We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location..Nice Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $109!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
gorgeous hudson valley
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Nice location..Nice Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Loving Embassy Suites as much as we do, we decided to cancel our reservation at the Hilton(which turned out to be 2 blocks away from this location) and stay at the ES Alexandria Old Town. The hotel is located across the street from a metro station, so it makes this hotel a very convenient and affordable spot to stay if you are visiting Washington. They also offer a free shuttle within 2 miles of the hotel.
Parking in a 'city' is usually a nightmare, they do offer valet, or self parking, for a fee. There were some open spots across the street which after 5PM on Fridays are FREE, so we took advantage of the free parking.
Walking into the hotel, the first thing to notice is the flooring...it's an unusual touch and something I have never come across. Upon walking in, you feel like you're walking through a living room, couches line the entry way, the business center is located in the lobby as well. Check-in was quick and we were upgraded to a corner suite.
Our room was great! We had a nice long foyer, a very comfortable living room with dining table, couch and easy chair. There was a kitchenette and the hotel put some water int he fridge and left some snacks, nice touch! The bedroom had a free standing armoire, and ample room for those requiring more than a weekend stay. The bathroom (the tub) could use some updating, but other than that, the room was clean.
Managers reception did offer liquor, but due to local liquor laws, there was a $2 charge per drink. Snacks included nachos, pretzels and popcorn. There was plenty of spots to sit and enjoy your drinks. This also serves as the breakfast area. Breakfast, was great, except the cooked to order egg line was 20 people deep, at all times. I have no idea how many people this hotel holds, but they all seemed to be at breakfast at the same time. It was tough to find a spot for breakfast, and unless you pushed your way to the front of the line (which a lot of people did), it took a long time to even get toast, or fruit salad. The 'waitstaff' who had the job of cleaning up the tables, did so with a smile and always a 'thank you', it was sad to see only 1 other table leave them a tip for their services.
There is a steakhouse on the corner and a comfy local spot that served crab dishes. It was around 9:30 when we got back tot he hotel and just ordered from the hotel restaurant. I went to pick the food up and although you could see it from the lobby/breakfast area, I had a little trouble actually getting up to the restaurant. Our food was just fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that the Embassy Suites Hotel brand is your choice of hotel when available. We at Embassy Suites strive to provide a “home away from home” for our guests and are glad that you experienced our hotel’s warmth during your visit. As the license granted from the City of Alexandria ABC commission limits us to offer complimentary wine and beer to our guests, we must therefore charge a minimal cost for cocktails. It is a challenge to determine the flow for our complimentary breakfast, having 268 rooms of guests with very varied schedules, and for that reason when seating is limited, we offer our guests the opportunity to bring their food to their room and enjoy a relaxed breakfast. Thank you again for your comments, we wish you well in your travels and look forward to your next visit. Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    281
    85
    28
    13
See reviews for
333
100
20
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Embassy Suites Alexandria Old Town on a family trip to D.C. in May 2010. We originally planned to stay in D.C. but found finding an available room a challenge. The only hotels available were about $500 - $600 a night. We looked into several surrounding communities and upon a friend's recommendation looked into Old Alexandria. Checked out several hotels in Old Alexandria and went with Embassy Suites because of the amenities and close proximity to the Metro which is right across the street. The hotel was clean and well appointed. Service was great. We stayed in a 2 room suite w/1 king bed. Our room was very nice, very clean, and very spacious. The pool and hot tub were great - the kids loved it. The website lead us to believe the manager's reception would include drinks and appetizers - but turned out to be soft drinks and chips/pretzels... but wasokay, we still took part. The website has since changed to say "light snacks". The included, hot breakfast was very good with made-to-order pancakes and omelets, all sorts of selections, fruits, etc. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Nice Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. Just so I am clear, it appears that you stayed at our property in July 2010? I am pleased to inform you that since your last visit there have been exciting changes at our Manager’s Reception, which I believe will please you. In January 2011 we were granted a license by the City of Alexandria ABC commission that allowed us to offer complimentary wine and beer to our guests, and Embassy Suites as a brand is currently in the process of enhancing the snack selection to provide guests with a more appetizing and diverse assortment. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites. Best regards... Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for Old Town, Alexandria. There's a free trolley that stops right across the street from the hotel and takes tourists into the dock area all day. The hotel is clean and attractive. The breakfast is great and the afternoon cocktail hour is a perfect time to relax before going out to dinner. Highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples or family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit. Best regards...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Embassy Suites Old Town was very nice! Excellant service from an outstanding STAFF
Close to everything including Metro to downtown! Congratulations

Room Tip: Smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for writing this review and recognizing our wonderful staff! As we strive for all our guests to have the exact experience you had, we will look forward to your return! Best regards...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you want to visit Washington DC and want to avoid the high cost of hotels, this is the place to stay! It is directly across from the Metro, so you can get into DC very easily...it's about a 30 minute Metro Ride, but it goes by quickly! Also, lots of great restaurants in Old Town Alexandria...you could spend a long weekend right here and have plenty to do. The hotel is only about 20 minutes from Mt. Vernon, too, so that's a great day trip or a stop on your way in or out of DC. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean....it's great to have a microwave and small frig for snacks. The complimentary breakfast is really good with lots of choices...go early as it gets a little crowded. We took our breakfast back to our room and that worked well. Don't miss the manager's happy hour at the end of the day...who would pass up a free glass of wine or beer and some munchies! We would stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review and for recommending us to your friends. As you noted, we offer the best of both worlds, by offering the convenience of easy transport to DC and the surrounding area, without the high cost of the room accommodation. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit. Best regards...Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed at this property as an alternative to the noise polluted Capital Hilton the previous week. I figured that I would drive up, leave my car in the parking garage and use the Metro to go downtown and back each day so that I could have my car to go to the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy center near Dulles when I was done with work.

Cost-wise, staying at this facility was more expensive when adding parking than the fly-taxi-commute stay at the Capital Hilton the week earlier. Someone told me that any hotel that is conveniently near a metro station will tend to jack up their prices.

I found that the metro wasn't as practical or fast as I'd imagined. Temperatures were in the upper nineties, I had a heavy backpack with three laptops and there were no seats available, even if I commuted after 9am, or 7pm

I'm glad that I got to see the Smithsonian, but I will go back to staying at a hotel in walking distance of any DC workplaces in future. I only stayed three nights, but the bill was over a thousand dollars.

I had to ask twice for my hhonors (diamond) "sweet tooth" preferences as they weren't in the room at check in, (which has sadly become a common practice) there was just two bottles of water in the fridge. I got a few cookies from a front desk visit and asked about the soft drinks again on day two - I received a couple of more bottles of water instead of the soft drinks from the subsequent room visit and ended up just going to the vending machine to buy an out of date bottle of Pepsi.

It seemed like none of my diamond hhonors preferences were given - as the room was near the elevators, had two queen beds, and the drinks/candy preference weren't there.
It defeats the point of the sweet tooth preference if you have to call for them to be delivered as you either have to be cheap, or tip the delivery person the cost of simply buying the items anyway. Embassy Suites in Philly do the same thing. I think they should stop offering this preference if it seems like too much trouble, or you have to request it on arrival.

Other Embassy suites generally have a printed letter welcoming you from the hhonors manager but this facility had the feel of a walk-in, last minute check-in. The room service was decent and the room was clean enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Without your input we cannot address issues that affect our guests. We are pleased that Hilton Corporation has so many hotels that are available to suit everyone’s needs, and appreciate that the weather can become a determining factor when considering where to stay. We would welcome the opportunity to research your profile and verify why the requested snack and room location were not available for your stay. If you would supply us with your Hilton Honors number we will ensure that your profile is set to your requests. We appreciate your specific input and will use the information to continue to enhance our service and facility. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards...Mary Anne Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We could have not selected a better hotel for our family trip. The hotel is located directly across from the Metro and we bought our weeklong passes just up the street (the front desk can direct you). I like buying them there since it was quiet and being a tourist-the staff could explain everything without the hustle of the metro crowd.
Really like the breakfast, manager reception, pull out sofa was different and nice not have the hard bar support. Plenty of room in the hotel except for closet space-they have a wardrobe to hang clothes and was pn the small side.
Now the only negatives/suggestions-parking garage was very tight and hard to park a family vehicle. Coffee was embassy suite brand and not great. Wish they would give front of the line breakfast passes to diamond members as other embassy suites have startted doing. Quirky that they had a small indoor pool with a lifeguard-never seen this before. Small laundry-very busy when I went.
Great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and appreciate your comments. Although the parking garage does not easily cater to the larger vehicles, we do have some spaces somewhat larger, that we try to make available for our guests. Perhaps on your next visit we may have one available for you? Thank you for the information with regards to the breakfast “Diamond” line. We shall inquire with other Embassy Suites, and see about incorporating this in our own breakfast area. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards... Mary Anne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Embassy Suites Alexandria Old Town
Embassy Suites Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.