We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed at Washington Suites Alexandria for four days over the Labor Day holiday. While I usually stay in D.C. when I visit, I had heard good things about Alexandria and decided to try this hotel. What a fabulous place in every way!! The staff are top-notch, including the front desk personnel, the housekeepers, the restaurant staff, and the van drivers. Even if the room hadn't been scrupulously immaculate, quiet, and filled with everything I could ever want, the friendly and knowledgeable staff alone is enough to make the WSA the only place I will ever stay when I come to the D.C. area 3-4 times a year. I have recommended it to absolutely everyone I know. I just hope there will be a room available for me should we all turn up at the same time! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    111
    49
    35
    31
See reviews for
156
26
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We decided to stay at the Washington Suites, in Alexandria, VA while on vacation to Washington, DC, because of the large suite rooms which included a kitchen. The price was affordable and it was conveniently located to various sites in the area. It was located close to the Metro Subway Line which gave us access to most of the DC attractions. They offered a shuttle to the Metro Station, but we had to wait sometime up to 30 minutes for the shuttle to show up. Also, be advised that their pool closes at 8PM just about the time we would be coming back from sightseeing, so we never got to swim.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Starting with Vicki, the reservationist, the experience was ideal! Clean room, updated furniture, comfortable bed, flat screen TVS, and a complete kitchen with a separate dining area.. Perfect for hosting meeting in the room or fixing a dinner for yourself. The desk area and complimentary internet made doing business VERY easy. Shuttle service was excellent and the complimentary breakfast had adequate healthy options and was a good day's start .
Staff were warm and friendly which made the stay just that much more enjoyable. The gym
was adequate and well maintained. Restaurant and bar modest but fun. Music on weekends. Close to National Airport, easy access to malls, and expressways. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

So the rooms are dank, dark and smelly - the kitchen should be a tipoff - this must have been some efficiency apratments that they turned in to a hotel. My room had fleas - they apologized, but they are a pet friendly hotel. All I can say ablout my stay was that it was itchy, scratchy and smelly. The rugs stink and the rooms smell musty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Wow. Thats about all I can say.
This hotel was nice, but it had many flaws. The service was great. Service with a smile, would not even do this place justice. The staff was perfectly accomidating in every possible way. From cookies at check in, to complementeray Disney movies on Tuesday nights, or the free family photos with George and Martha Washington, this place was wonderfully packed with added bonuses. The price was great, and came with more t han enough space to stay in your room. It was a very comfortable stay, in what was truly, a full fledged apartment. They aren't kidding when the say..."Washington SUITES."


However...this hotel has many flaws.
To be perfectly honest, the location of the Washington Suites is quite far away from Washington, but only a short shuttle ride to the nearest Metro Station- Van Dorne.
Both the shuttle and metro, are quick and efficiant.

The Washington Suites looks a bit like a housing unit for many people. A refurbished apartment complex, posed as a hotel maybe? It's residents all seem to know each other, and do a nightly dinner route.

This hotel, like others...has plusses, and minuses.
We enjoyed our stay, but the sketchy situation regarding the actual residents of the hotel- would keep us from coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments. As you noted, during the summer time we have a number of activities for our guests and their families. From free movie nights with free popcorn to Wii nights to Guitar Hero nights to meet and greet with free photos with George Washington, we offer something for most everyone. Our suites are some of the largest in the area. The shuttle service not only makes it convenient to get to the Metro, it also takes our guests to local shopping and restaurants.

Our hotel was originally built as an apartment but was converted soon after to a hotel. You get the space of a condo with all the amenities of a hotel. The hotel is well suited for large families on vacation as well as government, military and corporate travelers in need of longer stays in the area. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Wow im shocked n the reviews i read. I was staying there with my family. A family of 4 kids 2 adults. We picked the suite an wow was it so nice an huge. Very clean, the staff was so helpful an very very nice. Directions were on point an we were greet by the hotel manager by the name of Mrs.Ball. She gave us her real name but we had to give her much respect due to the warm welcoming she gave us that we asked for her last name an that is what we had call her the whole time we stayed there. Amazing how you could feel so welcomed at a HOTEL. Those who read negative about this hotel, please i give you my thumbs up from a family of six to your family i hope your stay was as pleasent as ours.
P.s
Mrs.ball also came outside to say farewell to us an welcome us back. Now what manager does that :.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank your for your kind words. The staff takes great pride in providing a warm and welcoming environment to each and every guest. I will pass on your reveiw to Ms. Ball and her staff and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

chose this hotel for free shuttel to metro. we like the bedroom being separate from the rest of the room. the room was nice and seemed fairly new. We liked having a kitchen, we cooked breakfast a couple of mornings. the hotel was clean, which is very important. one of the neatest things was when the desk clerk made reservations at a seafood restaurant on the water, the restaurant had our name on the menu when we sat down. what a cool souvenier. just one small complaint - the pool closed at 8 p.m. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments. It is nice having having a separate living room and bedroom. Ffull kitchens in all the suites gives our guests the option to cook if they desire. It can help cut the cost of vacationing instead of eating out. We also offer shuttle service to three different grocery stores in the area as well.

The front desk staff enjoys finding creative ways to make our guests feel special. I am glad that you enjoyed the personalized menu. I will pass on your comments to the front desk staff and housekeeping. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.