We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shuttle service, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great shuttle service, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Took a group of nineteen students from our university for a visit of Washington D.C. at the beginning of June. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were fine. Walls were thin and the possibility of having a noise problem existed, but it was never actually an issue.
Swimming pool was fine, although lifeguard was strict on what was considered a regular bathing suit for swimming (No shirts of any kind or exercise bras allowed).
Chain pizza place was just across the street, fast food within easy walking distance, too.
Perhaps the best part of the hotel was the convenient shuttle. Took us anywhere we needed to go and was never a problem. Hotel provided regular shuttle service to the metro (Van Doren station). Rarely had to wait and drivers were very courteous. The kind staff combined with the great shuttle service make this place a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
I am glad that your group had a wonderful time in the DC area. Our shuttle service is a wonderful amenity. We run the shuttle 17 hours per day on a continuous basis. We go to the metro station, grocery stores, restaurants and anywhere within a one mile radius of the hotel. In addition to fast food and pizza, there are over 20 restaurants in our shuttle service area including two very good Italian restaurants, Savios and Tempos. In addition, the hotel's restaurant is in the final phase of its renovation and will re-open in early July as the Lounge. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you and your students will be back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    49
    35
    32
See reviews for
157
28
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We visited here May 21-25 2011. We had a one bedroom king suite on the 8th floor. The furniture was in excellent shape, and the bed and hide-a-bed were comfortable. Plenty of pillows and linens were clean and in good shape. Overall, it was clean and a great value, Close to the highway, and a 10 minute shuttle to van Dorn metro stop. However, you might wait 30 minutes to get there in the morning.

Bathroom had nice products and showers were hot and had good pressure. Only downside was pedestal sink left little space for a toilettries bag.

We used the glasses and our maid ran the dishwasher daily. Fridge and microwave were a nice bonus for the stay- although we did not do any serious cooking.

The continental breakfast was nice- excellent danishes, and muffins and bagels were ok. Instant oatmeal and cereal also available as well as coffee, tea, juice, and milk. Nice setup, and bus trips had a different eating area.

Hallway noise could be a problem if your floor had late arrivals and someone was sleeping in the hide-a-bed, but we had no complaints. Excellent value! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your review, Our suite furnishing are indeed in excellent shape. Over the past three years, we completely refurnished the suites. In addition, we have moved our breakfast room from the second floor to the lobby level. As you saw, we can now seat upt to 125 people for breakfast. The breakfast now features a make your own waffle station. We recently added 60 inch and 55 inch flat screen TVs to the breakfast room so that you can keep up with the daily news and weather while enjoying breakfast. Suite service does include doing the dishes and cleaning the kitchens on a daily basis. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guaynabo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We arrived without knowing what to expect since our visit was a last minute reservation and not knowing your hotel chain you were not our first choice .
We were plesently surprise by the excellent service and the amenities provided.
A special thanks to Kelly , Rudy And Carmen.
In our next visit to the area, the Washinton Suites will be our first choice in hotels, we also want to add the concierge services was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your review, I have forwarded your comments on to Kelly, Carmen and Rudy. I can understand your reluctance to book our hotel since we are not a brand name. But as you have seen, independent hotels are not that different from a Holiday Inn or Marriott product. I have been in the business for almost 30 years in both brands and independents. The most important things are the same everywhere - cleanliness, modern furnishings and good customer service. We take pride in ensuring that every stay is a memorable one. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The evening we checked in, my wife began experiencing severe abdominal pain. The night manager, Stephon, found two urgent care facilities that were open as well as directions to the nearest hospital. 5 hours later she had emergency hernia surgery, returning to the hotel shortly after noon later that day. The one bedroom suite was perfect for her recovery. But more important to us was the staff - housekeeping was very helpful, working around our needs. The front desk staff, and Stephon in particular exceeded any standard for service and concern anyone could hope for. Our contact with the front desk was always marked by very personal (and personable), efficient, and extremely helpful interactions. They were always warm and hospitable. This was evident not only through the way they treated my wife and I, but also her sisters (staying in a studio suite) and our son, daughter-in-law, and their baby, sharing our suite (we were here for the burial of my father at Arlington.) We have traveled extensive around the country, as well as in Europe and Asia, and have never had better, more professional, and yet amazingly warm and personal experiences with a concierge or front desk staff. They were all excellent, yet Stephon stood out even in that group. He is simply the best we've seen! Whatever he's being paid, it isn't enough!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about Stephon. He is indeed a wonderful a person. I hope that your wfe has fully recovered from the surgery and is up and about now. I would also like to extend my sympathies on the loss of your father. I have shared this review with not only Stephon but the entire management team at the hotel and they wish your wife a speedy recovery as well. Thank you again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

The hotel has large updated rooms that sleep six. The shuttle service to the Metro and nearby (within 1 mile) restaurants worked well and the drivers were attentive. However, because of the large rooms they accommodate large school groups that are noisy. When we asked to be moved to a quieter location we were told none were available. We checked in at noon and they put us by the elevator when I'm sure they were aware of the large school group coming. I recommend going to a smaller hotel if you want to get to sleep before midnight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hotel was in a great location. We wanted something close to DC but far enough away to not have to pay a lot of money. I liked having the kitchen which saved us alot on eating out. I agree with the reviews about the hotel needing updates but I didn't feel it was as dirty as some are saying.(maybe the kitchen did need some work). We stayed in July of 2009 so my date of stay on here is not correct. There was a pool and continental breakfast which is a big deal when feeding a family of 5. They had games available for the kids and we also were invited to the managers reception which was free food and I think a free drink. If you are looking for a great deal at a nice family oriented hotel, this is the place.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Nice hotel with large room and decent kitchen. The kitchen could have been a little cleaner, but overall nice. Our room had a balcony which was a nice bonus. We had a room next to the elevator, so lots of noise throughout night causing our family to get little sleep. But the thing that really was upsetting was that when we book the hotel we used a debit card. Our card was charged 3 times by the hotel. When calling the front desk she stated that on weekends they charge your room charges plus a deposit of $100. Upon checkout the charge the card for the actual amount of the stay with any room charges. She told me that our card would be refunded in 10 days. She did not know why we were charged a 3rd time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you like your suite. The suites with balconies are nice during this time of year. I am sorry that your suite experienced a noise problem. It is even more frustrating when children are involved. If you did not speak with our staff about this issue, please fell free to contact me at the hotel. Call and ask for Mike Barber.

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you liked your suite. The suites with balconies are nice during this time of year. I am sorry that your suite experienced a noise problem. It is even more frustrating when children are involved. If you did not speak with our staff about this issue, please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Call and ask for Mike Barber.

I understand your frustration with the debit card. In most hotels, debit cards, when presented upon check, are treated like credit cards. Upon check in, the hotel will swipe the card in order to receive an authorization. This authorization ensures that there are funds available for payment. As part of the authorization process, hotels secure an additional amount to cover incidentals. With a credit card, the authorization removes the amount requested from the available credit line and holds it aside for future payment. With a debit card, the banks actually remove the amount of authorization from the checking or saving account immediately and hold it aside for future payment. This transaction looks like the hotel was paid when the card was swiped. The hotel does not receive any payment until the debit or credit card is processed upon checkout.

Upon check out, the credit or debit card is then charged. This information is immediately sent electronically to the processing center for credit and debit cards. Many banks at this point will then process the payment for the total hotel charges and release the extra amount back to the card holder’s account. If the authorization is for $200 but the actual charge is $150, the bank will release the difference of $50 so that it is immediately available to the card holder. With debit cards, some banks will take the final charge and treat it like a new charge, in effect, double charging the card holder by removing money from their account again. As with the example above, if the hotel authorized $200 upon check in and the final charge was $150, the bank is now holding a total of $350 of your money out of your account. The hotel will only be paid the actual charge of $150. It can take up to two weeks before the bank will release the $200 back to your account. The same is true if you use you debit card for authorization upon check in but use cash at check out. The original $200 will still be unavailable for up to two weeks depending on your bank's policies. At the hotel we have tried to minimize this situation by posting a sign at the desk concerning debit. If you need further assistance with your account, please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.