We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Repentigny, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fair price, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Family style hotel with free shuttle service to metro nearby. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Easy acces to downtown dc. A little old and worn in places but room clean and very spacious. Kitchen pretty basic but ok for our needs.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near stairs or elevator. This being a family hotel, there are kids running around but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    48
    35
    30
See reviews for
154
25
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came to DC to celebrate my birthday. The room was very spacious. Kitchen/micro/stove/full ridge. the bathroom is small, no room to put items. there was a balcony, but only one chair, which was pretty dirty. the balcony could use a touch up with some paint. The room served its purpose,cause we were not there to stay in the room all day and nite. There was running children in the hallways, but it did not wake us up after being out all nite. There was also a wedding ritual that took place outside by the elevators on the 7th floor. Which was kind of strange. There is a gas station across the street and plenty of places to eat up the main road. All and all we would stay in this hotel again if we are ever in town again. Not far from Downtown DC. The one thing i did not like is that they put a $50 hold on my bank card and stated it would clear in 14 days. So if you dont want a hold on your card, bring cash and it will be returned at checkout. There is breakfast included, waffle maker, bagels, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just returned after checking out a day early. Upon entering the lobby smelled stale. The room absolutely reeked of curry and body odor. There were dogs barking inside many of the rooms. Kids were running up and down the hallways at 3 in the morning. We got there late at night exhaused with tired kids, and in the morning asked housekeeping to come and clean. We were gone all day, came back again late and there was a dead roach in the room. In the morning I found a dead bed bug under the sheets. Called the desk, no manager working. Sent housekeeping manager up who claimed it wasnt a bed bug. I pulled up a picture on my iphone and it was an exact match. We checked out. I have stayed in many hotels. I have NEVER had a such a traumatizing and horrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel was ok as far as being clean. Needs to be updates, expected it to be a little nicer for the price
We stayed for two nights with our boys . The first night we got woken up twice by kids yelling and running up and down the halls. ( midnight and 3 a.m) . The next morning I let the front desk know what had happen and if the could let the people know. I was told that they would. The second night the kids were running and yelling at 10:30pm and 4:30 a.m. When I checked out the next morning I let them know that I will not be returning due to the lack of sleep while on vacation. If you decide to stay here avoid the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The room was spacious for my wife and I with 3 kids (ages 11, 8, and 5). We did have a full-sized fridge, tiny stove, in a decent-sized kitchen. No issues there.

Be warned that it is an old building. The elevators barely fit 5-6 people *without* luggage. If you've got a big bag, then it's maybe two people plus the bag! Also, the heating system is on heat or cool for the entire building - you canNOT modify that. There's a posting about this in the room (with a 'sorry for the inconvenience') but I would want to know that before booking it! Luckily we were there in the heat of July and the building was already on 'cool', but if you're visiting in the fall or spring, you may not have control over the temperature in your room.

Speaking of which...the a/c unit wasn't working in our unit when we checked in but was resolved within 15 minutes with one call to the front desk.

Our negative experience came with the shuttle. While we were driven to the subway with the courtesy shuttle with no issues, the way back wasn't so smooth. We called the hotel from the subway, and were told the shuttle will be on its way. After 30 minutes, when no shuttle appeared, we called back and were told "the shuttle driver came by 3 times and you weren't there"...nice try, but there's only one spot where you can be picked up! Then, when the shuttle driver finally arrived, he gave some excuse that he was delayed in traffic...even though it took us precisely 4 minutes to get back to the hotel and there was no traffic either way. Not good! So the next day we just drove into DC and bypassed this shuttle fiasco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It made a good first impression, the room was big, included breakfast, ok price. But the hallways smell like cigarette, the gym only has a fan to cool you down and has carpet everywhere, the breakfast is actually pretty lame, and I couldn't sleep all night because I could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the other rooms. I knock on a couple arguing that was 5 doors away from mine. In short just don't go there, there are plenty of other hotels around don't pick this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our two night stay and found the price before the upgrade very reasonable for six people. Breakfast needs some low carb options though. Lots if families- ours included. Pool was fine and we had the restaurant package - dinner was good - we had takeout and ate in our room. Overall good value and good location to drive into city. Street parking is free in dc on the weekends and taxis were cheaper and easier than the metro in dc!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.