We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
CT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A first class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We spent a long weekend here while visiting family in the area. The building appeared to be relatively new, and was obviously well constructed. We couldn't hear any noise from other rooms, and were quite surprised considering how many families we saw at breakfast with their children. The room was very clean and comfortable. The proximity to the Metro station with the always available hotel shuttle made this a great base for sightseeing in the area.Every staff member we talked to was friendly, professional, and always helpful.If you drive here, the local roads can be very confusing. We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South West. It was a pleasure to read your review and I am certainly gratified to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

I invite you to come back and see us again soon.

Have a wonderful week.

Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    85
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
49
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

So last minute stay. chose this hotel based on reviews.
Location.. ( free shuttle to metro stop) Great.Short train ride into DC. or 10 mile drive. Con- this hotel has nothing in walking distance and is in the middle of no where.
The rooms are spacious, 2 queens, sitting area with pull out couch. separate toilet- sink area/ shower- tub sink area. Big plus is that there is a rack in shower to hold all your toiletries so you re not putting them on edge of tub.
There is a mini fridge as well.
Free coffee in lobby with International delight creamers!
We had a room facing the trains. No noise what so ever. My son enjoyed watching the trains. Big plus!
Free Hot/cold breakfast! I was surprised at the selection.. Eggs, ham, oatmeal, fruits, yogurt, cereal, toast bagels english muffins, waffels, muffins etc. juices, cofee, tea, milk, choc milk. cream cheese, butter, jams and jelly and NUTELLA spreads.you can eat in a nice trendy dining room or on the patio and watch the trains.
There is covered and uncovered parking, gym, washer/dryer.
This hotel was great! Definitely recommend. wether you are visiting DC or need a stop over on a long trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town South West.

We were pleased that you had a great stay with us. Here at the SpringHill Suites we have a complimentary breakfast and shuttle to the Metro and yes our room are all suites so they are very spacious. I am so delighted that you were able to utilize all of our amenities and found that they enhanced your time with us.

I invite you to come and visit us again should your travels return you to our area.

Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager

Alexandria Old Town South West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in a good location near Old Town Alexandria, convenient to the Eisenhower Avenue Metro. There is a shuttle that can take you near to the King Street Metro stop, where you can catch a free trolley into Old Town. The hotel shuttle can also take you to the Metro stop, Whole Foods, the Amtrak Station, or the Hoffman Center, where there is a movie theatre and many restaurants. The hotel rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. There's a free breakfast with the usual items, and a guest laundry. The hotel staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again if we return to Alexandria!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Clean and spacious room, friendly and helpful staff! Varied items at breakfast. Room has sitting area and desk, toilet and large shower are in separate rooms, each with a sink. But be careful....the beautiful tile floor is very slippery when wet! Close to Metro....hotel shuttle goes there. Several restaurants close by. A winner!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

It appears the target demographic of Springhill Suites is the business person. "Suite" is misleading because there is basically only one room. On paper, the plan looks good: a sleeping area, a work area, plenty of clothing storage, separate shower/toilet areas. However, for a family on vacation, it was awkward in some ways.

Let me say, overall, the hotel provided what we needed: comfortable beds, adequate space, accessible outlets, complimentary breakfast with good variety, clean rooms and public areas, complimentary, if tight, covered parking, and a fairly convenient location.

Although located close to historic sites and DC, it is not easy for the visitor, unfamiliar with this area, to find. Limited access highways in Alexandria have VERY limited access. It is difficult to know from a map where exits and entrances are, and, generally, access going in one direction (for example North) does not mean there is access to the opposite direction (South). There are many one-way streets, strange circles, dead ends, and restricted turns. The hotel is located near the intersection of I495/95 and Telegraph Road, but the roads are on different levels and the connectors are strange. I don't really know how to get to the hotel from the Interstate; we always got on Duke Street, then turned south on Holland, which turned into Eisenhower and headed west. It would be nice to have some signs around the area pointing the way. There also needs to be a lighted sign at street level at the entrance from Eisenhower. (Maybe there was a small one.)

It would also be helpful for the hotel to provide a map of the immediate area with restaurants and the movie theater marked. When I asked for the location of nearby restaurants, I was told there were many on King Street and near the movie theater. The only direction I was given was a wave of the hand toward the movie theater, which I think was actually in the opposite direction. It was assumed I knew how to get to King Street. The clerk did print off Google driving directions for me.

The hotel sits on a strip of land between the busy Interstate (Beltway) and a train yard. We could hear some squeaks from the trains, but nothing that kept us awake. There is covered parking; it's a tight squeeze for a mini-van when spaces are taken on either side, and when exiting the garage. Some spaces are reserved for fuel-efficient vehicles. Navigation problems probably exist for many hotels in the area because of the geography and traffic flow within the Beltway, but the hotel could help the visitor by providing illustrative maps, directions, and more signage on major thoroughfares.

The rooms have 2 queen beds in the sleeping area and a couch that makes into a bed in the work area. The couch opens into a small bed. It looked wider than twin, but not quite double; however, there was also a chaise forming an L with the couch and could be used for an adolescent. There is a partition between the work and sleeping area, but it is frosted glass so light in one area creates a glow in the other. The toilet and shower areas are separated by a closet that is large enough to change clothes in and has a light and luggage stand. The toilet area has a small sink and one towel knob, but no shelf for holding soap or toiletries. The shower area has a large shower with glass door, a sink with vanity and large mirror, outlets and 2 towel knobs (not enough for a family of four with bath towels, hand towels, wash clothes and clothing).

Both the toilet area and shower area had pocket doors that could not be latched--a little uncomfortable even for families. The toilet area door is solid, but the shower area door is frosted glass once again allowing light to create a glow in the room making a disturbance when one person is showering while others are in bed. Although the idea of these areas works on paper, it was awkward or inconvenient at times to move between the two areas while getting ready. There was a long mirror on the closet door and a large one over the dresser, but no lights or outlets nearby so rather useless.

As I said earlier the room was more than adequate, but the design is not the best for families traveling.

The breakfast is decent: hot and cold cereal with a variety of toppings, fruit (banana and apples), pastries and breads, pre-made waffles, yogurt, milk, coffee, juices, eggs and sausage.

I chose this place for the price thinking one suite for 5 related people would be cheaper than getting 2 rooms at another hotel and it was; however, it was not really different from one room elsewhere in either privacy or price and just a little more spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms 200-203 are secluded in a hallway close to elevator but separated from the elevator by ice/ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and our young adult children on a vacation to visit D.C. The hotel itself is nice. Rooms were clean and all of the staff was very nice. The free breakfast was stocked with the usual items. As another reviewer mentioned, the single toaster was slow and did create a bottleneck during busy times. Parking is free, and they do offer a free shuttle service to and from the Metro station and a few other locations nearby, which is a good thing since the closest restaurants and the Metro are about 1 mile away. The Metro is on the Yellow line and will take you about 1/2 hour to get to the National Mall. The rates are reasonable for the area and we found it to be an enjoyable place to stay, just a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family of four stayed here 2 nights recently on a sightseeing trip to DC. We have stayed here before so we knew what to expect. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The room was quiet and clean. I enjoyed having 2 separate areas for showering and the toilet area. Also, enjoyed the convenience of the fridge in the room. Loved the free parking too! Breakfast was fine, as well. No homemade waffle machines here, just premade ones you put in the toaster, but there was plenty of variety so that was fine. The only thing we wish were different: we requested an extra blanket and they said they did not have one because the hotel was sold out that night and they were all gone. Really? We may stay here again, mainly for the free parking and free breakfast and close access to metro, but there are a lot of choices in DC for Marriott hotels closer to the city. One more thing: we used GPS to get to the hotel from DC and it was pretty long drive and very circuitous and indirect. Not sure if that was a GPS problem or what, but check to see if there is a better way to get to the hotel if you are coming from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.