We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for tourist with no car” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $139!
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect base for tourist with no car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is directly across the street from the King St. Metro Station, in a very nice neighborhood. You can fly into Washington National Airport, catch the metro there, and ride two short stops to this hotel. We stayed a week and got everywhere via metro. There are a number of small restaurants and a great Whole Foods Market within a block or two.

All the people at the hotel were very nice and provided service to exceed expectations. All areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. The atrium lounge is being remodeled but complimentary breakfast was served in the restaurant. Even though the hotel was nearly full, there was no wait. Food was fair; omelet station very good. Evening reception had nice drinks but mediocre snacks.

The room was typical size for Embassy Suites. The furniture was okay, but the sleeper-sofa was not very comfortable, especially for a grown-up. The blanket for the sofa was horrible, but the staff sent up a nice comforter right away when I asked. Bedding and towels were fresh and fluffy, but toilet and facial tissues were very rough.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. The price was fair, especially considering the location. Parking a car is $24 a day, but you really don't need one if your destination is the monuments and museums.

Room Tip: Last time we stayed here our room faced Diagonal Road and had a nice view of the George Washington M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you stated the location of our hotel is hard to beat. We are across the street from the King Street Metro station and only a few stations from the airport and the sites of Washington DC. As I believe that our staff is our best asset, I appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge them. Perhaps your travels will bring you back to Alexandria in the near future and you can witness first hand our newly renovated atrium restaurant and fitness center. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    321
    97
    29
    15
See reviews for
389
115
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We took our 10 and 13 year old kiddos here for their first trip to DC sightseeing for their spring break. We ended up at this Embassy Suites because we had previously reserved at the Chevy Chase Pavilion Embassy Suites but they were undergoing renovation during our stay. Luckily this E.S. had the same convenient metro stop location that we were looking for.

Things we loved: 1. the room was spacious for our family. 2. the fridge and microwave 3. the managers reception in the evening 4. Duke's Restaurant for dinner... REALLY YUMMY!!!! 5. Housekeeping. 6. The pool was really warm and never crowded! 7. The location!!! 8. The clear elevators, the kids loved that. 9. There was never a long wait for an elevator, they were very fast and always working. 10. The cool coupon kiosk in the lobby for restaurants in the area. 11. The made to order omelet in the mornings! Oh, also yummy orange juice! 12. Our room was extremely quiet which was kind of surprising with the window that faces the lobby side and the other window that faces traffic.

Things we didn't love: 1. The women's restroom in the restaurant is FREEZING and there were 2 ceiling tiles out in there which was very weird and it seemed like someone could easily be watching you... creepy. 2. The hot tub was always WAY too hot. 3. The internet charge. If you are a Hilton Honors member, we really think you should get a break on that. As for people complaining about the renovation, it's renovation people... it happens. Personally, we think this hotel was very pretty just the way it is, however I can see why they want to spruce it up a bit. As you can see, the pros outweigh the cons for us and we would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate your family vacation and that you had a pleasant time. Much of our hotel is undergoing renovations to include the upstairs restaurant that will be converted to guest suites. Although I am concerned that the restroom was cold with missing tiles and that this is not at all up to our standards, I am excited to announce that by May 1st.,we should be back to servicing our guests in our beautiful atrium area. We so hope that you may be able to visit us again and enjoy our newly renovated atrium restaurant and exercise facility. Thank you again for your patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great location and Great Service but the rooms and general areas are in need of renovation which appears to be in progress, at least in the lobby.
I cannot say enough good things about the location of this hotel! We loved the convenience to the train and old town shopping and restaurants.
We enjoyed our room but the furniture, carpets, and decor are in need of replacement. The work out rooms and pool are decent but in need of some upgrades and more attention to cleanliness.
The staff of this hotel exceeded our expectations. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. As we anxiously anticipate our new Atrium restaurant, bar and exercise facility due to open sometime in May and updates to our suites throughout the year, it is inspiring to us that our staff can still enhance our guests stay with their attention and caring. We look forward to your return to our hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was worried about staying outside of DC for our last trip but was very pleasantly surprised with the location of this Embassy Suites. It was half the cost of the Embassy Suites near GW University and It is directly across the street from the metro and the line goes right to the mall. Alexandria is also a great place to stay because there was so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. I am an Embassy Suites fan as the free breakfasts and the happy hour are great for the family. I just wish they had an email list for last minute discounts like some of the other Embassy Suites do because we would go back more often!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being an Embassy Suites repeat guest. I agree that our location is perfect to be able to easily access DC and then return to an area that is vibrant with historical charm, shops, and dining. Might I recommend the next time you are looking to travel to our area that you view our discounted advanced purchase rates on our web site. We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcome you again to our property soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We are long time Hilton Honors members and travel frequently and selected this location with close proximity to the metro & old town. Upon arrival we found there was no one available to valet the car or assist with bags. The front desk did call for help and he arrived within 10 minutes to help with bags. We asked for the couch to be made into a bed for the evening. We had already pulled out the bed and the maid arrived and left several pillows without making up the bed. I called the front desk twice on our first evening to ask a question and there was no answer even after many rings. The shower curtain was mildewed. The complimentary breakfast is not up to standards and one morning was out of both coffee and milk and tables were not being cleared promptly. The property is undergoing renovation which should improve the appearance but the service and attention to detail is very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It appears that during your stay we failed to provide you with even the most basic of expectations. I can assure you that this is not the Embassy Suites Way and that our employees delight in providing the best of service to all our guests. Due to the confidential nature of these reviews it is impossible for us to reach out to you and your family. Should you be inclined however, I would welcome a call from you to discuss your issues. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A great hotel option across the street from King Street Metro. Staff provided excellent service and it's a short Metro ride into DC or to airport. King street restaurants are also close. I would definitely return.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that our staff was responsive to your needs. I look forward to impressing you with our new restaurant, bar and exercise facility on your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Even with the $24/night parking charge, this is an economical option for staying in the DC area. (Ask for the combined room & parking package to save some dollars.) King Street Metro station is just across the street so you'll have very easy access to National Airport and everywhere else in the DC area. During our stay (March 2012) the lobby atrium was under renovation, which made the interior space resemble a construction zone and not a cozy welcoming space. Also, breakfast, served in a temporary area, was barely up to the usual Embassy Suites cooked-to-order standard. Except for the cook who makes up your omelet to order, really not much more than you get in a interstate highway motel advertising "free continental breakfast." The oatmeal was instant, the pastries were what you pick up in a convenience store. But don't stay here if you're expecting that wonderful Embassy Suites breakfast with the glorious buns, fresh breads, tons of fresh fruit, etc. But the price, when compared with surrounding hotels, does make this an economical stay, and we would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As our renovations are underway, we continue to strive to provide the signature core amenities that exemplify Embassy Suites. It is unfortunate that due to the space restriction we had to temporarily remove our home cooked oatmeal. We look forward to returning to the atrium in the next few weeks, where we can once again provide all the breakfast offerings that one comes to appreciate from an Embassy Suites. We hope you will be able to return to our property and experience the new restaurant, bar, exercise facility and case goods in our rooms. I look forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.