We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family with teen and young child” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
wellsboro, Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family with teen and young child”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

If you are looking for comfort away from home that is family friendly to all ages, this is it. It's like an apartment with full kitchen stocked with everything but the food. (even towels and detergent for dishes). We brought clothes, food and bathroom stuff. The rest was waiting for us. Easy check in and out. Newly remodeled so old reviews of this hotel will Not apply if they complain of it being older. A few wall scuffs but that was it. Decent t.v., small pool but went from 3-8ft deep so can wade in while holding a smaller child. Hotel is green - sheets only washed on request to conserve water and detergents used of this hotel, and lights were those spiral type energy efficient ones. Clean towels and washclothes in kitchen and bathroom every day. Free shuttle is two vans that run continuously - can get one within 5 minutes anytime 6am to 11:30 pm. Staff welcomed us back 'home' on second afternoon. Has fitness center free (we didn't use it after walking the smithsonian area) Shuttle takes you to metro and even grocery store if you need it so No driving needed once to this hotel. Rooms were quiet. No noise from walls or hallway at all. Our energetic 4 yr old had room to run around at night until tired without disturbing us in room or other guests of hotel. Rooms spacious. Private bedroom with foldout couch in livingroom so mom and dad get privacy! No surprise in the bill at the end. Walking distance to Duke St. and a 7-11, a restaurant (besides one in hotel) and a gas station. Parking lot had plenty of space available. Continental breakfast is cereal, danish, crossant type. Free coffee in lobby at all times besides the coffee maker in room. Candy and sodas in lobby can be charged to room . Computers on site but might need to wait for one of the three I saw. Tv in sitting room with computers near lobby. Kids were never woken up by sirens - quiet area, clean, safe, curteous. It was a bit of home away from home for us (we live out in the country) and we had a nice comfortable relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    107
    47
    35
    29
See reviews for
153
25
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Carmen at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The Best Shuttle driver was Fengai (He was always able to give you advice on places to eat and shop, very friendly).
Some of the other shutlle drivers were not as helpful or friendly. Did take a Taxi once, Caution the driver almost caused 2 accidents in a 3 mile ride.
The rooms were very big and kept clean. The Kitchen even had a dishwasher, Not a lot of cooking pans, bowls etc. but who wants to wash a lot of dishes.
The laundry facility was great, kept clean and the machines were fairly new.
The breakfast consisted of bagels, fruit, pastries, cereal, Yogurt and juice.
Shuttle service provided to nearby grocery store and restaurants. Also, found having the 7-11 in front of the hotel was nice as well. It had fountain drinks, iced coffee and ice cream novalities that the kids enjoyed.
Overall, we had a great experience, we would stay here again.
We took the shuttle to the metro and then took the metro into Washington DC sightseeing each day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

The Washington Suites are good value for money. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bedroom and the seperate living room provide enough space for a few days. There is even a large desk in the entrance of the suite for working.
Don't expect luxury, but do expect comfort and space. It is definitely a no-frills hotel.
The breakfast is very unappealing, both the room and food are not great. The fitness room is fine with relatively new equipment.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocomoke md
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I booked this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor.com and because it was one of the few hotels with rooms available with only a 3 day heads up. We tried to check in early but was told our room wasn't ready. Check in is at 3 pm we tried at 11 so this wasn't the hotels fault. We decided to check out the Geaorge Washington Masonic Memorial only a few miles from the hotel. By the time that was over our room was ready. Our room was a double queen bed room (it was the cheapest they had) It had 2 beds, A Kitchen, Bathroom, little like closet area before you walked into the Bathroom, sitting Area with a couch and table, and a balcony. I Hadn't been to Washington DC since I was a kid so I asked the Guy at the front desk for some help. Dwayne or Duane (However you spell it, sorry if I got it wrong) was more than helpful. He showed me what to do for a day time trip and also a night time trip. He made our trip hassel free. Thanks Duane if your reading this. I will definantly stay here again if I;m in the area. The resturant in the hotel was so-so but edible. But you can't be perfect can you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We have 3 kids; 4,6 & 8 and the hotel did a wonderful job of taking care of us. Carmen the front desk manager was genuine and very kind after we had a long drive in to DC. The rooms were nice and large, the breakfast was good and the hotel also drops off at the metro. Great deal!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

I came to Alexandria for my uncle's funeral, and wanted a room with space and extra sleeping accommodations, as one of my girlfriends accompanied me on the trip.

We were amazed at the spaciousness... a separate bedroom, and a huge sitting room with a sofa bed, writing table, chairs, etc. And the full kitchen was such a big surprise! One could be comfortable here for long periods of time.

The staff was super friendly, there was coffee available at all times in the lobby, and there was a computer room to keep up with e-mail or do research.

I was very pleased with the hotel, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the wonderful room. I wish I had made plans to stay longer and take full advantage of such a great facility.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Smoky atmosphere in the restaurant
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

We wanted to get a suite so that our 2 young kids have room to play. After some research we decided to go with this hotel because of the price and room size. We got to the hotel early (~7am) and asked to see if we could check-in earlier. The lady at the counter was very friendly and even upgraded our originally 1-bedroom suite to a 2-bedroom suite just so that we could check-in earlier.
The suite is huge but you can definitely tell it's aged, but still overall okay. What really bugged us was that the room was freezing cold. Turns out the hotel has a really old "two-pipe system" allowing the entire hotel to operate either heating or cooling at a given time and not both. The lobby was conditioned at the time, meaning there's no heating. We called the front office twice inquiring about heating and they said they'd try to do something but we never felt the heating come on. Also the area the hotel is located in isn't that great. So we ended up shortening our stay here to go to another hotel. The staff here is really nice but I really don't think we'll come back here.

  • Liked — Hotel staff
  • Disliked — HVAC system and surrounding area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.