We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for families visiting Washington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hotel for families visiting Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel had 4 star bedding in a 3 star room and 2 star carpeting and furnituure. I look forward to the day hotels replace carpeting with engineered flooring. The suite is very large.. The kitchen was spotless. Only the carpeting, furniture, and decor (could definitely use some paint) seemed out of place with the other amenities. The hotel needs to invest in some odor removing air freshener as there was a strong curry smell when you walk down the eight floor hallway. That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel to families. We loved that we had the kitchen but did not have to make breakfast as it was free. We enjoyed the waffles. We loved the free shuttle to and from the metro. The shuttle will even take you to the grocery store. Regarding the metro, having been on many european metro's, I was dissapointed in the ticketing system, it can be so much simpler, but otherwise the metro was excellent. Regarding Washington, where can you see so many high quality forms of free entertainment (Smithsonian, The monuments, ...ect). With the high cost of travelling, this can be a less expensive yet very memorable vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our suites are spacious and the staff works hard to provide a clean environment as well. Families do enjoy the free deluxe continental breakfast with the make your own waffle station and Caribou coffee. The waffles are addictive if I say so myself.

The large kitchens are a cost savings for any family. Whether you choose to cook meals in your suite or just use the refrigerator and microwave, it is a cost savings over buying every meal and every beverage outside the hotel. We also offer a shuttle service to three local grocery stores as well.

Washington DC is a wonderful city to visit. It is also one of the more economical places to visit. All of the Smithsonian Museums, the National Gallery of Art, the US Capitol, the National Zoo and all the monuments and more are all free to get into.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    48
    35
    30
See reviews for
154
25
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed on several occassions and have always had a pleasant experience. The building is clean, the staff is professional and polite and the food from "The Lounge" is great! Will definately be staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am Mylar that you have enjoyed your visits to the Washington Suites. One of the nice amenities for an all suite hotel is a restaurant. The food in the the Lounge is very good and the prices are excellent. They are open from 11am to midnight. One of the guests' favorite is their homemade pizza and their Pork Cubano sandwich. If you can eat a whole Club Sandwich platter you are really hunger.

Thank you for your comments and I will pass them on to the team at the Lounge.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great place to stay. Very comfortable and clean. Super rooms that are very spacious. Convienent location to everywhere in Old town Alexandria and Washington DC. Stayed on several occaisions for different events. Food and drinks in the Lounge are very good and reasonably priced. Completely friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. Our location is convenient to DC, Old Town, Mount Vernon, Fort Belvoir and more. We are centrally located to most everywhere you need to be. Our free shuttle provides service to the Van Dorm Metro Station which makes travelling the Washington DC Capital Region a breeze.

The Lounge Restaurant is a hidden gem within the hotel. The food is good and the prices are great. The Chicken Wrap is one of my favorites (I substitute fried chicken for the grilled) and the Cubano - a ham, cheese, pulled pork BBQ and pickle on pressed bread. The BBQ sauce is spicy and nice unexpected twist.

Thank you again for your review and I will pass on your comments to the staff and the Lounge Restaurant.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Lounge at the Washington Suites has a great atmosphere, 12-15 TV's to watch your favorite team, and a Menu that will satisfy everyone. Just recently remodeled with new furniture providing the latest in comfort and affordability, it's an experience that everyone will enjoy. Very clean with great people and would never hesitate to go there whenever we are in town. We would highly reccommend The Lounge to all looking for a relaxing time and enjoying great food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Nevin S,

Your are correct, the Lounge Restaurant is the best kept secret in Alexandria. Under new management and with a new look, this restaurant will surprise you. The menu offers homemade Mac and Cheese - yum and the best seared Tuna salad I have had in a long time. There is something for everyone and it will not break the bank.

During the various sports seasons, this is the place to be. With 9 big screen TV's your favorite team will most likely be playing. They offer a full service bar for the beer, wine and mixed beverage drinker.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Every visit to the Lounge is refreshing, mostly due to the entire Bar staff. Food is always especially fresh and prepared quickly. Kudos to the guys in the kitchen who make each meal with an extra pizzazz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Washington Suites in Alexandria on an 8th grade class field trip from San Francisco to Washington DC for 3 of our 6 nights. The rooms in this place were quite large, but not updated and quite heavily worn. We found hair in the tub providing clear indications that cleaning standards were not up to snuff as well. The walls were very thin and there were other patrons up at all hours of the night running up and down the hallways.

This hotel appeared to house longer term residential living in some units, and we did not feel safe here. Many of the units were left with doors cracked venting dinner smell (curry for 3 nights) into the common corridor areas of the hotel. There were large spaces under the doors to the room which allowed noise and odors to pass into our unit. Washington Suites also does not change bed sheets daily but rather twice a week. We would not recommend this place and have no idea why in some of the other reviews on TripAdvisor that we read about this place gave it a 4 and even 5? We are giving this place a 2 and this is pushing it.

Room Tip: Find it somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nice hotel if your traveling with the wife and kids. The rooms (suites) are very spacious. There's a full size kitchen with all the fixings if one would need to cook a meal. There was no dining table to sit and eat a meal, and no shelf space in the bathroom. The decor could use some upgrading in the rooms. Other than that, I found the hotel to be a great place to relax and unwind. I didn't notice many eateries within walking distance but I did notice a sign in the hotel indicating that a restaurant was on the property. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The Local DC Metro stopped just outside the self parking area, which is convenient when one may need to catch a bus to get around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.