We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible bargain including excellent free wi-fi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Incredible bargain including excellent free wi-fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

How can a place offer a couple large rooms and full kitchen, free wi-fi in rooms and charge those of us with AAA just $125/night in the Washington DC area? This is incredible. People at front desk were really nice. I left a 4:45 wake up call and got it (often does not happen). Rooms are large, as others noted, wifi is very good and free (often not true in other places). Really good bargain, folks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thanks for your kind words about the Washington Suites Alexandria. Our suites are some of the largets in the area. We also offer hard to find two bedroom suites for two separate bathrooms. I will pass along your comments to the staff at the front desk. Internet access is free of charge and we do offer limited areas of WiFi in the lobby and second floor. Stay tuned for we will be installing wireless Internet access as well as offering wired access (free of charge) in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    48
    35
    30
See reviews for
154
25
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We're just back home in the UK after our 10th 3-week stay at the Suites over the last 8 years. I guess that level of repeat business says enough about the quality and value the hotel represents.

Outstanding customer-facing staff make everything "no problem". Our regular suite is now our second home for 6 weeks of the year (Spring and Fall), where the huge space (something like 850 sq ft) makes it easy to relax when we're not "out and about".

We can't say anything negative -- and on every visit there's something new or improved to discover, like new closers on the fire doors so they don't bang shut (thanks, Mike!). We used the Shuttle to go out for meals most days, and with just one exception never had to wait more than a few minutes - I guess we managed to avoid peak times! At other times we used our rental car to get around - there's so much to see and do in the area.

I couldn't understand an earlier comment about no WiFi - it worked fine for me, all day and every day. In fact, the signal strength seemed to be hugely improved since our recent trips.

Looking forward to being back in the Spring!!

Room Tip: Every one we have used has been good, but please don't book our favourite one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thanks for the kind words. It was good seeing you again. Don't worry about your favorite suite, it will be ready here at the Washington Suites Alexandria when you return this spring. As you mentioned, the suites are very large over 850 sq ft for a one bedroom suite. It can truly become a home away for home. As for the WiFi, we have it available on the first floor and in the restaurant. The suites near the restaurant and immediately above it generally get good reception. We currently offer wired Internet access and will have wireless available throughout the hotel in early 2012. I look forward to your return visit this Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here with family for four nights. The rooms at this hotel are really big, comfortable and clean. The room was literally bigger than my first apartment!

Rudy at reception was helpful with directions and set us up with a tour of DC that picked us up right out front of the building. The breakfast was free and had a lot to choose from. The shuttle service can take you to the Metro to get into DC and worked well for us. We decided to drive on the first day and it was difficult to get around the city so Metro is definitely the way to go. Overall, we would stay here again, its affordable and great for families.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments about the Washington Suites Alexandria. I will pass along this review to Rudy. As you mentioned, our suites are very large - good for a family or someone traveling on extended stay. Our free Washington Suites shuttle makes getting to the Metro and local shopping very easy. Since parking is free at the hotel, you can leave you car and use Metro to get just about anywhere in the city. Thank you again for you comments and we hope to see you back on your next trip to the area.

Mike Barber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on Sept. 21-24th. It was great. I was impressed not only with the rooms(we had tons of room and they were very clean). Thanks to the staff, Vicki, Carmen, Mike, Stephon, Kelly and Justin at the desk. Our 2 bedroom suite was very nice, beds were comfortable. (Thanks Mike) The shuttle drivers were very nice. Khalic and Brahim were most helpful. Sometimes we waited for a few minutes but that is to be expected at peak times. Most of the time we harly waited at all. The complimantry breakfast was very nice. Coffee in lobby was the best. Any time we had questions they were always answered. If you wanted snacks there was a 7-11 just steps away. We enjoyed Washington D.C. but this was a great place to get away from the hustle. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on that. I would give this hotel a 10 and I have never given anyone a 10 before..

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room with or without a view. You aren't usually in the room that much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thanks for a wonderful review. I will be sure to share this the folks that were mentioned as well as the entire staff. As you mentioned, it is nice at times to get away from the hustle and the Washington Suites Alexandria is just the place to do that. With all the space and the nice people here at the hotel, you can enjoy DC and relax at the hotel in the evening. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

The rooms, all three that they showed my family, had mold. When I complained they say it's mildew. The microwave wouldn't run for more than a minute before griping the breaker. And bc we were there on gov. contract they told my wife to hush or find a new job. And the restaurant has great sandwiches and drinks but the owner is a jack in the box. To tell us we can't bring food back to our room. What. And the room smells like cat pee if you don't use candle 24/7. You could also expect to find old food in the corner of the rooms due to not cleaning. My 18 month old boy found staples that could have ruined his vision or choked him. The a/c and heater only work per season, meaning if it's summer and we get a cold night grab a blanquette bc there's no heat till September. And if is Dec and 90 degrees out, sweat, no ac till April. Oh ya, almost forgot no wifi..... This place is a joke.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I realize that your wife’s employer chose the location for her and your family and that you did not wish to stay with us. I understand that you believed that the hotel had a mold issue and that you were concerned about your family. You called the health department to complain and they came out immediately and thoroughly inspected the suite. They inspected the kitchen, the bathroom, the window and sills and all the vents and heating/cooling system and did not find any evidence of mold. We worked hard to find a suite that met your standards.

I also wanted to clarify a few of your statements. At no point did any of the hotel staff discuss any aspect of your wife’s career with her. I will assume that you meant her employer had a discussion with her. The group also had a special breakfast area set up just for the attendees and unfortunately any guests or families traveling with them would have to have breakfast in the hotel’s Colonial Breakfast Room. Food from the special breakfast buffet for the group was not available as carryout for guests or family members. Again I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

What a great vacation stay at Virginia Suites Hotel Alexandria, for our annual Gardiners Bay Navy Ship Reunion. We can't say enough about the wonderful surroundings and service, especially the Front Office Manager Carmen, who found my lost prized bracelet in the lobby and promptly shipped it to me via Fed Ex. The rooms were excellent, matttresses most comfortable, Continental breakfast just super, hospitality room a bonus, lounge restaurant food very good, and such a prompt and courteous shuttle service. The front desk concierge recommended Tempo Restaurant to us. The delicious, well presented and served food at Tempo was the first time we've found in all our travels in and out of the country, to compare to our old hometown New Orleans. We'd be happy to return there. Henrietta & Paul

Room Tip: Our room facing the back parking lot was quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Henrietta and Paul, thank you for your nice review of the Washington Suites Alexandria. We were honored to have been the host hotel for your group. I will pass on your review to the rest of the staff as well as to Tempos. Thanks again for nice review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was presently pleased with is hotel. I had read the reviews and was a little apprehensive about making a reservation, but when you are travelling with three kids (2 teen girls and a boy), and a husband who likes to have a late afternoon nap, the allure of two bathrooms and two bedrooms was too great to resist. However, it is not as convenient as staying in the central core of DC. It is a thirty minute train ride, but the shuttle was fairly regular and the drive from the hotel is only about five minutes. The hotel rooms are equipped with fully functioning kitchens, so if you wanted to skip the carbs from the continental breakfast, you could whip yourself up an egg McMuffin type breakfast sandwich without too much difficulty, I only wish I had a non stick pan. Our room was clean; we had access to the laundry facility on the 5th floor. The staff was friendly, very accommodating, and just wonderful individuals. Remember this is not a five star hotel, but it is a great economical place to stay with more room than you will know what to do with. FYI, the rooms don’t have wifi, so if you have a router bring it and create your our wireless network, also you can connect gaming systems to the TVs. During our stay, the biggest problem was the earthquake, hurricane Irene and the 89+ temperatures. We will definitely return to this hotel, but next time it will be in May or June. PS. If you are looking for a bus tour of DC, please stay away from the Double Decker tour company.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Washington Suites Alexandria. Our two bedroom suites, our largets at 1,200sq ft, do offer two separate bedrooms and two separate bathrooms. This makes getting ready to go out or taking an afternoon nap that much easier. The shuttle makes getting to the Metro easy and while it can take up 30 minutes to get into DC, it sure beats fighting traffic and trying to find pay parking. While we can't guarantee that you won't be in a hurricance or earthquake again, October is another wonderful month to visit the area. The temperatures, while they can at times be unseasonably warm, are more comfortable than May. In addition, there are less crowds than in the springtime. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.