We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virtue Feed and Grain

Virtue Feed and Grain
106 S. Union St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
571-970-3669
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Virtue Feed and Grain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 639 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King St.
Transit: King Street Metro
Dumfries, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went there on a Saturday evening during restaurant week, very busy place, reservations a must. Atmosphere is cozy and inviting. The food was amazing. I'm a very picky eater so it was between the burger and the polish sausage for dinner...went with the polish sausage. I definitely look forward to going again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    50
    66
    28
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food, will return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had a double date here last week. It was our first time here, our friends recommended it as this is one of their favorite restaurants. Their cocktails and food are unique and definitely worth trying. I had a Lemony Laurel which was great. For the food—which was so great, we couldn’t stop raving about it—we had the Alsatian Style Onion Tart with bacon & munster cheese (so yummy, bacon makes everything taste better!), the Roasted Bone Marrow (the guys enjoyed it), the Society Fair Bread Basket (it was ok, you can skip this) for appetizers; I had the Duck Leg confit which instantly became one of my favorites, my husband had the Braised Lamb shoulder which he enjoyed.

We definitely enjoyed the food, and the dining experience and would go back here. The next time I go back, I want to try the Polish sausage dish because that looked amazing. Like I mentioned earlier, the food is very unique so if you’re willing to try different foods then go for it. Also, the portions sizes are decent. I saved half of my entree and had it for lunch the next day.

The only reason I didn’t give this a higher rating is because our server wasn’t up to par. She poured regular water into our glasses that had sparkling water and just seemed a little out of it. Other than that, highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As a local, this is one of my favorite restaurants! The food has always been delicious and any time we have had issues, the management has gone above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. One example - a few months ago we were there and ordered the mussels & we noticed that a good dozen or more were empty shells & no "loose mussels" floating around in the (delicious) juice. I had jokingly said something to the server and in just a couple of minutes the manager brought us over an entire new bowl of mussels... we actually felt bad, but very much appreciated this level of service.

I also love the ambiance and vibe of this restaurant! Its casual upscale w/ a rustic feel. I particularly like the "swings" upstairs, especially in the nice weather when they open up the large windows.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun place, awesome location and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was such a great place. The design is very cool, the staff is very nice and the food was to die for. I normally do not appreciate when restaurants charge for bread ($3) but the bread here was well worth it. It tasted home made. It was SO good. The braised lamb was a very generous portion with great flavor. The red snapper was great but I would have added a sauce on the side for extra flavor. The "adult" hot chocolate was yummy and strong ;-) But the nutella pie dessert was to die for. Best meal I've had in a while.

Oh, they do not accept opentable reservations but you can call them directly for res.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Virtue is a great spot for upscale pub fare and unique drinks. The green apple martini was delicious. (Perhaps too delicious and drinkable!) I've enjoyed the oysters on the half shell, strip loin (a tad salty), roasted chicken, and ploughman's lunch. The Pope's sandwich and quiche were also favorites, but neither were on the menu during my last visit. It's definitely got cool atmosphere as an old grain warehouse, but the bar crowd can be a little uptight and won't let folks edge towards the bar on a busy night. If you play your cards right you can catch one of the pool tables open. The upstairs also looks perfect for a large group or dinner party.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virtue Feed and Grain also viewed

 

Been to Virtue Feed and Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virtue Feed and Grain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.