We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I came to the D.C. area for the birth of a new grandson. We were at the Springfield Suites for 11 days and the service was great. Our location was a short drive to my son's home and there were plenty of good eating establishments nearby. You can use their shuttle to get to the metro stations and some of the local eating places. Plenty of FREE parking both inside and outside. Breakfast was very good and the staff was great. It's nice to come to the desk and be greeted by your own name. Quite impressive!!

Room Tip: The garage is easier to use if you drive a smaller vehicle. SUV's get a little tight inside. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    98
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
124
57
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, etc. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Free shuttle to the Metro and free parking are a BIG plus. Breakfast was typical. Overall, an excellent stay. Only drawback, no pool. With temperatures in the high 80's, that would have been nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great customer service here. Very friendly, very accommodating. Also had a shuttle that took us down the street a few blocks to an area that has a choice of 3-4 good eating places and a movie theatre. Great location. Rooms very exceptionally clean and well laid out. Air conditioning very slightly on the noisy side, but not enough to prevent sleeping. Covered and uncovered free parking definitely a plus in this expensive city. Breakfast buffet as expected, and plenty of seating for a crowd.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 nite Sept 18. Visiting Washington DC and stayed at this hotel south of the Capital. Excellent location, just west of the Old Town. Breakfast was quite good...no issues and free coffee all day. 5 mins by free shuttle to Metro Station. Hotel had indoor/outdoor parking. The only thing lacking was a pool and hot tub. Previous reviewer excellent. Would definitely recommend for all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were looking for a nice but inexpensive hotel without huge parking fees and because we didn´t find that in Washington, we decided on this hotel. Parking was free, the location was not too far away from Washington and the neighborhood felt safe. Our room was very nice with a huge glass door shower and the toilet in an extra room. There was kind of a living room area with a sofa sleeper for our children that was separated from the bedroom. There was a microwave. Breakfast was the best we´ve had ever in the USA - there were different kinds of sliced cheese and even ham, lots of fresh fruit and the standard breakfast items you find everywhere. The hotel had a guest laundry and complimentary coffee throughout the day. The staff at reception was very friendly and welcoming. On Sunday morning the breakfast area was too small for all the guests but we found seating outside. Should I return to DC, I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wanted to stay outside of DC but close enough to everything to get in and tour. This place was just perfect. Free parking, breakfast and wifi, clean and comfortable, everything i am looking for in a hotel.

Our room had a neat feature, the toilet and the shower were in separate bathrooms, each with its own sink!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thanks to other reviews at Tripadvisor I chose to stay at Springhilll Suites in Alexandra on Eisenhower with my family for a few days early September 2013. I literally spent days doing research.

Free Breakfast
Free Parking
Free Internet
and at a spectcular place. You can not beat that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We stayed in 2 rooms and they were able to be next to each other with a joining door so we were able to go back and forth through the rooms. The hotel staff were nice and accomodating. The rooms were spacious, updated, clean, and the beds were oh so extremely comfortable. It was unique that the shower was seperate than the bathroom which was great so you could use both at different times. We noticed downstairs there was a laundry place to do laundry and a gym. Laundry was a great idea if you needed to wash something. The rooms were kept cleaned and honestly absolutley NO issues. There is a little small place to shop for drinks and small snacks downstairs and breakfast is served every morning. Breakfast was fresh and good and plenty to go around for everyone. You could even sit outside on the deck to have a nice am cup of coffee.

There is a shuttle to take you to Eisenhower Train Station but we opted to leave our car there. Note I dont think its walking distance to Hotel to train station but there is shuttle first come first serve and I saw alot of people using it.
There is parking outside and inside parking. It is a secure facility. One evening we came back exhausted from D.C. and just could not go out for dinner so we asked the hotel if they had any recommend places we could order takeout and they did.

That came in handy and we were grateful.

I really hope this hotel does not change. PLEASE do not change! :)

I 100% would recommend and I plan on coming back to do a part II D.C. trip!

Thanks Springhill--- from my family to yours-- we LOVED staying at your hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.