We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great pet friendly place to stay near Washington. My only complaint was the noise. We were on the 2nd floor and the people staying down the hall from us were rather loud going to their room late at night. The rooms were very spacious though and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for the review. At Washintgon Suites Alexandria we are pet lovers. Many of our staff are pet owners, myself included, and know how hard it can be to find a pet friendly hotel. Our suites are large enough for the entire family, inlcuding fido, to stretch out and enjoy themselves. Recently we hosted a family that included a beautiful Saint Bernard.

I will pass on your review to the staff. Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    113
    47
    37
    23
See reviews for
148
24
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a 16 year old they want their independence but you don't want them to have their own room. The King suites allowed us a room with a door and a pull out for the independent one. The rooms were clean but dated. Their carpets were dingy and kitchens were well old. For the cost per night it was worth it. Easy shuttle service to metro and continental breakfast which was 90% carbs. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear SanOmid,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned, the one bedroom suite has a separate bedroom from the living room area. This makes having privacy very easy with larger families. We also have two bedroom suites which have two separate bedrooms (one with a king bed and the other with two queen beds) and two bathrooms. This suites sleeps up to 9 persons and offers privacy for all.

Our complimentary breakfast consists of a make your own waffle station, fresh fruits, danish, croissants, muffins, and new this month cinnamon buns. We also offer bagels with cream cheese, yogurt and fresh brewed coffee.

I am glad that you found the shuttle to be easy. We offer free service to the Van Dorn Metro, local shopping, and local restaurants. When you arrive, you can park car and never have to move it.

Thanks you again for taking the time to write a review. I hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel to visit DC but did not want to stay in the city. This hotel was clean.The rooms are very spacious kind of like a small apt. (3 kids & 3adults in the same room with no problem) They also offer a free shuttle to the metro station and back.This is very helpful unless you want to brave DC traffic

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear motman25,

Thank you for your comments. Many people choose to stay outside DC. Alexandria is wonderful place to stay and visit and is also easier on the budget. Depending on where you stay inside DC, it can take you just as long to get to the sights as it does staying in Alexandria.

Our suites are set up very much like an apartment with separate living rooms, dining rooms, kitchens and bedrooms. They are very spacious ranging from 500 sq ft (average hotel is 250 to 300 sq ft) to over 1200 square feet.

Our shuttle services a one mile radius around the hotel that includes the Van Dorn Metro Station, over 40 restaurants, 4 grocery stores and a mall. The Metro is the way to get around DC. Here's a tip the next time you are town. If you plan on using the Metro and you will make more than two stops (one in DC and one in Alexandria), consider getting an all day farecard that is good after 9:30am weekdays and all day weekends. You can ride and exit as many times as you like for a set fee. Also if you are headed to the Air and Space Museum first thing in the morning, ask the desk about the express Metro to L'efant Plaza.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you again,

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauquoit, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can not say enough great things about Carla who works at reception desk! She was very helpful and provided great tips & how to easily get around town. She even had band-aids when my daughter got a blister on her foot. The shuttle drivers were also very friendly and courteous. The only negative was the room was not as clean as I would have expected. The kitchen counter & stove were dirty, someone's items were left behind the couch, bathroom sink overflow drain was gross, the water in the tub would not shut off completely' there was some hair in the "clean" towels & the coffee table had a loose leg so it was very unstable. Carla's easy going, caring approach made up for the room. The breakfast choices were good although the fruit ran out quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Leslie C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. I will pass on your comments to Carmen and her staff. They delight in being able to help our guest navigate DC and the Metro. They have insider knowledge gained from actually visiting the sites and soliciting feedback from our guest. If you have not already done so, taking the Potomac River Boat Company's tour of DC by boat is a wonderful and new way to see the City. You leave from Alexandria's waterfront and pass by National Airport, Haims Point and the War College, the Jefferson and Lincoln Memorials, the Kennedy Center and dock at the waterfront in Georgetown. You can exit the boat and explore Georgetown and ride another boat bacl or stay onboard for the return trip to Old Town Alexandria. Either way its a great ride. They also have refreshments available on the boat.

Thank you for comments about the housekeeping in the suite. I will pass this onto the Operations Manager, Mr. Becraft. He takes pride in proving clean comfortable rooms and will speak with the staff to ensure the suites are up to his high standards.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerley,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used this as a base to take 3 grandsons on a 4 day trip to DC in June 2012 and spent the night there again recently. Both times the rooms were clean, quiet, paint is fresh, no odors. The breakfast is great. Free parking and free shuttle to the metro and two minutes from the Interstate make this a no brainer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear 696John,

Thank you for your comments and thank you staying with us again. How did your grandkids like DC last year? Did they get the chance to visit with our George Washington? Last Summer George Washington visited the hotel on Thursday evenings beginning in late June through early August. He posed for photos and gave talks on his life. He is scheduled to be back again this summer. The dates have not yet been set.

Our location to DC, the metro station and the interstate make us a convenient place to stay when visting DC or Northern Virginia. The free parking and free shuttle make it easy to park you car and leave it here for the entire trip. If you choose to drive, DC is only 9 miles away on I-395N.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were looking for a good value hotel for a family of 5. We found it here. This basic but good hotel with free parking, free wifi, free breakfast and a free shuttle to the metro system makes a great base for a family. We were in a large room with two double beds and a large sofa bed. The room was perfect for 5. The kitchen was handy for keeping drinks cold and for making pop corn late a night as a snack. The room was very clean. Not the fanciest but perfect for what we needed.
The breakfast was great. Great choice of Danish pastries, bagels, toast and freshly made waffles and they kept restocking the buffet continuously so plenty for every one. There was also cereals, fresh fruit and Yogurts. The lady in charge did an amazing job keeping the buffet stocked and the tables cleared.
The staff in the hotel were super helpful and top marks for the girl on reception late at night - what a welcome and friendly smile after a long drive.
The shuttle was easy to use to Washington DC in the morning and was easy to get back after a long day site seeing.
Old town Alexandria is lovely at night. You have to get the metro, drive or get a taxi as it is too far to walk. 4 miles but easy to get there. All the taxis take 5 people which is handy.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a reasonably priced base in Washington DC to go sight seeing and have the family with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear SaratogaFamily,

Thank you for kind remarks about the staff and hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff. Our breakfast gives our guests a wide variety of items from which to choose. My personal favorite is the make your own waffle. I could eat them all day long. We have just added cinnamon buns to our buffet this month.

Old Town Alexandria has some wonderful dining options for our guests. Some of our staff favorites are Columbia Firehouse (southern cooking), Fish Market (an Old Town landmark), Union Street Pub, Landini Brothers (great Italian food in a charming and romantic setting) as well as the never go wrong Chart House (ask the desk to make your reservations - you'll thank me ;).

Thank you again for your review and I hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been staying at the Washington Suites for over or close to 20 years. Name has changed along with the staff, but one thing for sure is that the rooms are clean, the people working are ALWAYS helpful and polite and you are located in a location where by you can get to any location you need too. I can't imagine staying at another hotel. In fact i won't. By the way i bring with me between 20 to 30 7th and 8th graders and also senior citizens. The food at the "The Lounge" is excellent and the staff is willing to work and make sure your taken care of. I have already booked my June visit. Looking forward to 2014.
BNuckols Illinois

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Nuckols,

Thank you being such a loyal friend of the hotel. As you mentioned, the name of the hotel has changed as well as staff over the years but the quality stays the same. For the last 20 years, Hospitality Partners has managed the hotel. I have been at this hotel for the last 11 years and with Hospitality Partners for alot longer than that. At Washington Suites Alexandria we strive to provide our guests with an entertaining, informative, and caring and hassle free environment. We welcome groups, families, corporate, government and leisure travelers with open arms. We all look forward to seeing you in June.

Thank you again for your comments.


Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.