We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and beautiful hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal location and beautiful hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for business and the location was ideal for my purposes. Nicely laid out rooms provide a good great nights rest. The hotel features a Marketplace like all Marriott hotels and offers a really nice breakfast spread to start your day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    113
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
143
67
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed 2 nights on a weekend, and the prices were very low. Good value for your money. The hotel is quite isolated, in the middle of nowhere in Alexandria. Takes a while to get to DC, but it's not so bad. Rooms are great. We had a room with 2 queen size beds and a sofa bed. The 3 kids shared the 2 queen beds and we used the sofa bed. There was some dull noise from the outside - the room faces the Metro rail yard, but we slept well nevertheless. The breakfast is very good - rich and there's plenty of places to sit - inside or outside on the terrace. Good shuttle service to the nearest Metro station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the Metro rail yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed four nights here on a vacation trip to DC. King suite facing the Metro railyard on the 4th floor. I'd read some reviews talking about the noise from the railyard, but with my iPod playing a thunderstorm loop on the iPhone dock/clock, never heard a thing and slept sound. Nice variety of breakfast available in the mornings, kept well-stocked and cleaned, and the free shuttle for the Metro station was normally prompt on drop-off and pick-up. Internet connection (I used the wired) was very speedy and reliable, comfy bed, spotless clean room. My only gripe would be the small selection of nearby restaurants for dinner... one can only eat so many sandwiches in a week.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the Metro railyard, other side faces the I-495 Beltway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the best midrange hotels that I have ever stayed in. The decor of the rooms is beautiful. Very contemporary, lots of clean lines and very zen like. We were there on a Saturday and it was very nice and quiet. Lots of restaurants in the area and we were able to get Chinese delivery. The lobby sells bottled wine and beer as well as the usual soft drinks and water. This was a lovely surprise as we had had a long day and wanted to relax. A glass of wine without having to drive out for it was lovely. Customer service is great, beds are super comfortable. I really wouldn't consider the room a "suite" however. But the room is nicely laid out with great use of space. There are not 2 separate rooms which is what I consider a suite hotel. But very nice nonetheless.

Room Tip: I also get high room floors so we were on the top floor. Extremely quiet, even though there is a maj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I like Marriott properties. This was an OK stay, but next time I'll probably look for something a little different.

It wasn't that the hotel or the service was bad. It's just it's location isn't great. It is located between the Beltway and the area where they service the Metro trains. Our room faced the Metro trains. Both mornings, we were awakened about 6 a.m., and the trains were prepared for the day. It's not exactly like a rooster.

We had one minor problem the first day. I returned to my room at 3 p.m. (we left at 8 a.m.) and found it had not been cleaned. I wanted to relax in the room, and watch a football game. I ended up leaving before my game was over.

There was another "problem," but it involved people staying there. About 10:30 p.m., some middle schoolers, who were there for some sort of hockey tournament or game, decided it would be OK to set up goals in the hallway and play hockey in the hall. Some parents are just braindead stupid to allow things like this. Anyway, we called, and the hotel staff took care of it.

Again, the hotel was good, the service was great. We want something a little less noisy at 6 a.m.

Room Tip: You have two choices: Metro train center or interstate. You just can't win.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your feedback. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service that can drop off and pick up guests at local restaurants and business with in a five mile radius. The shuttle also goes to the Eisenhower Metro station which can take you directly into Washington D.C. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest a room on the parking lot side of the hotel that does not face the metro repair station. You cannot hear any noise from the station on the parking lot side. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good location, easy access to Arlington and DC. Rooms are comfy and clean with frigs and microwaves. Self serve breakfast is included, which is adequate, in a nicely appointed area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking. Could not ask for more for this price. Always a fan of Marriott properties, this place did not disappoint.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed September 24th for one night in a King Bedded room. Very helpful front desk staff, and FREE car parking, FREE WIFI in the rooms and lobby AND FREE breakfast. Good location on Eisenhower Ave near the Alexandria Old Town, Duke Street shopping area. 15 minutes drive in to Union Station in DC, and 20 minutes to Potomac Mills Malls. 5 minutes to Kingstowne shops or Landmark mall. 15 minutes drive toTysons Corner. Laundry room with coin operated washing machine and clothes dryer. Very quiet rooms, with non smoking policy throughout the hotel. You need a car when staying at this hotel as it is not within walking distance to the Metro, but if you have a car, then this hotel is ideal. Would highly recommend it. Plenty of European and US guests when I stayed here.

Room Tip: Laudry room is just off the lobby near the 'free coffee station'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We also offer a complimentary shuttle to the Eisenhower Metro Station and local restaurants. Thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#8 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.