We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Wilmington,NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Value for Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We just returned from a weekend in DC for the last weekend of Cherry Blossom Festival. Our party consisted of 3 adults, a 16 year old exchange student and our 9 year old son. When looking for a value for this mix of people nothing fit the bill like Washington Suites. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe suite. When we walked in we were all pleasantly surprised by the size of the space. The suite has a good size kitchen, dining area, living room and bedroom. It included two queen beds in the bedroom and a queen fold out sofa in the living room. Even with the sofa bed folded out there was tons of space. A large linen closet out side the bedroom gave us plenty of room to put our stuff up out of the way. The hotel was easy to find from I 95 and the shuttle made things very accessible. We were able to park our truck and not worry about it for the rest of the weekend. A huge bonus is that the room price included a decent continental breakfast and free parking. Most places charge to park so this really was the biggest reason we chose Washington Suites and we all are very glad we did. The breakfast was on the second floor which seems to be the smoking floor as the halls smelled of stale smoke but the cafe area did not. The breakfast was some pretty tasty pastries, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, juice or milk. The only complaint our group had is that on Saturday night it seemed that only one shuttle driver was working and it took about 20 minutes to get picked up from the metro when we called. But I would like to mention they must have been short staffed that evening because when we called for extra towels the same shuttle driver brought them up. That man was everywhere. We did not use the gym or the outdoor pool as the pool is only open after Memorial Day. My husband did find the large bank of computers in the lobby area convenient.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. As you mentioned, the large suites (all of our units are suites) make it very comfortable for family or friends to stay together in one suite. I hope you had a good time at the Cherry Blossom Festival. The Japanese Cherry Trees around the city were spectacular this year. Thank you for your kind words and I hope that you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    48
    35
    30
See reviews for
154
25
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here. The one bedroom suite was very spacious and comfortable for our family of 5. Two flat screen TV's are a nice bonus too. I was very happy with the housekeeping staff, every evening when we returned, the room was cleaned, beds made, kitchen cleaned including dishes, and the towels and other ameneties were restocked. Breakfast was adequate but staff was overwhelmed by some of the pushy and and inconsiderate guests, who apparantly thought the breakfast was only there for them. My husband commented on the shabby carpet that took away from the otherwise stylish room. The shuttle is a great amenety, but you should have a better system during peak morning hours. We had to wait for several shuttles to go and return form the Metro on several occasions when families of 5-6 were waiting. Also, there is no queueing system. People just push up front regardless of how long you have been outside waiting. All in all, I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to a friend. P.S You should inform guests that windows have a blackout curtain behind the sheer's! I had the sun shining in face for two mornings before I realized it!!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The housekeeping staff takes pride in ensuring that the suites and their kicthens arekept cleaned every day. I have also mentioned your experience with the shuttle to the Front Office Manager. She will review the procedures to ensure that the shuttle runs effeciently for all of our guest. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed 3 nights with our 3 children. The shuttle service was great. We took it to the Metro station. The room was updated except for the kitchen. Maybe in the near future they will update the kitchen. Our refrigerator kept freezing everything and the dial to turn it down was broken. It wasn't a big deal for us because we had a plug in cooler with us so we just used that. My husband mentioned it at check out and they said they would check into it which I believe they will. The beds were comfortable. My kids liked the kids computer room.Internet was very slow. We went to the Landmark mall, but it looks like it's ready to shut it's doors because many stores are vacant. Don't forget to visit Old Town Alex. I loved it there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for your nice review of the hotel. The shuttle service is a wonderful free amenity that makes it very convenient to get around the area. Old Town Alexandria is a fun place to shop, dine and see the sights. Old Town is convenient to the hotel and can be reached by taking the Metro one stop to King Street or hopping a DASH bus just around the corner from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Staff was very cordial and helpful. Rooms were large and clean. The only negative was the shuttle can get very busy to the Metro and the continental breakfast was chaotic at times. The workout room was outstanding and the large rooms were very comfortable for a family of 5

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for the nice comments. One of the many things that makes a stay enjoyable is the staff at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilliard ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The hotel was older but it's upkeep was apparent. The room was large and the location was very close to the Metro. They had free shuttle service for the Metro and it was very efficient. Upon return every evening he was back to get us w/ in 10 minutes of our call. From the time we arrived (2AM) the front desk was extremely friendly. The manager, Michael Burns , was exceptional. All in all, we had a wonderful 4 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I have passed on your kinds words to Mike Burns. As you noted, our suites are indeed spacious. We have some of the largest suites in the DC area. Our shuttle staff takes pride in providing quick, safe and efficient service to and from the Metro and the surrounding neighborhood. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The Bad News: I found the overal level of service/product quality to be especially disappointing - the reception upon arrival, the lack of luggage handling/dolly availaility, keys not working on more than one occasion, very stale bread in continental breakfast area, coffee urn empty,etc. The Good News: guest laundry area/machines/cleanliness/usability - PERFECT! The best news is a person by the name of Carmen Ball - she and I discussed all of the bad news detailed here and promised to make my stay better and she DID! She was understanding, apologetic, and obviously interested in fixing the bad news. She should be commended on her take charge attitude and assurance service given to me and I felt like she was going to take my experience and use them as training opportunities which is exactly what I intended for her to do...Carmen Ball is the best front office manager I have ever encountered. Thank you Carmen!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel and the staff. I have directed your review to the appropriate departments for follow up action. I have also shared your review with Carmen Ball. Carmen and her staff strive to make our guests' stays as pleasant as possible. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The entire staff is excellent! Friendly, helpful, concerned and just plain great.
We stayed here for 4 nights. I had stayed here once before, it was the first time for my girlfriend and her 2 children. We had a one bedroom suite. At once she liked the 900+ square feet and the lay out.
The fact that they are close to the Metro is big, add on the shuttle it gets bigger, plus the shuttle will take you within a one mile radius and it’s a home run.
Bottom line, good value, great staff, really clean kitchen, would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Thank you for the nice words. Our hotel is well suited for families due to the size of the suites. If you get the cahnce to visit us the summer, we have an extensive program of events for children ranging from movie night, to meet George Washington to video games on a 50 inch big screen TV - not to mention the outdoor pool. Thank you and I will share your review with the staff.

Mike Barber General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.