We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay ....once again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
NP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Stay ....once again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is one of our two favourite spots to stay when we visit Alexandria. It is also quite conveniently located right across from the King Street Metro station. The overall appearance of the property has improved since our last stay, and we were pleased about it. Also improved is the Business Center which was quite grumpy the last time around. We did notice a slight decline in the (complimentary) breakfast fare offered, and often wonder if the property would lose much by offering free WiFi. Just as a comparison, the Residence Inn, a stone throw away, has free WiFi. Having said that, our stay was restful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. Realizing the multitude of hotels to choose from in the Metropolitan DC area, we are pleased that you consider our Embassy Suites one of your favorites. As we continue to fine tune our hotel to meet our guests’ expectations, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
446
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was a very nice hotel. We loved the shuttle that was available. The food was very good. It is very convenient to the metro. We were able to get on and went to see all the DC museums. The only thing I didn’t like was the double beds….my husband is 6’4. We had the best time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Was there a request for 2 double beds in order to accommodate 4 people? I am unsure if you were aware that all our living room sofas pull out to accommodate 2 guests? Perhaps next time, a King size bed with our pull out sofa, might be a better alternative for you. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here on August 24 to August August 29, 2011 for 5 nights. Lovely hotel. Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are decent size, sofa bed is uncomfortable (too hard). The beds in the bedroom are very comfortable. Decorated nicely, bathroom is clean as is the rest of the suite. Happy hour from 17.30 to 19.30 every day and drinks are free except for mixers. Internet is free in the lobby with 3 machines available. The restuarant (Dukes bar and Grill) is fantastic. Great food, nice bar and staff are exceptional. Great hotel. Would definetely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay, and look forward to your return. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selden, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have stayed at this Embassy Suites every year, for the past six years. We love to visit Washington, D.C., and we enjoy the comfort and friendliness of this hotel. The two room suites are spacious, clean and well appointed; great for a family. Breakfast and a nightly manager's reception are included. The breakfast staff know us, and make us feel at home. The pool has been redone. We like to walk around Alexandria, looking at the shops and trying new restaurants. If we don't want to eat out, room service is good. Also there is a Whole Foods Market behind the hotel, with good takeout. D.C. is easily accessible by the Metro across from the hotel. This is a great choice for a D.C. visit

Room Tip: Join their Hilton Honors Program
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
It is always nice to hear from our repeat guests, and we thank you for your continued patronage. We recognize that our hotel continues to strive due in large part to our repeat guests and, as our wish is to make every guest feel welcomed and at home, we particularly appreciate those guests that we recognize from other stays. I look forward to your next visit. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The location of this hotel was fantastic - a short walk to the King Street Amtrak and Metro stations. Metro takes about 25 minutes to get to the Smithsonian stop in DC, and can get very crowded in the mornings and afternoons, but still better than driving. It is also across the street from the Old Town Trolley stop, but close enough to the waterfront for an extended walk. All in all, the location was perfect for us.

Breakfast was included, but very crowded and just OK. Still, it met our needs prior to venturing into DC. There is also a beer and wine reception in the evenings, which was quite welcome on one day in particular. The room was nicer than I expected and well appointed, and slept the five of us with no problem at all. Housekeeping was excellent with excellent staff, front desk staff was better in the evening than during the day.

A very pleasant stay, and we fell in love with Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are very fortunate about the location of our hotel and how convenient it is for our guests (with or without a car). We have a wonderful staff here at Embassy Suites and thank you for recognizing those individuals. I will forward your comments to the Housekeeping and Front Office Managers for review. I hope to have the opportunity to serve again. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was our second time staying at this location - this time we brought more family with us so we had reserved 3 rooms in advance with the requirement of having them be altogether and were told that would be no problem. Well, apparantly it was a problem because 2 rooms were together and one was further down the hall. Minor inconvenience but we got over it. Great rooms - could use some carpet upgrades - but very spacious, great breakfast and excellent happy hour! Free unlimited beer and wine which we took advantage of. Location is the best with metro directly across the street. I should mention the gal working in the gift shop where you are to buy tour tickets doesn't speak fluent english and we ended up calling the company ourselves to book since she was not familiar with the tour details. Front desk staff and bar staff were excellent and very friendly. We will most likely be back again :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you returned to our hotel and brought your family to share in the experience. I will review the procedures in place for advance reservation room requests with the Front Office Manager. Unfortunately depending on guests staying over and occupancy, (unless requesting a connecting room -door that connects both rooms) that may have been the best room selection available at the time. Thank you for bringing the carpet in your room to my attention. Since we recently updated our room/suite carpeting in 2009, the carpets should not be showing signs of wear. I will enlist the help of our Suitekeepers to determine which suite/suites may need attention. Best regards…Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in August 2011. Basic Embassy stuff, but this location is super for Alexandria and DC in general as it's right across the street from King Street Metro (access to Yellow and Blue Lines). You can also get up and down King Street in Alexandria via the free trolley that runs from 11:30am until 10pm every 15 minutes (get on/off right at the first/last stop at the Metro station). Don't expect to get from the middle of King back to the hotel around 10pm though - trolley starts back from the river and is full by the time it gets to mid-town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are fortunate that our hotel is so conveniently located and are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Next time might I suggest that you make use of our complimentary hotel shuttle? Our van driver will gladly drive/pick you up from anywhere within a 2 mile radius, between the hours of 7AM and 10PM. No need to be stranded midway on King Street! Best Regards ...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.