We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Spent a week here recently. The rooms are decently sized with modern styling. Unfortunately modern doesn't always translate to quality as many of the details indicate this is a budget hotel. For examples, the shower door didn't shut properly leaving the bathroom floor wet every day, lights don't always turn on/off, lots of noise from the hallway and the sofa bed mattress is horrible. The positives would be the free daily breakfast, room floor plan and location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    75
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
38
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has treated me very nicely in the past when visiting the Dc area....close to metro station with a shuttle service..nice room and esp the complimentary breakfast. There is also olde towne for shopping and dining out with a movie theatre. Great area to connect to surrounding Dc. My issue is with their customer service, after using their shuttle for the metro I was delayed due to metro service. Their only solution when I called the front desk from the metro was"I will give you a number to a taxi company." No other options, this probably wont keep me from future stays but I didn't care for the lack of assistance.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

From the moment you walk in. The open space and spiral staircase to front desk is so appealing. Of course you can take the elevator up but the entrance is so clean and neat. I love the rooms. Large, standard, simple and Super Clean. The staff are All so friendly and helpful. There are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops around along with a movies theaters. The breakfast area is clean and has a large selection of both hot and cold dishes. I will have this my hotel of choice when I revisit this location.

Room Tip: I had a very comfortable sleep in one of the King rooms on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved the hotel. I like the Springhill Suites for family travel because the rooms are spacious and the breakfast is usually pretty good. This place is no different. It is clean, modern and in an excellent location. If you are traveling to the DC area, this is a great option. There were lots of rowdy kids during my stay, but this is not the management's fault. The place was a bit difficult to reach because of some road changes that were not on my GPS. Be aware of this if you are using a GPS. The reason this hotel lost 1 point for me was because the parking lot was too small. I had some difficulty finding a space.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room was very nice and the beds comfortable, however the room location was not. We were facing out toward the metro train, which ran all night and kept us awake! Since it was only one night and the rate was reasonable we did not complain. The breakfast was not worth getting up early for!

Room Tip: avoid rooms that face out toward the metro.. very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the noise from the metro maintenance track across the street. We will ensure you receive a quiet room during your next stay. We typically recommend rooms at the end of the halls for light sleepers. Glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of September. We were on a girls trip to Washington DC. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel. It was definitely harder to find than the average hotel, and was not very well marked, as far as signs go. The room was set up strangely, with a living area, separated by a desk and a sliding window of sorts to the bedroom area.

When we arrived we had to check in and figure out how to get on the subway and get to our tour destination. The person at the front desk was unfortunately of no help. The hotel shuttle wasn't available either to take us to the Metro station, so we walked. Although it is walkable, it is still a little bit far. On the weekend they offer free parking right next to the Metro station, of which we took advantage.

The daily breakfast was definitely lacking. They were serving powdered scrambled eggs and some kind of meat daily. There was not a very good selection at all, and the area was always very crowded.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, just due to the location. I would want to stay somewhere closer to actual Old Town Alexandria. I do realize we'd have to pay extra for parking, but it would definitely be worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the street. There are trains that run on the side of the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. Our hotel was built as an upscale modern all suites property. Our guestrooms are designed with a European style in mind.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. Our food offerings change during the weekend vs. weekday. At peak breakfast hours guests tend to arrive at the same time to dine and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is really unobtrusive and a bit hard to find but it's awfully convenient to a lot of things, especially if you're doing stuff in Alexandria. The rooms are very comfortable and the weekend price is very good. You'll have a hard time finding anything more reasonable. Only drawback is the lack of a pool. The breakfast is above average. It's not the great buffet that's advertised but it's certainly better than the normal fare. It's really pretty quiet most of the time, and the area feels very safe. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are pleased that you experience this first hand and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.