We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big on Parking!
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is my first time at this hotel but I have stayed at several others in this area. First impression was very good. Fancy lobby and enthusiastic front desk staff. The room itself was just ok. Comfortable bed, standard Embassy Suites two room setup, flat screen tv in the front room, everything was clean and the room was quiet. Breakfast was good and never crowded. Location is excellent for walking to dinner (20+ places within a mile), movie, shopping or the grocery (whole foods around the corner). Metro station is across the street to go further than one would want to walk. Small negatives erode at the rating score; bath/shower look like 1970 vintage, small tube tv in the bedroom, sofa sleeper and chair in the living room was not really comfortable to sit on, no power plug near the desk (and internet cable) in the bedroom, room service trays left in the hallway in the evening were still there 12 hours later and $30/day for parking. It looks like the hotel is partway through a remodel so maybe some of these negatives will be addressed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing our property for your stay. As first impressions are important, it is unfortunate that we were not able to “WOW” you this time. We are excited about the renovations taking place this year, as a new restaurant, bar and exercise room are scheduled for completion mid 2012, and case goods for the rooms are scheduled for completion end of 2012. I am hoping to have another opportunity to service and “WOW” you in our newly updated property. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    401
    127
    41
    16
See reviews for
499
147
25
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We (a couple with 1 child) booked an adjoining suite with another couple with 1 child. The kids were 9 and 6 years old. We stayed for a few nights over New Year's to enjoy Old Town's "first night" festivities.

The trip itself was great - the hotel is conveniently located, First Night was fun, and the kids loved the amenities (the "indoor" hallways, the atrium, the pool). The adults weren't expecting too much and the hotel was perfectly adequate. The breakfast buffet was actually pretty good (included in the price). The pool was quite nice but oddly closed during the hours of 11 am to 4 pm.

The hotel definitely shows its age - it is like time stopped in 1982. It is pretty worn and reminded the adults of family trips we took in the 70's (not necessarily a bad thing - but if you are expecting a modern, stylish hotel . . . this ain't it).

If you need a suite and need to be in Old Town for night or two, it's good for families with kids. Other than that, I'd skip it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable and hope to be able to welcome you back to our newly renovated property; restaurant, bar and exercise room scheduled for completion mid 2012 and case goods in rooms end of 2012. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel every year for a few days before New Year's Eve with a departure on New Year's Day. I think this past stay will be our last.

The rooms are in need of being refurbished. I know that they are currently doing this, but it seems like it's been going on for two years now. I will not base my review on the quality of room furnishings or carpet as I know they are trying to work on that.

Check-in was pleasant. I was greeted warmly and welcomed back as a prior visitor. Notice was made of my HH Diamond status. No high rooms were available so we were put on the 3rd floor. My HH amenities were not in the room as promised but they were delivered later after I stopped by the front desk to remind them.

Exercise room is clean and well maintained. Did not use the pool.

Underground parking was secure and well lit. Easy access to the hotel from the garage.

The quality of the breakfast was pretty bad. Fruit was battered and bruised. The bacon was terrible - in texture, taste, presentation. The sausage links were consistently (every day) burnt. The omelets were "okay" - nothing to write home about. The line cooks at the omelet stations were trying to keep the line moving, but it very much felt like you were being rushed through the process. My omelet one day was still runny as they were trying to get them off the grill so quickly.

The food offerings at the manager's reception were pretty dismal. Popcorn and corn chips.

I know the hotel was busy because of the holiday but a few thinks bothered me. Kids were running up and down the halls all evening. I might understand New Year's Eve itself, but this was every night. As a parent, the first person I blame is the parents of those kids. However, I would have expected that the hotel would do a better job of identifying those types of issues and speaking to the kids. Most of them would have returned to their rooms or at least settled down a bit.

Also, after the evening reception, there was usually popcorn scattered throughout the building - elevators and hallways. It usually wasn't cleaned up until after we left for sightseeing the next morning after breakfast.

The one thing that struck me as outstanding were the nice people working the floor during breakfast. They were going table to table, saying hello and cleaning up empty plates and trays. Nice touch.

Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but it certainly left me wanting more out of an Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
I would like to take the time to thank you for your repeated patronage. It is unfortunate that your stay was not to our Embassy Suites standards. Thank you for recognizing our staff, as we consider them to be our best asset. We are excited about the numerous changes in our hotel with a new restaurant, bar and exercise room scheduled for completion mid 2012, and case goods for the rooms late 2012. Our complimentary breakfast and Manager’s reception follow guidelines established for brand consistency, and although items are not to be substituted, the quality will be reviewed. I am hoping to have the opportunity to showcase our newly renovated property and welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I came across a rude reservation agent this morning while trying to make a reservation. For almost $300 a night, I would expect every employee to be friendly and polite as there are many hotel choices in every city.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Unfortunately, we stayed at this hotel while the upper floors were being renovated. Hence, we stayed at the lower floors where rooms are smaller. Housekeeping after my first night was atrocious - we thought that the room wasn't cleaned until we saw the main beds' sheets tucked and the tip gone from the table. They didn't clean the living room, tucked in the folding bed or arranged the newspapers.

Breakfast was not good - omelet had chopped up (hence, dry) spinach, bacon soggy.

One of its advantages, though, is its location - near the metro where you can catch going to DC museums and a walking distance to one end of King St.

Will go back to Hilton next door next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate that your stay was not to our Embassy Suites standards. As we are excited about the numerous changes in our hotel with a new restaurant, bar and exercise room scheduled for completion mid 2012, the cleanliness of your room and food quality should not have been a factor during your stay and issues as these will be addressed with the department heads. I am hoping to have another opportunity to demonstrate our standards in the future. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed a week here with the family right after Christmas. We had a King Suite with the pull out bed. The room was large with a sink/microwave area and a fridge. The room seemed a little worn. The living area wasn't very functional with the small pull out sofa and chairs around. The King bed was great, very comfortable. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of choiuces and the pool/hot tub were nice on a cold evening. Location is fantastic right across from the Metro station and they have a shuttle for trips anywhere inside of 2 miles.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable and will be looking forward to welcoming you to our newly updated property, including a new restaurant, bar and exercise room, scheduled for completion mid 2012. Best Regards…Maryanne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay. We flew into Regan National airport and met up with family members flying in from another state. It was an easy Metro trip to the King Metro stop. We knew the hotel was close to the stop but were very happy to see it was right across the street. Our two families got rooms near each other, as requested. When my niece walking around the room in her socks discovered wet floors in their room, they were quickly switched to the room right next to us. We enjoyed the Manager's reception every evening. The adults drank complimentary beer or wine, the kids had soft drinks, while we relaxed after a day of sightseeing and regrouped before going out again for dinner. The hotel shuttle took us directly to whatever restaurant we were going to in Old Town and came and picked us up when we called. Breakfast every morning was great with made-to-order omlets. On our last day we asked for a later check out time. I told the front desk we would not be leaving for the airport until 3:00 and was told that would be no problem. For us, the room size, the Manager's reception, the pool, the breakfast, the front desk staff, the breakfast staff, the reception bartender, the shuttle driver, and especially the LOCATION to the Metro stop and the free Old Town Trolly stop made it the perfect hotel. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are always interested to know how our guests perceive our hotel and what may need some tweaking? I am pleased that our hotel provided you and your family with all that you needed for a pleasant family get together. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.