We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth your visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandria's Christ Church

Alexandria's Christ Church
118 N. Washington St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-549-1450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well worth your visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful, 18th century Episcopal Church. Small plaques indicate George Washington's pew (where you can sit) and the spot where Robert E. Lee was confirmed in 1853. Charming churchyard and nice gift shop.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a view of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were fortunate that when we entered the church, we were the only ones there and got a private historical review of the church and the surrounding area. the staff were very cordial and friendly

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The docent was wonderful, and made the tour interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stunning view of everything, and we sat in the exact pew that George Washington and his staff sat in. Velvet padded seats, which was nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“This was my ancestors church back in 1780's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Go inside and sit in a pew. Listen to the history of this old church. Even George Washington attended back in his days. Walk around the cemetery and look at the original headstones.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sit where George Washington sat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped in on a sunday afternoon after the sunday services were over just to check the place out. We were greeted by a very nice older gentleman who had just started a tour of the church. The church is pretty small, it isn't a grand cathedral, but is very nice and quite pretty. What it may lack in size it makes up for in history - George Washington used to own a pew at this church and it is still there with the original woodwork, and you can sit in his pew, Robert E. Lee used to attend services here, and Winston Churchill sat in the Washington pew with FDR to pray after Pearl Harbor. The tour is free and lasts about 10 minutes. Donations are accepted, and pictures are permitted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria's Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria's Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandria's Christ Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alexandria's Christ Church to your Saves list