We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange place in decline” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pema's Restaurant

Pema's Restaurant
8430 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
(703) 619-5005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A strange place in decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a very average meal at Pema's. Our family of four went for dinner. There were only three other tables filled in this restaurant that had at least 20-30 tables. The service was attempting to be formal and the servers were very nice, but the overall experience seemed amateurish. I'd have overlooked that if the food was noteworthy. The red sauce seemed to be thickened with starch -- everything was like canned sauce with thickener. The past was just OK, and the wine was terrible. There was not a wine list -- just house red or white wine (maybe rose too) --probably from a jug, the way it tasted. We will not go back. The atmosphere was very somber, but pleasant like you would wish at a nice dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northern virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Spoiled Seafood”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We've been eating here for years but unfortunately I got food poisoning on two separate occassions immediately after eating seafood here. Not especially surprising since the place is always empty so the food doesn't turn over very quickly. The staff is always pleasant and the service is good, but the decor is very dated and eaing in an almost empty room is not pleasant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My family and friends have frequented Pemas for many years.This is where we go to celebrate birthdays and special occasions as well as on the spur of the moment when we want have a good meal. Freshly made breads, salads and Italian dishes with daily specials that satisfy every palate. The service is great and the price reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good local/family owned Italian restaurant (replacement for Mike's Italian down the street that shut its doors after ove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just went this past weekend for the 2nd time. Not bad and reasonable. Average bottle of wine was in the $20s. Was nice and quiet and the waitress, the owners' daughter, was very nice and friendly. The sauce was good---very thick--if you like that.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Red Clam Sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I always come back and have the same thing, linguini with red clam sauce. I't just that good that I don't want anything else. I'm sure there are other things maybe the Chicken Picatta or Chicken Princess that are good but not for me... I MUST have the red clam sauce. I can have it on angle hair pasta if I need a radical change, heck I like variety!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pema's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pema's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pema's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.