We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and well decorated, however it's located in a black hole.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very modern and well decorated, however it's located in a black hole.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The furnishings and room set up of this hotel are my favorite of any Marriott chain I have stayed at across the country. The room size is smaller than some other Marriott Suites, but the layout maximizes the space. Lots of clean lines, frosted glass, and blue/green aqua themed modern art makes it feel more like a Modern High Efficiency European Apartment than a boring hotel room. I found myself getting a lot of work done at night in the hotel because I was able to comfortably set up my laptop and watch TV at the same time.

The work out room is spacious and has a larger variety of equipment than your standard Marriott chain. I found myself spending more time in the gym because it didn't feel like a cramped janitor's closet like a lot of hotels. There is a running/bike path that runs alongside the creek/metro drainage canal for those who want to beat the pavement during nice weather.

My only complaint is the location. Marriott advertises this as "Olde Town/Southwest" which is a stretch, its a 30 minute walk to the Metro stop, Duke Street Trolly, or a Restaurant. If you are getting around by car it's an okay location, as it is has easy access to the interstate, but the point of Old Town Alex is you can walk or take the trolly anywhere. At this hotel your stuck in an old industrial zone sandwiched between the metro line and the interstate and on that note I did get awoken a few times due to train and highway noise. One upside, the remote location makes it safe and crime free.

Overall I due enjoy staying at this hotel, but I tend to gravitate towards Old Town hotels even if they aren't as nice looking, just for the location. If you aren't into walking around Old Town, this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for your feedback. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service that can drop off and pick up guests at local restaurants and business within a five mile radius. The shuttle also goes to the Eisenhower Metro station (quarter mile from the hotel) which can take you directly into Washington D.C. Our shuttle service can also drop off guests at the nearby Hoffman Center (quarter of a mile from hotel) where there are seven different restaurants and a movie theater. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest a room on the parking lot side of the hotel that does not face the metro repair station. You cannot hear any noise from the station on the parking lot side. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    80
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
114
44
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I guess it is to be expected that a suite hotel with a pull out sofa would attract groups with a lot of kids, but you would think the hotel would not put senior citizens on the same floor as a bunch of 10 to 12 year old cheerleaders. Never have I stayed in a hotel that allowed kids to bounce from room to room and have races up and down the halls. The parents had no respect either. I felt like I was the bad guy for complaining about the unruly children AND adults.
The breakfast was just barely ok, not what I'm used to at at Marriott hotel.
The bathroom had hair all over the floor, but other than that it seemed clean enough.
The location of the hotel is not good, but free parking makes up for the location.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the parking area and not the train tracks. Ask for a room that's not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize the cheerleader group disturbed you during your stay. It is best to report all noise complaints. We have procedures in place to address these types of issues. After 10 PM we have a “quite time” zone in place. We are allowed to ask that all guests maintain a minimal noise level. We have nightly security that patrols the guest floors throughout the night. I apologize we were not able to meet your needs and would love to offer you some type of compensation. Please contact the hotel directly 703-317-0013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Chose this hotel site unseen due to price. No disappointment here., the hotel was clean, new and stylish. Free parking was a plus. The rooms where modern and well appointed. Rooms were quiet even though the hotel is located very close to major highways. Close to the Metro stations, but not within walking distance. Nothing was within walking distance, so this is not a good choice if you don't have a vehicle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving, 2012 for a little family trip to DC. It was a great hotel for our family. First of all the design of the hotel and the rooms is very contemporary and the rooms are of a very European design. We loved it. The set up of the rooms worked for our family of 2 adults and two teens. We had two queen beds and a pull out sofa, so each teen got there own bed. There was a lobby downstairs with lots of tables and families were down there at night playing board games and socializing. The continental breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. Eggs, meat, fruit, waffles...It is months later and my kids are still talking about this hotel. We all loved it and it was a great value. There was a Metro yard across the street from our room which was a bit noisy, so I probably would request a room on the other side of the hotel if that is something that might bother you. It didn't bother us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose this suites hotel for our family of 5 (two adults, two teens, and a 9 year old) because it was a suite hotel within easy striking distance of DC's attractions. Hotel is two years young, and feels brand new. Big suite room with two queen beds, a sofa bed with an extended couch, a desk, microwave, fridge, and coffemaker, and best of all, two separate rooms for toilet and shower, each with a sink. The sofa bed isn't great, but okay for one teen. We put the 9 yr old on the floor on the cushions from the couch, gave another bed to the other teen, and the parents shared the other queen bed. It really was big enough for all of us to share! The queen beds were fine - felt brand new. Shower was good, with adequate water pressure. Never had to wait for an elevator. Nice workout room. Having read the warnings about the train noise, we chose the highway side. With the window shut there was virtually no outside noise, and I am a very light sleeper, so there really is not any noise problem on this side. The continental breakfast was adequate, nothing to rave about, but there were some healthier choices, like fresh fruit, skim milk and 2%, variety of cereals, oatmeal, also scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles. It was about a fifteen minute drive to the National Mall. Roads are confusing - bring your smartphone or GPS. Another plus is that it is a short drive to lots of Alexandria restaurants, but it's not really walking distance to anything. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for highway side - it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice place to stay ,
Had big rooms (took) the suite
Well equipped rooms
The place though is slightly desolate in terms of nothing available in walking distance
The breakfast is to minimalist however nice place with regards to a beautiful view
Very courteous staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to DC. I wasn't really sure on how to navigate the area or where this hotel was in relation to the sights, I just knew the price was right.
The only thing bad to say about this hotel is that it is a bit away from things. The nearest Metro station is about .5 mile but the free shuttle was fantastic, never had a long wait going or returning.
The staff was friendly, the breakfast was a nice start, the room was clean and the price was affordable. You can hear the traffic if you are on the side facing the highway, but it's far from a dealbreaker. We will return to this hotel when we come to DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.