We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice and close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We wanted a hotel outside of DC but close to the Metro. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice, quite, and comfortable this hotel was. Everyone was friendly and we felt at home in the hotel. The free shuttle to the Metro was also appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.

Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    74
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
98
38
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was very close to the Eisenhower Avenue metro station and the hotel even provided free shuttle services on request. Free breakfast was also great even though it got crowded if you go down later. The staff was very nice and friendly. The only issues I had with it were the pillows, which gave me a stiff neck. But I might have just gotten a bad one. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel near Old Town and we found this jewel only about 5 minutes from King Street which is the main street in Old Town. It is a clean new contemporary hotel on quite street. The breakfast area is outstanding and well maintained even when the hotel is full. Rooms are well designed and plenty of room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I brought a group of high school students to the D.C. area. We were primarily there for a competition that was being held at a different hotel. I'm glad we instead chose to stay at the SpringHill Suites. We paid less and got more than we would have at the hotel where the competition was being held.

Rates here are really amazing compared to other places. I've paid more than $100 for a night at an Econolodge in Arlington with very basic rooms. For about the same price, the SpringHill Suites offers far more.

The hotel is well located. It's easy to get to from the Capital Beltway (though realize it is the Eisenhower Connector exit you want, not the Telegraph Road exit, which is closer but doesn't actually provide access to the hotel). It's also convenient to the Eisenhower metro station. We mostly walked to the metro (a straight shot and 15 - 20 minutes of walking time), but on a rainy day we took the hotel shuttle, which is constantly available and takes about 10 minutes in traffic.

Entry to the hotel is a bit odd. The lobby is up one level from the parking lot, either by a rather grand staircase or an elevator. Different elevators or stairs lead to the guest rooms above.

The surrounding area is frankly boring. It's a mix of residential (condo units), offices, and warehouses. There's almost no stores or restaurants anywhere nearby. Even near the metro station, this part of Alexandria is surprisingly devoid of business. This was actually OK with a group of kids (since it kept them out of trouble), but prospective guests may want to know you'll need to leave the area to do almost anything. We ended up having three different meals at a Subway near the metro station (which was also near the hotel where our competition was), as there were few other options. There is a nice hiking and bike trail just outside the hotel that connects with a network all over northern Virginia.

We had a problem at check-in with our payment. This was really Marriott's fault, rather than the hotel's, and it was eventually resolved. In spite of that issue all the staff we dealt with at the hotel were very accommodating. It was especially good for our entire group to be able to store luggage at the hotel after check-out and reclaim it well into the afternoon. They were also very helpful with requests for extra towels and toiletries.

The rooms were immaculate and very modern in design. In addition to the main beds, each has a large sectional couch that converts to an additional bed. I slept on one of the couches, and it was actually quite comfortable. Our room faced the metro tracks, but it was well insulated and very quiet.

As others have said, the room set-up is a bit strange. For a group, it was very convenient to have the toilet and sink/shower area separate. However, the sliding doors that access these facilities were just weird. Some rooms had only showers, while others had tub/shower combos. The TVs are also positioned oddly, in such a way that they are difficult to see from both the sitting and sleeping areas of the rooms.

Wireless internet access is free. It was not the fastest, but it did the job. Wired internet is also available for those who care to connect that way. The hotel also features fitness facilities. Some of our group used these and liked them. Many of the kids wished there was a pool, which unfortunately is not available at this location.

The elevators here seem to get a work-out. There's almost always a wait for them. Our kids often found it quicker to just run up the stairs to the fourth floor rather than waiting for an elevator.

While I've had better breakfasts at other SpringHill Suites locations, the one offered here was fine. There is a wide variety of selections (eggs, meat, fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, waffles, etc.), so everyone in our group was able to find something to eat. There was plenty of seating in the lobby area to accommodate large crowds at breakfast. They also have coffee (very good coffee at that), tea, and hot chocolate available 24 hours a day off the lobby.

The lobby makes a nice place for groups to congregate throughout the day. It is large and inviting, and several people enjoyed spending time there as an alternative to being in their rooms.

While I booked this location mostly because of price, I'm glad we made the decision to stay here. It worked very well for us, and it would be a good choice for families or groups wanting to explore the D.C. area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What else could you want? A very clean, modern room that sleeps 4 comfortably...free breakfast...free parking...free WiFi...a 1/2 mile walk to metro-they have a free shuttle but we walked each day. I requested a Pack & Play for my grandson online and it was already set up when we arrived. Big walk-in shower in separate room from toilet. My only complaint was the lack of locks on both rooms as my daughter almost walked in on me thinking I was in the other room. Breakfasts were good. Staff did a good job of keeping up with crowds. I will stay here again when visiting Alexandria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. Yours in Hospitality – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The layout of the room is indeed a bit odd, but it didn't bother us at all. Being that it was just my wife and I, we did not mind that your privacy in the shower/restroom is limited by the sliding doors with no locks. The breakfast was spectacular, and the staff were all top notch. We couldn't get over how clean the facilities were, and how nice the hotel staff was. There was a particularly friendly gentlemen that we dealt with on a couple of occasions that was without a doubt the nicest, and friendliest person we met the entire trip. At one point we were low on toilet paper, we asked this gentlemen at the front desk if we could get some, they literally took off in a sprint to get us what we needed. It is very close to a metro stop, and right off of many of the main roads that feed into DC. My wife will have a hard time trying to talk me into staying anywhere else when we go back to DC in the future. Again, these rooms are extremely clean and modern, especially for the price we paid! Did I mention that I slept GREAT?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and we fully agree with the title! We love having you stay with us and are always excited when our guests make a return visit. Thank you so much and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Well worth $$, Fabulous breakfast. Complimentary shuttle to metro always there when needed. Staff friendly, pleasant, and helpful. Very cleanly. Extremely happy with our stay! We will definitely recommend and use again. Rooms so nice and really modern.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and we fully agree with the title
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.