We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandria, Virginia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Alexandria, Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 nite Sept 18. Visiting Washington DC and stayed at this hotel south of the Capital. Excellent location, just west of the Old Town. Breakfast was quite good...no issues and free coffee all day. 5 mins by free shuttle to Metro Station. Hotel had indoor/outdoor parking. The only thing lacking was a pool and hot tub. Previous reviewer excellent. Would definitely recommend for all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    78
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
41
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NRW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were looking for a nice but inexpensive hotel without huge parking fees and because we didn´t find that in Washington, we decided on this hotel. Parking was free, the location was not too far away from Washington and the neighborhood felt safe. Our room was very nice with a huge glass door shower and the toilet in an extra room. There was kind of a living room area with a sofa sleeper for our children that was separated from the bedroom. There was a microwave. Breakfast was the best we´ve had ever in the USA - there were different kinds of sliced cheese and even ham, lots of fresh fruit and the standard breakfast items you find everywhere. The hotel had a guest laundry and complimentary coffee throughout the day. The staff at reception was very friendly and welcoming. On Sunday morning the breakfast area was too small for all the guests but we found seating outside. Should I return to DC, I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wanted to stay outside of DC but close enough to everything to get in and tour. This place was just perfect. Free parking, breakfast and wifi, clean and comfortable, everything i am looking for in a hotel.

Our room had a neat feature, the toilet and the shower were in separate bathrooms, each with its own sink!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thanks to other reviews at Tripadvisor I chose to stay at Springhilll Suites in Alexandra on Eisenhower with my family for a few days early September 2013. I literally spent days doing research.

Free Breakfast
Free Parking
Free Internet
and at a spectcular place. You can not beat that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We stayed in 2 rooms and they were able to be next to each other with a joining door so we were able to go back and forth through the rooms. The hotel staff were nice and accomodating. The rooms were spacious, updated, clean, and the beds were oh so extremely comfortable. It was unique that the shower was seperate than the bathroom which was great so you could use both at different times. We noticed downstairs there was a laundry place to do laundry and a gym. Laundry was a great idea if you needed to wash something. The rooms were kept cleaned and honestly absolutley NO issues. There is a little small place to shop for drinks and small snacks downstairs and breakfast is served every morning. Breakfast was fresh and good and plenty to go around for everyone. You could even sit outside on the deck to have a nice am cup of coffee.

There is a shuttle to take you to Eisenhower Train Station but we opted to leave our car there. Note I dont think its walking distance to Hotel to train station but there is shuttle first come first serve and I saw alot of people using it.
There is parking outside and inside parking. It is a secure facility. One evening we came back exhausted from D.C. and just could not go out for dinner so we asked the hotel if they had any recommend places we could order takeout and they did.

That came in handy and we were grateful.

I really hope this hotel does not change. PLEASE do not change! :)

I 100% would recommend and I plan on coming back to do a part II D.C. trip!

Thanks Springhill--- from my family to yours-- we LOVED staying at your hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love the new design of the Springhill Suites - this is the second property we stayed at this summer with the newly designed rooms. The separation of the toilet and shower rooms is design genius for rooms that are designed to accomodate up to 4 people!

Stayed at this property for one night to not only drop daughter off at college but to catch a Nationals vs Mets game at Nats Stadium. Check-in easy and room ready when we arrived around 1 pm -- room had 2 very comfortable queen beds and sofa -- lots of room for 4 of us. If you're a light sleeper you may want to request room overlooking the parking lot -- the metro trains are kind of loud when they are rolling into station -- didn't bother me but husband heard every squeaking brake!

When we got back from the game, our room was very warm despite a/c bing set pretty low -- one call to front desk and someone was up in minutes to reset the unit and all was fine.

Didn't use metro/shuttle -- drove to Nats Stadium -- good location close to highway but GPS very helpful since can be confusing warren of highways. As another reviewer noted the hotel is not marked very well from the street -- definitely needs some signage. Also, there isn't anything close by in terms of restaurants, 7-11 type places to grab quick bite.

We had no problems with breakfast at all -- it did seem like there was a college team there since we saw their bus but they certainly didn't overwhelm the breakfast area and all the food was kept stocked and the area clean. Very nice dining area and selection.

Will continue to look for redesigned Springhill Suites -- they are perfect when traveling with kids and their value can't be beaten!

Oh one more thing - -this must be the only Springhill Suites we've ever stayed at that didn't have a pool! The fitness room is nice though :)

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you may want to ask for room overlooking the parking lot -- the Metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a fairly brand new building. Everything was clean and updated.
The room accomodations far exceeded the price that we had paid:
- Bed: new and comfortable
- Bathroom: there's a separate toilet room with its own wash area so one can take care of his business while his partner is washing up in the other bathroom
- Living area: sectioned off from the 'bedroom' so one can work or even watch TV while the other sleeps
Now for the reason why this place lacks the '5-star' rating - breakfast:
- It is not exactly as the Marketing brochure suggests
- The eggs were in some kind of chunks, cubes, as if mass produced several weeks ago at some industrial factory
- Waffles are not available
- Coffee could be stronger, much stronger
- I've had much better breakfast at Holiday Inn
That being said, however, I would most definitely recommend staying at this hotel, especially if you could book it at $99.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay at the SpringHill Suites near the Old Town - the room was a decent size, beds were comfortable, liked the partially-split room arrangement with the desk area and the separate toilet/shower areas were terrific for the four of us to split up to get ready in the mornings.

Breakfast was of a good variety and we always had more than enough to eat. No, it's not gourmet, but it's certainly more decent than your average two-star 'continental' breakfast that you'd find at most Days Inns, Comfort Inns, etc. My only wish would be to have a little more variety from day to day such as scrambled eggs one day, something different (i.e. French toast) the next day. Not much to complain about, really.

For what I paid for our room, we got far more than what we expected. The biggest issue was that the hotel wasn't easy to find at first - the SpringHill Suites sign is at the back, only visible from the road if you were coming from the west on Eisenhower, but if you were coming from the east, it would have been easy to miss it and keep going on the road. I would strongly suggest for the hotel to get a more visible sign by the road or at least slap the "SpringHill Suites" logo at the top of the building facing Eisenhower instead of only facing the highway. If you don't have a GPS, do be sure to get complete directions from the hotel at first because going from the Old Town to the hotel can be confusing if you're going from Duke St. to Eisenhower as there's a bunch of turns (including a very abrupt turn right off the thruway that you won't see until the very last moment at a pretty high rate of speed).

Definitely a hotel worth staying at and I will definitely stay there again now that I am completely familiar with how to get around the area.

Room Tip: Get detailed directions if you don't have GPS - and even with a GPS, ask for directions using th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are pleased that you experience this first hand and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.