We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird Layout - No Pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weird Layout - No Pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband & I were traveling with two grandchildren. At check-in I was advised that the hotel would not accept gift cards because we had booked the AAA rate. The hotel is fairly new & clean. Staff is friendly. We opted for the metro into DC so that the kids could experience it, which would have been fine if it hadn't taken 30 minutes & 2 phone calls to get the hotel shuttle to come back to get us when we returned. The included breakfast was poor; too crowded and they kept running out of food. The kids were very disappointed that there was no pool. We will definitely not stay at this Marriott property again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our shuttle service. We have one nine passenger van that services two hotels. At peak travel times and a wait can form. The hotel does except Marriott gift cards. There are several different types of gift cards, if you read the back of the cards they specify toward what type of rates they can be applied. Our hotel was built without a swimming pool, however in turn we have one of the largest health clubs in the brand. As an alternative we recommend our guest enjoy the local water park ½ mile down the street. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. At peak breakfast hours and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Guest satisfaction is out top priority. Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round, so your comments have already been forwarded to concerned departments in order to rectify the points that you have described. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    78
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
41
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip to DC with my sisters and nephews. The hotel was great and the staff very accommodating. Plenty of room for the entire crew (5). We opted for driving to the metro station instead of taking the complimentary shuttle. Though you can easily walk there. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side of the hotel. You can hear the metro (slightly) on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrifield, Virginia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here overnight for a job interview. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The layout is a little odd as it looks like it has no main entrance. Also in the hotel room the bathroom set up is odd. The restroom is in one location and not connected to the shower area. So depending on who you are sharing a room with this could be a little inconvenient. Also if you are sensitive to noise there is a lot of train and automobile traffic, which kept me up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. Our hotel was built with as an upscale modern all suites property. Our bathrooms are designed with a European style in mind. One side of our hotel does face a train repair station. If you are a light sleeper we recommend to request for the parking lot side of the hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and for not being able to exceed your expectations so far. Our main goal is to create memorable experiences for our guests and we do hope that at the end of your stay this is reached.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were good for relaxing. Close to the Eisenhower Metro stop, but not too close. The shuttle can take you there and pick you up. One should probably stop at a walmart well before one gets there to get things like snacks and drinks as even convenience stores are few and far between in this area. We stayed around the 4th of July so things were a little on the hectic side, but nothing caused us any trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at a Spring Hill Suites, and I was generally impressed. The beds were relatively comfortable, there was excellent access to DC, and the continental breakfast was adequate, although not one of the better ones I have experienced. There were a few downsides, however. First, the showers have a stupid system in order to change from the bath function to the shower function. What you have to do is to pull down on the end of the faucet where the water comes out, and that engages the shower. It took quite a while to figure that one out. Second, the toilet in our room continually refilled itself, making a lot of noise every ten minutes or so. Third, the bathrooms had sliders rather than real doors. I guess it looks a bit more artistic, but at the cost of function. On the positive side, the Wi-Fi connection was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would call this a good hotel, but not a great one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here a couple weeks ago while visiting the area for a sporting event. We stayed a few nights in a double queen and have absolutely no complaints. Though the hotel was packed, it was quiet at night when rest was needed.

Breakfast in the am was standard and had an assorted items for everyone. Plenty of coffee or tea as well. Rooms were super clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was the AC was on a saver type mode while you are not in the room. It does cool down after a bit, but we had to figure that out after a couple calls to the front desk. The service however, was top notch. Everyone at the front was always courteous and helpful.

Overall a great place and we would return. Not to mention free parking and close to the metro. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights while visiting Washington, DC. This hotel has a great location, just a little over a half a mile (an easy walk!) to the metro station that takes you straight down town. It's also close to several restaurants and a movie theater. The rooms are comfortably appointed with lots of room. We are a family of five, and stayed in one room - two double beds and a fold out couch. Love the microwave and refrigerators in ever room, the little kitchenette was perfect for keeping a few snacks in at night. The hotel staff was very friendly.

This hotel does offer a free breakfast each morning, but it's not the best. Only breakfast bar I've ever seen that doesn't include bacon! But overall, an easy place to stay for families touring the washington DC area!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
The hotel is conveniently located .7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro station southwest of Old Town Alexandria. Our complimentary shuttle service can quickly transport our guests to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria is a short five minute metro ride away to the King Street Station. There is a free trolley service that runs up and down King Street as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.