We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed three nights last week in a delightful king suite. Everything about the room is great--bed, bathroom, sitting area, computer work station, just all really nice. Housekeeping was exceptional. All the staff at front desk were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety making it possible to find what you want. Free parking and internet are both nice things. Complementary shuttle to nearby Eisenhower Metro station was very nice, but there are also good sidewalks which make the .7 mile walk very easy if you wish to do that. After touring DC during the day it is just a ten minute drive from the hotel to Old Town Alexandria where there are many, many wonderful restaurants to choose from on King St. (There is a great parking garage on South Pitt St with a $2 maximum after 5:00pm. Don't drive round and round looking for a place on the street, just go to that garage and make your life much easier).

Driving to DC from the South, as we do, it is very easy to get to this hotel. We got what I feel was a very fair rate by booking through the Springhill Suites website. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the Eisenhower Ave side of the building and the noise from trains was a little annoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    66
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
90
33
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel worked perfectly for us. The shuttle to the Metro Station was always available when we needed it, even though it was a busy time. Breakfast was great, though sometimes understocked. The room size (King Suite) worked well for my husband, son, & myself. I can understand how the non-locking doors in the toliet & shower rooms would be problematic for families with older kids or friends traveling together, but it didn't present a problem for us. The free parking was wonderful and the front desk staff was courteous (though a little harried - again, we stayed during a very busy time). Our room was on the train side of the building, but the noise didn't bother us. (Full disclosure: we live near tracks at home so we're used to train noise.) We were more bothered by the noise of other guests' doors slamming late into the night and early in the morning. For some reason, the room doors were really heavy and quick to slam. We would definitely stay here again - the only major drawback was that there was no pool. But there's so much to do in the DC area, we didn't really miss it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went away for a girls weekend in DC and decided to stay here because the hotel touted a free shuttle to the Metro station. The hotel offers free parking and a continental breakfast was included which was decent but not anything delicious. Other complained about the sound but I didn't hear anything except the teenage band kids surrounding us. The doors are not insulated at all and you can hear everything in the halls. We called numerous times to complain. We finally had to go to the chaperone ourselves and then they quieted down. The next day they did add points to my reward card but it still was very annoying. Also the shuttle does not run after 10 and there are no cabs there. We luckily saw one as we were walking. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. We also liked that the shower is in a separate room from the bathroom.

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor away from the train side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your feeback! I sincerely apologize about the noisy kids on your floor. We will ensure you are placed in a quiet room during your next visit. Our shuttle runs Monday – Friday from 6AM – 10:45PM and Saturday and Sunday 7AM – 10:45. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours and we are always available to send cabs to the metro should you arrive past the last pick up time. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just a quick overnight and I was sold at this new property. Be aware it is not within walking distance to metro or any shops. Breakfast, fitness room, staff was great. Accomodations were clean, modern and very well thought out (great use of space) Looking forward to another stay in when visiting the DC metro area.

Room Tip: Room not facing I495 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Right off the beltway, free indoor parking, free breakfast, and free shuttle to the Metro and local restaurants. What more could one ask for? The breakfast is above par with separate stations for coffee, waffle making, and cereals, thus avoiding crowding. Used the shuttle several times. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes. Cleanliness was outstanding, both in the room and in public areas. I had to ask if the hotel was brand new. No, it's a couple of years old.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wow what a wonderful hotel... the rooms are beautiful and very European. The beautiful use of glass is great. Swell hot breakfast too... JUST ONE THING.. Get a south facing room... the rooms on the north (ours) face a commuter train area. We heard trains all night..

Room Tip: Get a room on the south Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the noise from the metro maintenance track across the street. We will ensure you receive a quiet room during your next stay. We typically recommend rooms at the end of the halls for light sleepers. Glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The decor was very modern. The room was better than we expected, very comfortable and large. The staff were very nice and helpful. The pricing was excellent for the DC area. It is a short drive to Old Town for the shops and restaurants. The Metro (very user friendly) is a half mile away from the hotel but the hotel provides shuttle service. They should probably consider a second shuttle bus at peak time since it services another Marriot and local shops. A few times there were way too many folks who had to wait for the return of the van.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list