We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
brooklyn
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Just checked out and was so happy that i had to write a review. We were looking for something to stop and sleep on our road trip to SC and we found this. Very cheap hotel, the staff was great. Check in was quick, i asked for a crib once we went up and it was brought to our room in less than 5 minutes. Clean hotel, big rooms we are 7 and everyone slept comfortably 2 queens and pull out queen, comfortable beds. Has kitchen, nice size with everything you need. Continental breakfast included that was good, free parking. Very happy with our stay considering it was last minute

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass them on to the staff. As you mentioned, the rates are very reasonable and the suites are very large. There are very few hotels in the DC area that accommodate families of 5 or more in the same suite/room. We even have suites that can accommodate up to 9 adults. For families with younger kids and teenagers, the piece of mind of having your entire family together is priceless.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see again if your travels bring our way again.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    48
    35
    30
See reviews for
154
25
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel has many large rooms for families. We weren't able to get one of the larger 2-2's, but we did get a 2-1 for the six of us which was a reasonable price for the area. It had two double beds in one room and then a living room with a fold-out couch. All beds were fine. Towels were plentiful. These units are dated, but come with a full kitchen and are very large compared to other hotels with the same layout. They appeal to a large number of families and culture groups that prefer to cook their own food. These families must also carry their own spices, because the hallways at night are a menagerie of smells, which bothered my in-laws, but made me want to knock on some doors and ask if they had any leftovers they were willing to share.

The staff is friendly enough. In our 4 day stay we encountered both those willing to go out of their way and staff that seemed annoyed by our presence. The laundry facilities are large with 10 washers and 10 dryers and are reasonably priced. The shuttle would be great to use. We didn't end up using it, but there were frequently groups of people waiting to catch one. Breakfast is decent and pretty-standard. There is a large variety, but no hot items other than the make your own waffles. Bagels, toast, yogurt, danishes and muffins. Cereal, juice, coffee.

MY biggest COMPLAINT was that breakfast ends at 9:30, which is a reasonable time, BUT they are NOT kidding around with that time. At 9:30 on the dot, they march in and start taking everything up starting with the coffee. If you are waiting behind someone to get coffee when they walk in, they reach in and take the pots away right in front of you. Then they go down the line and remove everything almost based on what people seem to be getting. There were still 4-6 families, some with elderly and children, when we were there. People still took a few things off the cart before they wheeled it away, but the staff did NOT look happy about it. Then after they take the cart away, they walk through the room and tell each table that breakfast ended at 9:30 and it is time for you to go. I've never seen such an abrupt and rude end to breakfast. We laughed about it with the other guests all the way down the hall and back up the elevators.

That being said, I would probably stay here again. The room sizes and prices are worth any other issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback about your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. I am glad that you found the suites spacious for your family. We offer some of the largest suites in the area all with full kitchens. Being close to DC, we host families on vacation from all over the world. Many families do take advantage of the kitchens and the aroma of cooking food always makes me hungry.

I would like to apologize for the service that you received in our complimentary breakfast area. During the week we are open from 6am to 930am and on the weekends from 7am to 1030am. At no time should you have been made to feel like you needed to hurry up and leave. I will pass this comment onto the comp service manager for immediate attention. Thank you again for bringing it to my attention and I hope to see you on your next visit.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We came down for a business trip and stayed here for 2 nights.

Our suite was spotless, including the refrigerator and everything in the kitchen. Our 1 bedroom was large enough to house at least 6 people plus anyone who wanted to camp out on the floor. Great space for a family. The pool was also very clean and inviting and I didn't see many kids in it. Another positive was the wired internet in the room that was free of charge, no nickle and diming here. The 9th floor was extremely quiet.

Negatives: The room was freezing cold all of the time, but it was better than being steaming hot. The breakfast was just average but adequate. The hotel is utilitarian and not luxurious. There are many foreigners staying here which I personally don't mind but others might.

I would recommend this hotel for families and large groups on a budget. The price and inclusions (internet, breakfast, in-suite kitchen) cannot be beat in the Washington area. I wouldn't recommend for couples wanting a romantic night away.

Room Tip: Ask for the 9th floor away from the elevator over looking the pool. You won't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. I will pass along your kind words concerning the cleanliness of the suites to our housekeeping department. As you mentioned, the suites are large - perfect for travelling families. We consider our hotel both family and pet friendly and in the summertime families like yours enjoy the value that large suites afford. You mentioned the A/C being cold. At the beginning of the summer, we replaced critical components in the system to ensure a cool summer for all of our guests. Our wired Internet service is free as welll as the shuttle service, business center and continental breakfast with waffle station. In September, we are adding free Wifi so our guests using smart phones and tablets can access the web as well.

Thank you again for your comments and I will share them with the staff.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked a two bedroom and 2 bathroom suite. The rooms are dated, but the space you have makes up for it. You could very easily fly in and take the blue line to Van Dorn. The shuttle was accommodating but we did wait 30 min on more on a couple of occasions. The bathrooms are small, but for 6 guests we were happy to have two. For kids, they have a lifeguard on duty at he pool. We rode the metro in to DC almost every day of our trip. You could easily cook in the kitchen, lots of space. It is not fany or elaborate, but the cost was very competitive. We would stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Washington Suites Alexandria. The suites are indeed large. The two bedroom two bath suite can accommodate up to 9 adults. As you mentioned, the suite has a full kitchen that includes stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and dishes and service ware. If you like to cook, it is a great way to save some money on your food bill. The full size refrigerator is handy for water, sodas and leftovers if you eat out.

I am glad that you found the hotel shuttle convenient. It goes to the Van Dorn Metro station as well as local dining and shopping locations. The roundtrip from the Metro is generally about 15 minutes, but at times due to traffic or demand we may experience longer wait times. For that I apologize.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great Staff, Clean Place, Slightly Dated. That say is in six words, but a few more would be good value and we would stay again. Suites are big and well-appointed the location is great for day trips to DC, Mount Vernon and the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum at Dulles Airport. The lobby, hallways, and elevators are small but manageable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. I am glad that you found the hotel to your liking. We work hard to provide a clean and friendly environment for our guests. Our location is about 8 miles from most of the major tourist attractions and we provide a shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro Station. Travel time on the train to downtown DC is about 25 minutes. This is a very easy way to beat the traffic into town. Travel Tip - for a fun view of the city, take the yellow line train into DC and sit on the left side of the train. The train goes over the Potomac River high in the air before returning to the underground. You get a great view of the Jefferson Memorial.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to see you again.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family stayed at the Washington Suites for 5 nights in early July. The room was VERY large! I chose the one bedroom suite which had 2 Queens and a sofa pullout which accommodated the 5 of us perfectly. The beds were very comfortable and the sofa pullout was the most comfortable pullout bed that my son has ever slept on. One of the nice things about this hotel room was the huge shelf in the bathroom hallway. We were able to fit so many of our things there and the 2 closets were so helpful, equipped with ample hangers and a laundry basket for washing. Lots of washers and dryers. The only problem we had with our room was with our bedroom air conditioner. It only had one small vent in the corner and we happened to be in Alexandria during a heat wave. We solved that problem by getting a fan downstairs. The fitness room was very clean and modern and it was a pleasure to work out there. Our family loved the complimentary breakfast too. My daughter loved making her own waffles. Nice, modern, and clean breakfast eating area. Oh and I just remembered, the parking is free! Thank you Alexandria Suites for making our stay a pleasant and memorable one!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite which had a separate room. I think the other rooms had just one large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for review of your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. I am gald that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations. As you mentioned, the suites are indeed large and can accommodate more people per room than the standard hotel room. The one bedroom unit that you stayed in has a separate bedroom, separate living room, separate dining room and separate kitchen. The majoirty of the hotel is either this suite type or the two bedroom suite type. The studio suites that you mentioned are L shaped with a a bedroom and living area and separate kitchen. They all have lots of room.

I am glad that your daughter enjoyed making the waffles. I like both making and eating them. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to your next stay.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed fourth of July weekend at this hotel. We found that it was perfect for the whole family. The restaurant on the second floor was great for my husband and I and the pool which was also off of the second floor was great for the kids. The hotel offered a wonderful shuttle service, which was always prompt (wonderful for a complementary service!) and the staff was terrific, giving helpful information. The young lady at the front desk wearing the patriotic flag shirt was extremely helpful the duration of our stay. She was always attentive and able to answer all of our questions, if she did not know the answer she was sure enough to go above and beyond to find it. Overall we had such an amazing stay and will be recommending this hotel to family and friends, hope to return soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear FamilyguyKta, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. The 4th of July is a wonderful time to be in the area. As you mentioned, our shuttle service back and forth to the Metro makes it easy to park your car and leave for your entire stay. On the 4th, we ran extra shuttles till midnight so our guests can enjoy the fireworks on the National Mall in DC. We also had George Washington in for breakfast on the 4th to enjoy his favorite breakfast of pancakes and syrup. I hope you all were able to join us for that. In addition, every Thursday in the summer, we have George Washington visit with the guests. I addition, we have a professional setup to take photos and print them out for free to our guests. We hope to see you again next summer and thank you again for your kind words.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.