We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Torrance
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location for DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to DC. Great location for people traveling to DC. It was close enough to see everything but away enough to get away from it as well. Very nice hotel. Love that they have a separate sink/toilet and sink/shower. Gives you extra space. Also hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to area restaurants ad well as subway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    88
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
120
50
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel was new, clean, conveniently located (about 3 miles from the action on King St), and the workers at the hotel, right down to the maid service, were super friendly. They offered a shuttle to the Metro station (Eisenhower-yellow line) which helped us access DC without having to drive. Free breakfast was typical... unspectacular, but sufficient. No lounge (in case you like to have a night cap), but they sold beer and snacks and you were allowed to lounge in the lobby area if you so desired. Overall, a pleasant experience and we would use them again. One complaint would be that the hotel is difficult to locate at first (due to sign ordinances in Old Town). I would suggest using your GPS at least at the beginning of your stay. In case you have children, I noticed that there was a water park right down the road (may be a nice option on a hot summer day).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this Springhill Suites in the past, and returned. That should say something.

It's got a strange layout. It's first floor is up some stairs. The check-in was quick. We got to our room quickly. We stayed there four days, and enjoyed it.

The location is not within walking distance of Old Town, but there is a shuttle to take you there. If you need to go to the Metro, there is a Metro stop about .75 mile from the hotel. There is a large pay parking area, and some meters. It's actually not a bad walk.

Each room has a small microwave and a frig.

The workout room was pretty decent. However, there is no pool. There is a water park less than a mile away, but there is no hotel pool.

My only complaint is that whoever painted the lines for parking must have been painting them for motorcycles. The spaces are very narrow.

Will we stay again? Yes. It's a good hotel.

Room Tip: There isn't a scenic view unless you enjoy looking at the Metro trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
The hotel is conveniently located .7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro station which is located across from the Hoffman Center. Here you can find seven different restaurant options and a movie theater. Our complimentary shuttle service can quickly transport our guests upon request daily until 10:45PM. Hope this information will help for your next visit to the area. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here a week while my husband had business in the area. Had a king suite with fold out which worked well for our teen daughter. Free breakfast was good, lots of toppings for oatmeal was nice. Free wifi worked great the whole time. Enjoyed having free Wall Street Journal and USA Today as well. Free parking was much appreciated.
Staff was very friendly, especially Peter Gomez who checked us in the first night. He was helpful and knowledgeable about restaurants and area transportation. He was genuine and engaging. Seemed to enjoy his job and took plenty of time to make sure we had all our questions answered. He set the tone for our whole stay.
Free shuttle to metro was very helpful. Tip- if you are going to use Metro buy a plastic SmarTrip card instead of paper. It costs $2 but each trip on Metro using a paper card has a $1 surcharge. You can buy a SmarTrip card at machines in the station.
We took the Metro into DC several days easily and took in the monuments and memorials. Of special interest was the Newseum, an incredible news media related museum. Kids are free all summer and we spent a whole day there. A LOT to see and do.
We also discovered a fun cheese and wine restaurant called Cheesetique in Del Ray, a charming neighborhood in Alexandria. They have all kinds of cheese and wine, plus killer grilled cheese, etc. try the special one on cranberry walnut bread. It was amazing!
The only down side of this hotel was that the air conditioner in our room blew cold air right on one side of the bed. Inconvenient but not a big deal.
Overall this hotel offered us a great value for our time in Alexandria. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I am very glad that you and an amazing time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va beach va
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Was very pleaded with this hotel. No charge for parking or wifi & free breakfast. Staff very friendly & helpful. Close to everything, they have a shuttle that takes you to the Metro.
the breakfast was okay they need to thing about putting another toaster one toaster & it backs up when everybody comes down. Waffles are frozen would be nice to have a waffle machine. Coffee is god & available 24/7. They keep everything filled & dining room is clean.
You can park in the garage or outside. Rooms are clean & beds comfortable. Shower is separate from toilet which is nice. Would say there again. Hotel is off 95 but rooms are quite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had never been here before and based my visit on Tripadvisor and it was very nice. Peter and the whole staff were fantastic! Let me also mention the shuttle drivers, they were really friendly and extremely quick! The Metro Rail line in very close and it is a quick ride to DC and it is the ONLY way to go. Buy an unlimited day pass and you will be just fine. The hotel is close to lots of restaurants and the shuttle can get you to any of them in minutes. You will be glad you stayed here!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. Thank you very much for the compliments about the staff. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stayed here while visitng friends and taking in some of the sites in Washington DC. The hotel is really nice and modern. The rooms were very nice, modern, and spacious. It's also in great location because it's right next to the train station and they even have a shuttle that will drop you off. They also offer free parking, which is a big plus. We had a small issue with our air conditiioning in our room and when I called downstairs, they had someone come up within minutes to fix the issue. Later that night, the manager sent up a goodie bag with snacks for our kids and a personal note to apologize. This hotel knows the importance of customer serivice, and needless to say that my family will be staying here again the next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.