We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big on Parking!
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Very attractive hotel with decent breakfast (although prepare for some serious queuing for omelettes at busy times) and great location. However the downside for us was that the lounge area of the suite had a large window overlooking the corridors so people could see straight into your room unless you kept the curtains closed! I guess this would be OK if there are just two of you in the suite but we were five sharing and were using the (hard as nails) sofabed in the lounge area. However we had no complaints with the parking as some people have mentioned, we got an inclusive deal in the price of the room. Anyway, you would be charged a lot more to park at hotels in central DC.

Room Tip: Sofabed in lounge not very comfortable and quite narrow so do not book this hotel if more that one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our hotel with it’s beautiful, spacious atrium and guest rooms opening to its grandeur, is a trademark of Embassy Suites Hotels and is a recognizable feature for our guests. I can appreciate however, that when accommodating more than 4 guests in one of our suites that the sense of privacy in the parlor, without closing the black- out drapes, can be missing. Perhaps for your next visit, you may be able to request one of our corner double bedded suites, which provides more privacy, as they so not open to the atrium. Best Regards…Maryanne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    401
    127
    41
    16
See reviews for
499
147
25
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Jackhammer drilling in the Lobby and all of the rooms face the Lobby (see pictures of atrium). Be careful of staying here during this time. Issues with heating also probably due to construction. Avoid.

Room Tip: Don't stay here during the intense construction project.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
As we move forward in this 2012 transition year, we look forward to many uplifting changes, from a new restaurant, bar and exercise room mid- year, to case goods in our rooms end of year. We can appreciate that initially some noise was necessary to “prep” the atrium and surrounding area for the renovations to come. In an attempt to minimize the impact on our guests, the heavier work was done mid day, in hopes that most would be out and about enjoying beautiful Old Town Alexandria and Washington DC. I am pleased to say that the progress is evident and moving right on schedule. Should you be inclined, I would welcome speaking to you directly. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Over the Chrismas holiday stayed in a King Suite. Hotel is located right across from train station and Metro, parking at the hotel. Very convenient. Room was very spacious with full dining room area. Sitting area had pull out double size sofa. Went with two teenagers. If my husband came with us, the 12 and 14 year old would not have had enough room on the pull out couch, but for the 3 of us it was spacious. Atrium was lovely and the hot breakfast was amazing. Indoor pool with jacuzzi was a good size and a real plus. Ate a Joe Theismann's and was disappointed. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor near the elevators,but did not hear much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always satisfying to have guests enjoy their stay with us. Our rooms with two double beds would easily accommodate 4 persons, although the use of the sofa bed in the living room provides more privacy. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here at Embassy Suites Old Town and experience first- hand our new restaurant, bar and exercise room scheduled for completion by mid 2012. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was there five days for work and found this hotel to be very convenient to the Metro (King Street, Yellow/Blue Line). Old town Alexandria has a variety of old fashioned shops and restaurants to go through. There is also a free trolley bus between the Metro and the hotel that goes up and down King Street until 10:00 PM. There's other bus transportation and taxi's available as well. The hotel is pretty average for an Embassy Suites but they just started a remodel in the center area of the hotel as well as in the breakfast area, so breakfast is now served in the restaurant. Their breakfast was pretty good and the managers reception was average. I was disappointed at the fact that there was a $2.00 charge for well drinks, when other Embassy Suites don't charge for that. The beds and pillows were pretty comfortable. The sound from the Metro woke me up a few times, but overall it was pretty quiet (I was on the 6th floor).

Room Tip: I was inexplicably put into a handicap room that I didn't request as was the other person that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you noted Embassy Suites Alexandria is finalizing several major public area renovations that are scheduled for completion by mid 2012. I do wish that we could offer more than complimentary beer and wine however, due to the State of Virginia ABC laws we are obligated to follow the guidelines stipulated by the liquor license. We hope to welcome you back at the reveal of our new restaurant, bar and exercise room. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I, along with other band members, stayed at the hotel in December for the Scottish Christmas Walk. (Shamrock and Thistle Pipes and Drums) We were just disappointed we didn't have more time to enjoy our room and the hotel in general ! It is just wonderful...clean as clean can be, spacious,well decorated, excellent comfortable bed and lovely linens, and sooo quiet.

Breakfast is amazing! Anything you would like is available at no cost, it's included in the price of the room. There is also a very nice Manager's cocktail hour with lots of good munchies, also included.

If you desire a ride into the heart of town there is a shuttle at the door. The Metro is right across the street and a lovely restaurant right next door.

Seriously.....it doesn't get any better than the Embassy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable, peaceful stay and hope to welcome you back at the reveal of our new restaurant, bar and exercise room sometime in May 2012. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Embassy Suites was a great choice for our family vacation and day trips on the metro into Washington. To avoid parking costs, if we had it to do over again we would probably fly into National rather than Dulles and take the Metro to the hotel which is just across the street.

The Whole Foods is also very convenient for picking up snacks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is very conveniently located only 2 stops from Reagan International airport and directly across from the King Street metro station. This offers the opportunity for our guests to see the sights of Washington DC without the parking headaches. For those guests hoping to stay closer in, the Old Town shuttle and the Embassy Suites hotel shuttle, both offer transportation to Old Town Alexandria and its varied shops and restaurants. I look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I took my wife and three sons (6,4,and 1) for long weekend trip to DC. We were looking for a nice location with easy access to public transportation. Thsi hotel was closer to the metro than most hotels in DC. The hotel is in alexandria but the metro station is right accros the street. We were able to leave the car in the garage at the hotel. We spent 2 whole days at the Mall exhibits as it was 20 minutes by train. Also, this is in the old town of alexandria with nice shops and restaurants within walking distance. As always, you get the breakfast in your rate. Some are better and this one was better than most. The family really enjoyed our stay and we caught a deal on the room under $100 per night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy both Washington DC and Alexandria Old Town VA during your visit. How fortunate that you were able to avail yourself of a discounted rate, making your stay even more advantageous. We look forward to servicing you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.