We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Lancaster, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room was very nice and the beds comfortable, however the room location was not. We were facing out toward the metro train, which ran all night and kept us awake! Since it was only one night and the rate was reasonable we did not complain. The breakfast was not worth getting up early for!

Room Tip: avoid rooms that face out toward the metro.. very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the noise from the metro maintenance track across the street. We will ensure you receive a quiet room during your next stay. We typically recommend rooms at the end of the halls for light sleepers. Glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    83
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
116
46
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of September. We were on a girls trip to Washington DC. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel. It was definitely harder to find than the average hotel, and was not very well marked, as far as signs go. The room was set up strangely, with a living area, separated by a desk and a sliding window of sorts to the bedroom area.

When we arrived we had to check in and figure out how to get on the subway and get to our tour destination. The person at the front desk was unfortunately of no help. The hotel shuttle wasn't available either to take us to the Metro station, so we walked. Although it is walkable, it is still a little bit far. On the weekend they offer free parking right next to the Metro station, of which we took advantage.

The daily breakfast was definitely lacking. They were serving powdered scrambled eggs and some kind of meat daily. There was not a very good selection at all, and the area was always very crowded.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, just due to the location. I would want to stay somewhere closer to actual Old Town Alexandria. I do realize we'd have to pay extra for parking, but it would definitely be worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the street. There are trains that run on the side of the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. Our hotel was built as an upscale modern all suites property. Our guestrooms are designed with a European style in mind.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. Our food offerings change during the weekend vs. weekday. At peak breakfast hours guests tend to arrive at the same time to dine and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is really unobtrusive and a bit hard to find but it's awfully convenient to a lot of things, especially if you're doing stuff in Alexandria. The rooms are very comfortable and the weekend price is very good. You'll have a hard time finding anything more reasonable. Only drawback is the lack of a pool. The breakfast is above average. It's not the great buffet that's advertised but it's certainly better than the normal fare. It's really pretty quiet most of the time, and the area feels very safe. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are pleased that you experience this first hand and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night. There was plenty of free parking, and there was a nice elevator that took you from the main floor to the hotel lobby. The hotel is clean, fresh and very modern. Check-in was a breeze and took less than three minutes. We were given a room on the first floor which was nicely decorated. I enjoyed the amenities, layout and amount of space. The bed and pillows were super comfortable, and the shower was great. As for some of the negatives...there is a "business center," which is essentially two computers on a wall-mounted table in the hallway with a printer in the middle. We needed to print something relatively important, and the printer was low on ink. Right next to the computers is a small area with hot water and coffee dispensers, including plenty of sugar and creamer, cups, napkins and straws. We saw a large group getting coffee late in the evening, and when I went to grab some myself, all of the dispensers were empty. I also decided to grab some snacks from the small convenience store near the reception desk. After placing the items I wished to purchase on the counter, the woman behind the desk proceeded to check my items, then handed me a bag to place them in. Basic customer service calls for you to do that for me. Breakfast the following morning was decent, but nothing spectacular. There were breads, muffins and small hot items to choose from. We didn't use the gym during our stay, but I peeked in the room and found all of the standard exercise equipment and weights in what seemed to be good working order. It was very clean and had plenty of water and fresh towels. The hotel itself is awesome, but there are some improvements needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken out of your vacation to share your feedback with us.

All your comments are very important to us and we can assure you that measures have been taken in order to avoid the issues mentioned in your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and for not being able to exceed your expectations so far. Our main goal is to create memorable experiences for our guests and we do hope that at the end of your stay this is reached.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed Thu 10/3-Mon 10/7. This is a Wonderful place to stay. We were in town to visit grandkids and to explore bike trails. Breakfast buffets of scrambled eggs, ham or sausage, salsa, oatmeal, cereals, hard boiled eggs, pastries, breads, juice meant ease of eating 'paleo'. Muffins on Saturday & Sunday were mass produced and plastic sealed versus ones on Fri & Mon in paper cups, seemingly locally produced. The room had outlets for all 3 computer chargers, both cell phone chargers and CPAP machine (for sleep apnea) and had outlets left over! As others mentioned, A/C was overwhelming until fan control was switched to 'Auto' from 'On'. It would be nice if there were more hooks for hanging wet clothes and towels and if there were a soap dish in the bathroom

Room Tip: North side rooms face Metro rail yard with squeals on turns and 'clacks' over joints. South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I came to the D.C. area for the birth of a new grandson. We were at the Springfield Suites for 11 days and the service was great. Our location was a short drive to my son's home and there were plenty of good eating establishments nearby. You can use their shuttle to get to the metro stations and some of the local eating places. Plenty of FREE parking both inside and outside. Breakfast was very good and the staff was great. It's nice to come to the desk and be greeted by your own name. Quite impressive!!

Room Tip: The garage is easier to use if you drive a smaller vehicle. SUV's get a little tight inside. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, etc. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Free shuttle to the Metro and free parking are a BIG plus. Breakfast was typical. Overall, an excellent stay. Only drawback, no pool. With temperatures in the high 80's, that would have been nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.