We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and peaceful little cemetery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandria's Christ Church

Alexandria's Christ Church
118 N. Washington St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-549-1450
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 39 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pretty and peaceful little cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Sadly, the church was not open when we went so we couldn't sit on George and Martha's bench. The little churchyard, however, was very pretty and peaceful, and we enjoyed reading the old tombstones. What a gem, right in Old Town!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We learned a lot about attending church in the time of George Washington, and Robert E. Lee.
The volunteers who we spoke with gave generously of their time and explained details and dates. Not to mention this is FREE folks! The cemetery outside was fascinating as well. I wish the other reviewer explained what he meant by " politically correct, over -the -top -views"
I thought it was well worth seeing and the gift shop was cute, but nothing very special.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, va
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Beautiful church with great history. You can take a sit in Washington's pew. Docents provide helpful information.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stop in an empty church during the week and have a quiet, relaxing place all your own. They have a quaint gift shop outside the church to buy a memory. The grounds feature very old tombstones. Historic enjoyment within walking distance of small town shopping and restaurants.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Christ Church is definitely a must see if you're visiting Alexandria. The grounds are very peaceful and just reading the headstones is an interesting experience. At some point, all of the presidents have attended services here. The people inside are very helpful too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria's Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria's Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandria's Christ Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.