We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
alexandria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is perfect location, no traffic and adjacent to 495. Friendly staff, a touch of modern sophistication, very clean rooms, nice gym. This hotel is simply excellent. Highly recommend. Prefer here vs Westin in Carlyle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    74
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
99
38
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our group stayed here multiple nights when DC was a "hub city" for our long-distance bike ride to fight childhood cancer. The location is fabulous if you don't need to be "in" DC, especially since they had a free shuttle to the nearby Metro station and restaurants. The property seemed brand new - very clean and up-to-date, with a big, free parking lot. I was worried that it would be loud since the property is near the freeway, but no one in our group had any problems. Awesome hot breakfast and affordable, too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for business and the location was ideal for my purposes. Nicely laid out rooms provide a good great nights rest. The hotel features a Marketplace like all Marriott hotels and offers a really nice breakfast spread to start your day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed 2 nights on a weekend, and the prices were very low. Good value for your money. The hotel is quite isolated, in the middle of nowhere in Alexandria. Takes a while to get to DC, but it's not so bad. Rooms are great. We had a room with 2 queen size beds and a sofa bed. The 3 kids shared the 2 queen beds and we used the sofa bed. There was some dull noise from the outside - the room faces the Metro rail yard, but we slept well nevertheless. The breakfast is very good - rich and there's plenty of places to sit - inside or outside on the terrace. Good shuttle service to the nearest Metro station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the Metro rail yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed four nights here on a vacation trip to DC. King suite facing the Metro railyard on the 4th floor. I'd read some reviews talking about the noise from the railyard, but with my iPod playing a thunderstorm loop on the iPhone dock/clock, never heard a thing and slept sound. Nice variety of breakfast available in the mornings, kept well-stocked and cleaned, and the free shuttle for the Metro station was normally prompt on drop-off and pick-up. Internet connection (I used the wired) was very speedy and reliable, comfy bed, spotless clean room. My only gripe would be the small selection of nearby restaurants for dinner... one can only eat so many sandwiches in a week.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the Metro railyard, other side faces the I-495 Beltway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the best midrange hotels that I have ever stayed in. The decor of the rooms is beautiful. Very contemporary, lots of clean lines and very zen like. We were there on a Saturday and it was very nice and quiet. Lots of restaurants in the area and we were able to get Chinese delivery. The lobby sells bottled wine and beer as well as the usual soft drinks and water. This was a lovely surprise as we had had a long day and wanted to relax. A glass of wine without having to drive out for it was lovely. Customer service is great, beds are super comfortable. I really wouldn't consider the room a "suite" however. But the room is nicely laid out with great use of space. There are not 2 separate rooms which is what I consider a suite hotel. But very nice nonetheless.

Room Tip: I also get high room floors so we were on the top floor. Extremely quiet, even though there is a maj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I like Marriott properties. This was an OK stay, but next time I'll probably look for something a little different.

It wasn't that the hotel or the service was bad. It's just it's location isn't great. It is located between the Beltway and the area where they service the Metro trains. Our room faced the Metro trains. Both mornings, we were awakened about 6 a.m., and the trains were prepared for the day. It's not exactly like a rooster.

We had one minor problem the first day. I returned to my room at 3 p.m. (we left at 8 a.m.) and found it had not been cleaned. I wanted to relax in the room, and watch a football game. I ended up leaving before my game was over.

There was another "problem," but it involved people staying there. About 10:30 p.m., some middle schoolers, who were there for some sort of hockey tournament or game, decided it would be OK to set up goals in the hallway and play hockey in the hall. Some parents are just braindead stupid to allow things like this. Anyway, we called, and the hotel staff took care of it.

Again, the hotel was good, the service was great. We want something a little less noisy at 6 a.m.

Room Tip: You have two choices: Metro train center or interstate. You just can't win.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your feedback. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service that can drop off and pick up guests at local restaurants and business with in a five mile radius. The shuttle also goes to the Eisenhower Metro station which can take you directly into Washington D.C. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest a room on the parking lot side of the hotel that does not face the metro repair station. You cannot hear any noise from the station on the parking lot side. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.