We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cockroach in our suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Newton, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cockroach in our suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

At first we thought it was okay but when we got up in the morning we found that there was a cockroach crawling up on wall in our kitchen/eating area. The rooms are large and if you are able to secure a clean room then this would be an okay place to stay. the breakfast is okay for someone without food allergies but if you are looking for variety or fresh fruit this is not the place. We were looking for anything without gluten in it but yogurt is all they had. No rice cereal or corn flakes at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    111
    49
    35
    31
See reviews for
156
26
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Terrible filthy and the staff is clueless. My family and I checked in and out within 10 mins. When I alerted the staff to their BUG problem I was offered another room..Uh NO THANKS!!

Yes the rooms are huge kitchenette , living room, dining room huge bedroom. At one time this must have been a nice place, not now..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Walls, doors, carpet, vents, window ledges, all dusty or dirty. The smell from after entering lobby, enough to gag you. Couldn't go into breakfast room because it smelled so bad. This hotel smelled more like an old apartment building in a very ethnic area. Guests were cooking full meals using strong herbs and spices for everyone else to smell while trying to go to bed. Location was disappointing. Very far from the wonderful downtown Alexandria area where we had to drive to for dinner. Wouldn't stay here for free in the future. Update and remove kitchens!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wish I could give negative star rating. Worse experience ever. Checked in on a sunday evening. Paid with cash as I always do. Tuesday the air conditioning goes out. We are assured it is being fixed and dealt with it for the evening. Went out the next day and arrived back at 9:30 pm to an 84 degree room. Went to front desk and was told they are still working on it, but have made arrangements with another hotel, BUT....this other hotel charges for parking and it would cost me $100. Washington suites refused to cover the other room. Wife and I spent an hour checking other hotels in the area. Found one and checked out. Couldnt get my money back. No manager available. Told I would receive a check in the mail in a few weeks. Took two more days of stopping at the hotel, requesting managers, phoning managers and finally got our money back Friday evening at midnight. WORSE experience ever. Do not waste your time or money. Homewood Suites in Alexandria is an outstanding hotel and took real great care of my family and I on our vacation when this dump refused to.

Room Tip: Any room that is NOT in this building would be a better option. Homewood Suites in Alexandria is FA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is showing its age a bit. We usually rent condos, so the space was smaller than we are used to, but I knew that going in. I knew we weren't going to cook much, but come on, one fork, one spoon for a room designed for 6.
The pool was well taken care of. 2 lifeguards every day.
Front desk was friendly and usually very helpful. I did ask for some more spoons so we could eat our ice cream we bought, and never got them.
One of the shuttle drivers was very good and very knowledgable. The others, I felt, did not always follow driving rules. One turned left in front of a trick that I felt was a bit close.
The in house restaurant was good. Bartenders/ servers were very friendly. We ate with them 3 times and enjoyed all the meals.
I would like to see them add fruit to the breakfast bar. Other than that, it's a typical included breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was NOT the fresh, bright and wonderful hotel my family and I were expecting for our D.C. vacation. Drab would be how I would describe the hotel itself. We checked-in in the evening and was given a room that appeared as if someone had just stayed in. Found bread in the kitchen, trash on the balcony and bottle cap and candy on the floor in the room. Shortly thereafter we smelled gas in the kitchen. We should have just checked right back out. We were accommodated instead in their 2 bedroom, 2 bath, suite which sort of made up the inconvenience. Regardless, the floors were creaky all over, décor/furniture was outdated and needed cleaning. Breakfast in the morning could have used more variety. It was mostly, if not all, breads and cereal. No fruits, eggs or bacon/sausage. The hotel appeared busy yet I must have only seen a total of 4 staff during our stay. We didn't even bother checking out the pool or other accommodations (if there were any) as we were already disappointed. Next time we're staying at a Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Creaky floors, hair on "clean towels", worn out carpet and dated kitchens. The rooms look absolutely nothing like the website photos. Also, look at the reviews on the hotel site. Notice anything? They are all from. The same day, in February 2013. Want to guess why? Possibly because they are fake. I can handle a lot, but an unclean room , unsanitary linens, and terribly worn out accommodations aren't among them. Sleep in your car, it's a better option!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.