We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location, great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good location, easy access to Arlington and DC. Rooms are comfy and clean with frigs and microwaves. Self serve breakfast is included, which is adequate, in a nicely appointed area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking. Could not ask for more for this price. Always a fan of Marriott properties, this place did not disappoint.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    111
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
140
63
13
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed September 24th for one night in a King Bedded room. Very helpful front desk staff, and FREE car parking, FREE WIFI in the rooms and lobby AND FREE breakfast. Good location on Eisenhower Ave near the Alexandria Old Town, Duke Street shopping area. 15 minutes drive in to Union Station in DC, and 20 minutes to Potomac Mills Malls. 5 minutes to Kingstowne shops or Landmark mall. 15 minutes drive toTysons Corner. Laundry room with coin operated washing machine and clothes dryer. Very quiet rooms, with non smoking policy throughout the hotel. You need a car when staying at this hotel as it is not within walking distance to the Metro, but if you have a car, then this hotel is ideal. Would highly recommend it. Plenty of European and US guests when I stayed here.

Room Tip: Laudry room is just off the lobby near the 'free coffee station'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We also offer a complimentary shuttle to the Eisenhower Metro Station and local restaurants. Thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Nb
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked this hotel for our quick visit to DC on our way to Florida. As a family the first thing that we discovered (because I didn't do my homework) was that the hotel does not have a pool. This is a deal breaker normally for my family travels but alas we were close to DC and the benefits associated with the location offset the lack of a pool. Upon arrival, we were very quickly greeted by the friendly front desk associates, including one who immediately stopped midway through balancing his cash to serve us and when I offered to wait he immediately said "oh, no that's not necessary you're more important" and that was great! The front desk folks were ready and willing to assist with directions and advice on local restaurants, etc. We found the room comfortable and very clean. We were pleased with the selection at breakfast and impressed with the staff working in that general area. The hotel itself is very nice and modern and feels more business like than family friendly but they certainly dealt well with the children just the same. If I were there on business I would definitely stay again, however, the lack of a pool would send me up the road to the other Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our visit to DC with another couple last week. Let me just say, within 30 minutes of being there we decided to add another day to the trip. The hotel is that good. We booked with Expedia and paid $89/night. An incredible bargain, especially considering how close it is to the Metro Station. Getting in to DC is a piece of cake. You can walk to the Metro, or just take the free shuttle (which runs until 10:45 PM, and is very timely).
The rooms are amazing. Very comfortable bed (choose your own pillow!), a sectional sofa, a desk with a floor to ceiling divider so if you need to work late you won't be bothering anyone, and the bathroom is split into two different rooms! One for a toilet and small sink, the other for the shower (great pressure and adjustable head) and large sink area.
There's no pool, and as far as I can tell that's the only downside.
The lobby is immense with comfortable furniture everywhere, and there's a really great free breakfast each morning. Tons of options to choose from. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and the shuttle drivers are clearly familiar with the area and are quick to pick you up or take you to the metro (special shout out to Armando, who was fantastic).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very clean, well set up and friendly staff. If I tried real hard I could not find anything bad. I would sudjest that the fitness room be regularly attended to, there was nothing to wipe off the equipment after use, water was non-existant. so bring your own towel and water to work out. This is a great place to stay and would not hesitate to stay there again. Also very quiet had no issues on a Friday night. Just want to say thanks, it is hard to find a great hotel that doesn't kill the pocket book.

Room Tip: AAA discount is very usefull bring towels/water to workout
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times now and the property is still brand new. The rooms are fresh, modern and nicely laid out. I used to stay at the Holiday Inn just down the street but this will be my new favorite. The staff were friendly and courteous all week and my room was fresh at the end of each day. The location is great with easy access to major highways and Metro. If I had to name one thing bad it would be the signage to find the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was surprised to see that this is a Marriot hotel as this is a Very, Very basic trying hard to be more upmarket, it may look good but the rooms are small and look ok but quite cheap, basic finishings, bad, really bad breakfast, worse toaster ever seen in a hotel, personnel is pleasant but DO NOT accomodate anything, if you want overnight to rest your body it is ok but do not expect much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSTechCenter, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our guestrooms are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms and offer a privacy wall to provide separation of the living and sleeping areas. Our double queen suites have everything you need to work and play comfortably. We provide a large, spacious work desk connected to our complimentary high-speed Internet, a living area populated with comfortable seating, 37-inch flat-screen television, microwave, and a mini-refrigerator. Every room comes with comfortable pull out sleeper sofa as well. We have order a new toaster as well! Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Tech Center we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#8 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.