We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice price, but very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Washington Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Washington Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Nice price, but very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Nice hotel with large room and decent kitchen. The kitchen could have been a little cleaner, but overall nice. Our room had a balcony which was a nice bonus. We had a room next to the elevator, so lots of noise throughout night causing our family to get little sleep. But the thing that really was upsetting was that when we book the hotel we used a debit card. Our card was charged 3 times by the hotel. When calling the front desk she stated that on weekends they charge your room charges plus a deposit of $100. Upon checkout the charge the card for the actual amount of the stay with any room charges. She told me that our card would be refunded in 10 days. She did not know why we were charged a 3rd time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you like your suite. The suites with balconies are nice during this time of year. I am sorry that your suite experienced a noise problem. It is even more frustrating when children are involved. If you did not speak with our staff about this issue, please fell free to contact me at the hotel. Call and ask for Mike Barber.

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you liked your suite. The suites with balconies are nice during this time of year. I am sorry that your suite experienced a noise problem. It is even more frustrating when children are involved. If you did not speak with our staff about this issue, please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Call and ask for Mike Barber.

I understand your frustration with the debit card. In most hotels, debit cards, when presented upon check, are treated like credit cards. Upon check in, the hotel will swipe the card in order to receive an authorization. This authorization ensures that there are funds available for payment. As part of the authorization process, hotels secure an additional amount to cover incidentals. With a credit card, the authorization removes the amount requested from the available credit line and holds it aside for future payment. With a debit card, the banks actually remove the amount of authorization from the checking or saving account immediately and hold it aside for future payment. This transaction looks like the hotel was paid when the card was swiped. The hotel does not receive any payment until the debit or credit card is processed upon checkout.

Upon check out, the credit or debit card is then charged. This information is immediately sent electronically to the processing center for credit and debit cards. Many banks at this point will then process the payment for the total hotel charges and release the extra amount back to the card holder’s account. If the authorization is for $200 but the actual charge is $150, the bank will release the difference of $50 so that it is immediately available to the card holder. With debit cards, some banks will take the final charge and treat it like a new charge, in effect, double charging the card holder by removing money from their account again. As with the example above, if the hotel authorized $200 upon check in and the final charge was $150, the bank is now holding a total of $350 of your money out of your account. The hotel will only be paid the actual charge of $150. It can take up to two weeks before the bank will release the $200 back to your account. The same is true if you use you debit card for authorization upon check in but use cash at check out. The original $200 will still be unavailable for up to two weeks depending on your bank's policies. At the hotel we have tried to minimize this situation by posting a sign at the desk concerning debit. If you need further assistance with your account, please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    111
    49
    35
    31
See reviews for
156
27
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Busy and noisy most of the time with all kinds of children. Kitchen was great. Breakfast was great. Staff members were always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I noticed that you stayed during the summer. The hotel is a fun place to stay in the summer. for the Summer of 2011, we will be keeping the pool open until 10pm. We have also added fountains to the pool. For the summer time fun activities, we are having George Washington back again this year on Thursday nights. He will be here to greet the families and pose for professional photos. You will receive free 5x7 photos printed out while you wait. There will also be movie and popcorm night, craft night and events at the pool. We hope that you have a chance to visit us again this summer. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Stayed 4 nights during the peak tourist season in April. Overall a pretty good experience, with lots of positives and negatives.
Positives:
- Huge rooms with 42" LCD TVs mounted on wall
- Kitchen in room
- Nice continental breakfast with tons of pastries and coffee
- Free shuttle to metro
- Friendly staff; manager gave us a refund when travel plans changed
- Most reasonably priced hotel within 10 miles of downtown
- Housekeeping was fantastic
Negatives:
- Demand for free shuttle bus will frequently exceed it's capability; we gave up and took a taxi on day 1
- Because of it's reasonable price, this hotel will often be filled to capacity with kids on school trips; lots of buses outside and lots of noise
- The walls and insulation are very thin; the noise of guests in the hall may disturb your sleep
- Lots of quirky maintenance issues; you can have heat or air conditioning but only 1 on any given day; crazy noises from fridge

Final notes: Definitely a good option for families who can't pay the crazy hotel prices in Wash DC area. Didn't notice any "suspicious people" -- hotel was packed with friendly families, schoolkids and business travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get away from elevator and avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for the comments about our hotel. As you mentioned, the suites are in huge. We have some of the biggest suites in the entire DC Metro area. As you also mentioned, the Spring is a busy time at the hotel. Our shuttle buses run continous from 6am to 11pm. During peak times we increase the number of shuttles to keep the wait times to a minimum. I will pass this comment on the Shuttle Service Manager. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Had originally booked on hotels' web site, but found better deal on travel site. We were skeptical at first but once we checked in and saw our room we were very pleased. Carmen at the front desk was very helpful in giving us tips on getting to grocery store and subway. The room was spacious and much bigger than expected, alhtough the kitchen was small. Called for maintence as I could not get the burner to ignite on the stove when cooking the 1st night and they were there within a few minutes. I also had forgotten my fan and housekeeping brought us one just as quick.
Their shuttle service is great, it takes less than 5 minutes to get to the subway station. You may want to drive yourself- but I would't as there is very little parking there!
There are several resturants and grocery stores close by and the shuttle will actually take to to the grocery store if needed.
We did check out the continental breakfast and enjoyed it as we grabbed and went !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants, grocery stores and the Metro subway. Whether you cook your meals at the hotel or not, the refrigerators in the kitchen make it convenient to store perishables, fruits, drinks and even medicine that needs refrigeration. Thank you for your kind words and I have shared then with Carmen and the staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I've stayed here about 4 or 5 times, and this had to be the worst visit. I was there with students from California, and There was alot of suspicious individuals walking in and out of the lobbies. They gave us the creeps. Come to find out, some were even staying next to some of the people that came along with us, and they were very very loud.

Also The rooms had a bad odor, and the hallways had a bad odor as well.

The rooms are very nicely furnished, and look like a refurbished apartment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed 1 night on the way down south on Christmas night. The area was safe and convenient.The lobby was nice and there was a great sitting area with Comfy couches and a nice flat screen TV and a very nice computer area for free.The gentleman working at the desk checked us in was very nice and upgraded us to a huge 2 bedroom suite, it had 2 bathrooms and a full livingroom and kitchen and dinning room. I would definetly stay there again . Would like to stay there if exploring the DC area. The best thing is they allow pets.Would of gave this place an excellent rating but the free breakfast was a waste of time.To bad they didn't just make the breakfast better quality or else justoffer quality coffee

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We brought out two children (both under 9), and our miniature Dachsund. I cannot say enough about the friendliness of the employees we encountered. They were very good to our children, and there was no issue with out dog whatsoever. We had the smallest suite available, but it was more than adequate for our family. The room was very clean, as was the kitchen and the bathroom. The maid service was exceptional. We used the hotel's shuttle and we had only to call and it met us at the Van Dorn Metro station within minutes.

We visit the D.C. area every year to see family, and we will most certainly choose this hotel first next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarberGM, General Manager at Washington Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, As you mentioned. w are a pet friendly hotel and gladly welcome 4 legged friends. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Suites Alexandria

Address: 100 S. Reynolds Street, Alexandria, VA 22304
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites with impeccable services and extended stay amenities at Washington Suites Alexandria in Virginia, minutes from Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Washington Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Washington Hotel Alexandria
Washington Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.