We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our family LOVED this hotel!! We stayed for 4 nights for sightseeing in Washington, D.C. It turned out to be a perfect choice. The hotel is in Alexandria (best guess about 10 miles from the National Mall & Monuments)....and had excellent & professional service....Bravo Andrew!!

A clean hotel is extremely important, and this hotel is brand new (I think it opened in March of 2011). The rooms are small suites with a guest style bathroom (toilet & wash basin) & a larger bathroom with a nice large shower and wash basin with good counter space. There are sliding doors to the bathrooms that do not lock, but we had no problem with this and really liked the modern feel to the room. We had a king room that included a small sectional sofa (that turns into a bed..wasn't too bad to sleep on for a sofa bed) and a desk area...there is a frosted glass room divider that separates the desk area from the bed. As we all go to sleep close to the same time, this was not a problem....but if your family requires more privacy, note that the suite is very open....but it suited us perfectly. We noticed that there were quite a few families staying there, but the hotel wasn't loud. We slept well and the halls were pretty quiet. Maid service was exceptional.

The super great amenity is the shuttle bus....it will drop you off at the Eisenhower Metro Station...and I believe it picks up at both the Eisenhower and King Street Metro Stations. It will also take you to old town Alexandria (we didn't have a chance to go) and our wonderful shuttle driver took us to Whole Foods and back to the hotel one evening after sightseeing. (our room had a microwave and fridge).

We had a car, but planned our trip around using the Metro....and please take note that the Washington area Metro system was a HUGE disappointment....it will be for you too if you are used to the exceptional, inexpensive, and dependable service of European public transportation...Friday the service was passable...but during the weekend they service the Metro system & we had MAJOR delays (it really ruined the whole day)...we had been cautioned about using a car in the city because parking is expensive....but Sunday we used our car & it was the best choice...(on Sunday much of the street parking is FREE & we had no trouble finding a place to park)....I guess luck with parking really depends on what time of day and season you are there)............
Having said that, we felt fortunate that the hotel was extremely convenient to the Metro and had such a great shuttle....we had an absolutely amazing rate on this hotel that couldn't be beat anywhere inside DC....and because of the distance between Metro stops (they are not close), staying at a hotel in DC just didn't make sense for us.....

We were a bit surprised by the morning rush at the complimentary, hot breakfast buffet....WOW...we made the mistake of getting up late & went down at 9 am for breakfast...the line was HUGE...there was food...just took FOREVER to get any....so I recommend going to breakfast super early (like 7-7:30am)....they did run out of chocolate milk several days (we really needed chocolate milk).....
but I think they could solve the line problem by maybe having the eggs in two different places & two waffle makers.....that would make a BIG difference in flow....

In addition, I do recommend traveling to DC in an off season time, as when we went in July, the museums we super crowded & the weather was HOT.....make sure to go up in the Washington Monument & visit the National Zoo if you have small children. Also, if you go when it is super warm....please remember that the Air & Space Museum has a McDonald's with really super air conditioning :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    85
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
48
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when we went to visit Washington DC. The hotel is very nice and new. This is the first hotel I felt ok walking around bare foot in. We ordered in chinese food from a place the front desk gal recommended on our first night and it was very good. The breakfast at the hotel was very good as well. Oatmeal and waffle bar, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit. The gal who worked the breakfast was really nice and on top of everything to make sure it stayed clean and full. The only negative is the bathroom in the room. There is a toilet and small sink, then a closet and then a large sink area and shower in a seperate area. Just a weird layout in my opinion. Other than that, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a perfect hotel if you: 1.) have a family of teenagers, or more than 1 child in your party, 2) like things clean and elegant, and 3) don't want to pay much more than $100 a night no matter where you go!
This place really fit the bill for us to take 3 teenagers to Washington, DC. It is brand new - I think they said it opened in March 2011? Everything still smells and looks new and clean. The beds are especially comfortable since they are not all worn out.
We have gravitated towards the Hyatt Place chain before because their queen double rooms can fit our family of 5 quite comfortably with the L-shaped sectional sofa bed and kitchenette. But this SpringHill Suite is even a little better with a similar arrangement. What makes SpringHill better, though, is that there are two bathrooms in one suite! One bathroom contains the toilet and a small handwashing sink, and the other a large countertop sink and shower. This makes getting ready much easier. Between the two bathrooms is a large, lighted walk-in closet. The only problem with the room arrangement is that the sliding bathroom doors didn't seem to lock, which is a problem when there is a mischevious older brother around!
There is a tiny kitchenette with microwave, dorm-size frig and some glass shelves just inside the front door. It is one of the better arrangements of the micro-sized appliances I have seen though.
The office area had a large workspace with three glass panels that can be slid to the side to open the work area up to the bedroom area. There is a pretty large (I'd say 37 or 42 inch) LCD TV that swivels to the bedroom area or sitting/offic area.
The breakfast was a little better than continental with waffles, eggs, hot oatmeal and sausage added to the typical breads, fruits and cold cereals. There is a large area filled with stylish tables and chairs and a very attractive patio to eat at as well.
The Eisenhower St. Metro stop on the Yellow Line is about a half mile away. You could walk it if you don't mind climbing the highway bridge that separates this hotel from the Metro Stop. We were able to take the free hotel shuttle to the stop and get to the Mall in DC in less than an hour.
The neighborhood looked very safe, like an office/hotel park. Near the Metro Stop there were an AMC Theater, Ted's Montana Grill, Ruby Tuesday's, Starbucks and Cold Stone.
Overall this place was very modern and unique - it made us feel a little more special than a generic hotel room. I couldn't believe the price for a metro Washington hotel, at just over $100, which included a hot breakfast and free parking.
In our opinion, this is now the best place for families like ours to stay in DC!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte,nc
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Great location, shuttle to metro, easy free parking, brand new with large very functional rooms. Has a very european feel.

They need to work on their breakfast. It was very disorganized, but it was free. Bed sheets were a little stiff, but it was their 1st week.

Paid about 120 weekend, 200 weekend. Cant beat that in DC for a nice place that easiil sleeps a family 4-5.

Nice fitness ctr

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and inlaws. The rooms are very nice with a NY flair (except much larger). Everything was spottless as the hotel had grand opening May 13th. Price was right (used Marriott rewards for rooms), everything was spotless, front desk very helpful and free breakfast to boot. A little off the beaten path but with a free shuttle to Old Town and the Metro not a big deal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I was curious to see what the NEW "Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Center" hotel was like...so I had "Marriott Rewards Department" forward a"e-certificate" to "Front Desk" to pay for my stay. I was delighted with the smart+sophisticated interior designs with a FRESH retro flair!!! The suite was VERY SPACIOUS and I was shocked! I LOVE the interior designs of the suite because it was both attractive but practical! The suite features 37 inch flat panel high definition television,i Home i Pad alarm clocks, spa designed bathroom,LUXURIOUS bedding,pull out sofa bed,iron/ironing board,mini fridge,microwave,silverware and coffee/tea!!!The hotel offers complimentary high speed internet,lobby PC's,boarding pass stations,parking,local telephone calls,shuttle service,continental/hot breakfast buffet and coffee in lobby!!!I experienced EXCELLENT customer service!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This hotel just opened in March 2011. The interior and exterior are modern and clean. There were computers with free internet, a fitness room, and coin-op laundry. There is also a free shuttle to the Eisenhower Metro station, which is about 3/4 mile away. The lobby had a large space for the free breakfast buffet, which was quite plentiful and included hot items such as waffles, eggs, oatmeal, and sausage. Unfortunately, food ran out early the second day, which I possibly attribute to opening pains. Staff was very apologetic about this and overall was very friendly and professional.

The rooms were of a good size and impeccably clean. There is a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The room also had two sinks -- one with the toilet, and one with the shower stall. There was also a sofa with a pull-out bed and large flat screen TV.

For the price, this is the best value in the area. It's right in the Alexandria Tech Center and right off of I-95. It's considerably less expensive than hotels in the Carlyle and Old Town parts of Alexandria, which are only 1-2 miles away, and still close to the Metro. You can be in DC in a 30-minute Metro ride. There's also ample free parking, which is great, as if you are in a hotel in Carlyle, Old Town, or DC, you'll have to pay for parking.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Eisenhower Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.