We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, Clean Place,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great staff, Clean Place,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great Staff, Clean Place, Slightly Dated. That say is in six words, but a few more would be good value and we would stay again. Suites are big and well-appointed the location is great for day trips to DC, Mount Vernon and the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum at Dulles Airport. The lobby, hallways, and elevators are small but manageable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. I am glad that you found the hotel to your liking. We work hard to provide a clean and friendly environment for our guests. Our location is about 8 miles from most of the major tourist attractions and we provide a shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro Station. Travel time on the train to downtown DC is about 25 minutes. This is a very easy way to beat the traffic into town. Travel Tip - for a fun view of the city, take the yellow line train into DC and sit on the left side of the train. The train goes over the Potomac River high in the air before returning to the underground. You get a great view of the Jefferson Memorial.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to see you again.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    48
    35
    30
See reviews for
154
25
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family stayed at the Washington Suites for 5 nights in early July. The room was VERY large! I chose the one bedroom suite which had 2 Queens and a sofa pullout which accommodated the 5 of us perfectly. The beds were very comfortable and the sofa pullout was the most comfortable pullout bed that my son has ever slept on. One of the nice things about this hotel room was the huge shelf in the bathroom hallway. We were able to fit so many of our things there and the 2 closets were so helpful, equipped with ample hangers and a laundry basket for washing. Lots of washers and dryers. The only problem we had with our room was with our bedroom air conditioner. It only had one small vent in the corner and we happened to be in Alexandria during a heat wave. We solved that problem by getting a fan downstairs. The fitness room was very clean and modern and it was a pleasure to work out there. Our family loved the complimentary breakfast too. My daughter loved making her own waffles. Nice, modern, and clean breakfast eating area. Oh and I just remembered, the parking is free! Thank you Alexandria Suites for making our stay a pleasant and memorable one!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite which had a separate room. I think the other rooms had just one large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for review of your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. I am gald that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations. As you mentioned, the suites are indeed large and can accommodate more people per room than the standard hotel room. The one bedroom unit that you stayed in has a separate bedroom, separate living room, separate dining room and separate kitchen. The majoirty of the hotel is either this suite type or the two bedroom suite type. The studio suites that you mentioned are L shaped with a a bedroom and living area and separate kitchen. They all have lots of room.

I am glad that your daughter enjoyed making the waffles. I like both making and eating them. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to your next stay.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed fourth of July weekend at this hotel. We found that it was perfect for the whole family. The restaurant on the second floor was great for my husband and I and the pool which was also off of the second floor was great for the kids. The hotel offered a wonderful shuttle service, which was always prompt (wonderful for a complementary service!) and the staff was terrific, giving helpful information. The young lady at the front desk wearing the patriotic flag shirt was extremely helpful the duration of our stay. She was always attentive and able to answer all of our questions, if she did not know the answer she was sure enough to go above and beyond to find it. Overall we had such an amazing stay and will be recommending this hotel to family and friends, hope to return soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear FamilyguyKta, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Washington Suites Alexandria. The 4th of July is a wonderful time to be in the area. As you mentioned, our shuttle service back and forth to the Metro makes it easy to park your car and leave for your entire stay. On the 4th, we ran extra shuttles till midnight so our guests can enjoy the fireworks on the National Mall in DC. We also had George Washington in for breakfast on the 4th to enjoy his favorite breakfast of pancakes and syrup. I hope you all were able to join us for that. In addition, every Thursday in the summer, we have George Washington visit with the guests. I addition, we have a professional setup to take photos and print them out for free to our guests. We hope to see you again next summer and thank you again for your kind words.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here from 7/14-7/16. I selected this hotel because it was one of the few that had room for 6 occupants and had breakfast included. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large enough that we were not cramped together. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The free shuttle was extremely helpful for getting to the Metro to access DC. The breakfast staff were very nice and always refilled the breakfast bar. We stayed on the second floor and got back pretty late one night and the restuarant was about to close. The bartender kept the kitchen open and allowed us to order our food in which the kitchen staff made and it was all very delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the DC area.

Room Tip: They are a pet friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear IslandGirlDraya,

We get the "pleasantly surprised" comment a lot here at the Washington Suites alexandria As an independent hotel, some travelers are not sure what to expect. Our hotel is all suite hotel with suites that accommodate up to 5 in our studio suites all the way to 9 in our two bedrooms. For just a little more than a standard hotel room, you get the space and bedding of at least two standard rooms at most places.

The restaurant serves American fare at very reasonable prices. I will make sure to pass on your comments about their helpfulness to the manager and his staff.

We hope to see you again and thank you for staying at the Washington Suites Alexandria.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Front desk staff was always very helpful in meeting our special requests, even before we arrived. Housekeeping always went over and above to meet our needs. There was concern about not being within walking distance from the Metro stop, yet we never waited more than 10 minutes for shuttle service to and from the Van Dorn Metro stop and the drivers were always pleasant and warm. The free breakfast buffet was adequate, but the same items were present every day. The 1 bedroom room was huge at over 800 sq. ft. and was larger than our family of 5 really needed. The full size kitchen was adequately equipped and we only ate out 1 time for dinner. The temperature outside was over 100 most days so the A/C had trouble keeping the room at temperatures less than 80F except at night. It was nice to have a full time lifeguard at the pool. Overall, it was well worth the price to stay outside of downtown DC and it took only 30 minutes from downtown until we were in our room. It was not worth renting a car as you can get downtown about as fast on the Metro.

Room Tip: Stay off the first or second floor due to early risers having breakfast and the loud restaurant/bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Weir Family,

Thank you for the review and comments about the Washington Suites Alexandria. I will be sure to share them with the staff. As you mentioned, we are convenient to Washington DC. Our free shuttle runs from 6am weekdays until 11pm nightly. Many people do not move their vehicle once they check in. We also provide shuttle service to local restaurants as well. As you mentioned, with the full kitchens you can definitely eat in every night if you wish. We have three grocery stores within a couple of minutes of the hotel.

I am sorry to hear the suite was not as cool as is should have been. At the beginning of the season, we replaced key components of our cooling system for the building. The new system has performed exceptionally well. It appears that there may have been a problem with the individual fan unit in your suite. We will track it down and have it repaired. Thank you for letting us know.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandiria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 8 days in DC from 6/21-6/28/12. It was hot outside. it was so comfortable staying in the suite. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Conventional breakfast is great. Making waffle is fun part to my children. Laundromat is very convenient. Room is very clean. Kitchen has everything for us to cook simple Chinese food during 8 days. We went to museums in the mornings and came back to suite in the afternoons hiding from heat outside. It was really a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Yu S,

Thank you for your review of the Washington Suites Alexandria. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Like yourselves, many of guests enjoy making their waffles as part of our free continental brekfast featuring Caribou Coffee. We are also offering a second option for breakfast - a full breakfast menu in the restaurant located on the 2nd floor with home breakfast options starting at $6.99. For those who like to cook or may wish to save some money, our full kitchens with stove, oven, dishwasher, full size refrigerator, and all the pots and pans to make a snack to a gourmet meal.

Thank you again for your comments. I will share them with the staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were a group of 10 staying at the hotel for 4 nights June 22 - June 25. We selected the hotel based on the size of the rooms, the full kitchen, free parking and shuttle to the Metro. What we actually received was way more than we ever could have predicted. Check-in was smooth and friendly. The breakfast room attendant was magnificent. She would pour milk for those who needed it and ran multiple times when someone asked for something not currently out.and the place was always neat and tidy. Plus, the day we left, she came in early to let us get some breakfast before we hit the road at 4am. Talk about going above and beyond for the customers. Carmen, the front desk/customer service manager was very friendly and asked every day how things were going. Additionally, the lifeguard the last night of our stay not only helped a young girl by getting her a kick board and another a life jacket, he began instructing them on how to do some strokes.
Yes, the hotel may be older but we did not have any issues with sound for sleeping. The beds were excellent as was housekeeping. The kitchen was a great size for our group.
Breakfast consisted of pasries, apples, bananas, oranges, juice, milk, waffles (we had multiple girls make them with no issues), cereal, oatmeal, bagels, croissants and muffins.
For future reference for groups who need a lifeguard present to be able to swim...... it is a state requirement to have a lifeguard present in Virginia!!
Excellent stay! Will highly recommend to other Girl Scout troops traveling from our area and families as well!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Jennifer H,

I am glad that you and your Girl Scout troop had a good time at the Washington Suites Alexandria i am sure that you had a wonderful time exploring Washington, DC as well. It is such as wonderful city with so many things to do that you could be here for two weeks and still not see it all.

I will share your review with the staff, especially Carmen and the breakfast staff. Carmen has been with us for over 5 years and some of the breakfast staff for over 10 years. I will also share this with the lifeguard crew. As you mentioned, it is state law to have a lifeguard on duty when the pool is open. It certainly makes for a safer environment for the families and kids.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Mike Barber
General Manager
Washington Suites Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.