We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Big on Parking!
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy for a long weekend in October. We were very pleased with this hotel especially since we got a great deal on Priceline. The room was your typical Embassy suite so we could stretch out. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Even though we were near the elevator, we didn't hear a thing all night and we're very light sleepers. The snacks for the manager's reception were pretty meager, but the drinks were as plentiful as you would want. One, thing about this though, they did charge $2.00 if you wanted a mixed drink. That's still quite reasonable, I had just never run into this at an Embassy. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Although we didn't ride the metro, the Embassy is located right across the street if you were going into DC or surrounding areas. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. Our hotel’s liquor license only includes wine and beer for free and therefore we must charge for the mixed drinks as those are provided through the licensing of the restaurant on premises. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    383
    118
    39
    16
See reviews for
478
141
24
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was a great location and the hotel looks nice but when you really look in corners and pay attention to details it looks a little run down. The room was very comfortable. The restaurant was pretty empty when I went in because it was just about to close but they served me, which I appreciated because I was starving and had just arrived. The staff was very nice, the food was so-so. I got ravioli and it had about a gallon of sauce on it and the raviolis were rather overcooked.

Overall nothing wrong with the place, just kind of tired looking and will likely go somewhere else next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that hotel ownership looks at all aspects of the building for updates. Embassy Suites Alexandria has been here for the past 21 years and over the next 12 – 18 months we will be undergoing several projects to give us a tremendous new look. I hope that if your travels bring you back to Alexandria, you will give us another opportunity to welcome you and view the transition as it takes place. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is very attractive; the location is superb. The price is steep.

The breakfast and the afternoon reception were exactly like those at other Embassy Suites elsewhere (cookie-cutter corporate, pleasant, and adequate). There is no regional sense.

Although the hotel charges significantly and, I think, unreasonably, for in-room wireless, the free lobby business center is superb - a notch above most I've seen.

Our single unpleasant moment occurred when we arrived. The large hotel van was parked squarely in front, blocking the only sloped access area for luggage carts, etc. As I struggled to get our luggage onto the curb, the front door man demanded that I remove my car, which I was returning to Reagan National as soon as I unloaded it. Huh? He watched in chagrin until I got our luggage and my wife into the lobby. Not a pleasant reception and not a good first impression for the hotel.

Room Tip: Front room should have better views than ours in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and use the information to the betterment of our hotel and staff. I will inquire with the front office about the “front door man” you mention. As I am uncertain as to whom that might be? We have a bellman usually on staff, and I would like to believe that he would have assisted with your luggage and not merely watched while you struggled! That is not the kind of “first” or “last” impression we want any of our guests to have. I am hoping our hotel will be given another opportunity to serve you in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Because our son is a student at University of Maryland, we consistently stay at this Embassy when we're visiting the DC or U of Md area. Our family has found it to be consistent with expectations of a quality Hilton property. Though there are several good choices in the area (of which, we have tried), you can't beat the value, i.e extensive breakfast items, evening reception for guests, shuttle to restaurants and hot spots for visitors in the Old Town area and easy access to the METRO rail system, for the money spent at this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering hotels in this area.

In fact, we have had such good service over many visits, we have recommended this hotel to family and friends that have ventured to the DC area. It's so convenient to the METRO rail system, that a rental car is obsolete. What a great way to safe money while being a tourist!

Room Tip: Be sure not to miss the Manager's reception in the evening. Great beverages and snacks before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
We have always said that our best source of advertisement is a repeat customer, and for that reason we so appreciate you and your family. You are right, the convenience of not having to rent a car is great and so much more relaxing than having to drive into the DC traffic and search for the limited parking! I look forward to welcoming you and your friends on your next visit to Alexandria VA. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Fabulous hotel! Steps away from METRO. Wonderful breakfast and evening reception. A great weekend stay with kids and grandparents! Husband stays here on travel some so we knew it would be great. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
How fortunate that your husband had previously stayed at our hotel, and that on his recommendation you chose to stay with us as well. We appreciate being given the opportunity to service your family, and hope we will be for many years to come. Thank you for your review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is by far the best hotel in Alexandria. It is across the street from the King Street metro station access to all of DC metro is 100 yards away. The staff is outstanding and consistantly so every hour of every day these folks are simply the best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Although we believe our hotel as the best hotel in Alexandria, it is nice to have an unbiased, unsolicited confirmation. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

just came back from a girls weekend in alexandria va. we stayed at the embassy suites. it was just perfect for the two of us. plenty of room, having a sofa, chair, table with 4 chairs and flat screen tv in living area. two beds and a tv in a separate bedroom. plus an extra bar sink with coffee machine frige and microwave. we were both able to put on make up at the same time using bar area and bathroom. embassy offers a full cooked breakfast every morning and an evening happy hour or two with wine and beer and snacks. they offer a shuttle service for the area (2mile limit) one night they took us to a movie theater and picked us up. no need for a car in alexandria as the city provides a free trolley service up and down the main drag King street.from the metro station area to the habor. it runs from 11:30am to 10:30pm. as the hotel is right across from the metro station there was no need for a cab from reagan international airport. taking the train was a brezee into washington for site seeing. i would highly recommend this hotel and alexandria as a very safe and friendly place for a get away weekend

Room Tip: our room was on the 4th fl facing the metro couldn't hear any noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We love to hear from our different travel segments and are pleased to know that our hotel offers what is needed for all of their varied needs. Please come back and see us soon. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.