl sofa bed in the living room pretty tacky; might be O.K. for families visiting D.C., but for business travelers I think its a real turn off. The atrium is so bare right now that it looks like you're inside a factory, not a hotel; the ambiance is nil at best. Hopefully things will improve once they finish the renovation, but they still need to finish upgrading the TVs in both rooms and do something about those cheap-looking sofa beds. The staff is friendly and helpful, but I'll wait until the dust settles before I return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators; the pulley mechanisms are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. As you stated we are still in our renovation stage. We are, however making tremendous progress. Our new restaurant has recently opened for service and is settling in nicely, providing delicious food to hotel guests and neighboring office staff. As we continue updating our hotel throughout the year with a new exercise facility, new rooms and new case goods in the existing rooms, I remain convinced that upon your return you will be pleased. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.