We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Cedar Grove, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were good for relaxing. Close to the Eisenhower Metro stop, but not too close. The shuttle can take you there and pick you up. One should probably stop at a walmart well before one gets there to get things like snacks and drinks as even convenience stores are few and far between in this area. We stayed around the 4th of July so things were a little on the hectic side, but nothing caused us any trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    74
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
98
38
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at a Spring Hill Suites, and I was generally impressed. The beds were relatively comfortable, there was excellent access to DC, and the continental breakfast was adequate, although not one of the better ones I have experienced. There were a few downsides, however. First, the showers have a stupid system in order to change from the bath function to the shower function. What you have to do is to pull down on the end of the faucet where the water comes out, and that engages the shower. It took quite a while to figure that one out. Second, the toilet in our room continually refilled itself, making a lot of noise every ten minutes or so. Third, the bathrooms had sliders rather than real doors. I guess it looks a bit more artistic, but at the cost of function. On the positive side, the Wi-Fi connection was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would call this a good hotel, but not a great one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here a couple weeks ago while visiting the area for a sporting event. We stayed a few nights in a double queen and have absolutely no complaints. Though the hotel was packed, it was quiet at night when rest was needed.

Breakfast in the am was standard and had an assorted items for everyone. Plenty of coffee or tea as well. Rooms were super clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was the AC was on a saver type mode while you are not in the room. It does cool down after a bit, but we had to figure that out after a couple calls to the front desk. The service however, was top notch. Everyone at the front was always courteous and helpful.

Overall a great place and we would return. Not to mention free parking and close to the metro. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights while visiting Washington, DC. This hotel has a great location, just a little over a half a mile (an easy walk!) to the metro station that takes you straight down town. It's also close to several restaurants and a movie theater. The rooms are comfortably appointed with lots of room. We are a family of five, and stayed in one room - two double beds and a fold out couch. Love the microwave and refrigerators in ever room, the little kitchenette was perfect for keeping a few snacks in at night. The hotel staff was very friendly.

This hotel does offer a free breakfast each morning, but it's not the best. Only breakfast bar I've ever seen that doesn't include bacon! But overall, an easy place to stay for families touring the washington DC area!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
The hotel is conveniently located .7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro station southwest of Old Town Alexandria. Our complimentary shuttle service can quickly transport our guests to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria is a short five minute metro ride away to the King Street Station. There is a free trolley service that runs up and down King Street as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've just got back from a 2 week tour around the North East coast of the USA staying in many budget level hotels and motels, and this was BY FAR the best! Don't hesitate to book if you're in the area and want somewhere nice and welcoming to stay, especially if you're used to the roller coaster of risk that is booking more economical hotels!!

Location wise, it's easy to find off the freeways but beware that they are in the process of rerouting a lot of the local junctions and our Sat Nav which is a few years old got very confused! Just aim for Eisenhower Ave and you can't go wrong. The hotel is a 10 min walk from Eisenhower Ave metro station which is one short stop from old town Alexandria and 20mins or so from the main historical sites in D.C. There is a free shuttle from the hotel but its a really easy walk on wide footpaths so we walked each time.

Hotel wise, the room was lovely and large with a big comfy sofa (that converts into a bed) and I really like having somewhere other than the bed to sit when you're staying away. The bathroom is split into toilet/small sink in one room and shower/vanity area with large sink in the other. I much prefer this as it means one of us can be using the loo whilst the other is in the shower! Bed was comfy, air con fantastic, wifi worked great and was speedy, and housekeeping were faultless.

The hotel also has a small gym, laundry facilities, and free plentiful coffee at all times at the bottom of the elevators. There is a small shop area for all your essential needs and snacks, and Car parking is free and plentiful, with some in a garage so the car isn't baking when you get in it. Free breakfast is one of the best free breakfasts I've had, lots of variety (3 different types of bagel!) just watch for long queues and rude people who think they are too important to wait in line with everyone else!

Would highly recommend, and will definitely stay again if I'm ever in the D.C. area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We wanted a hotel outside of DC but close to the Metro. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice, quite, and comfortable this hotel was. Everyone was friendly and we felt at home in the hotel. The free shuttle to the Metro was also appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.

Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was very close to the Eisenhower Avenue metro station and the hotel even provided free shuttle services on request. Free breakfast was also great even though it got crowded if you go down later. The staff was very nice and friendly. The only issues I had with it were the pillows, which gave me a stiff neck. But I might have just gotten a bad one. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.