We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cupcake Themed Knick Knacks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occasionally Cake

Occasionally Cake
8859 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309-1508
571-384-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #341 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Racine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Cupcake Themed Knick Knacks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My friend bought cake pops from this place and her family loved them! I loved the decor as my daughter love cupcake themes. It was cute and had a great variety of cupcakes and cupcake themes knick knacks you can buy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had one of the best cupcakes from this bakery. It was an almond cupcake with chocolate ganache and coconut cream icing. It was better than an actual almond joy! They had a big selection of cupcakes to pick from that were unique flavors. The other person with me bought the pomengrante cupcake with orange buttercream icing and said it was amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seriously...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I visited Occasionally Cakes this past weekend during a thunderstorm. There were four of us so we ordered 4 cupcakes to take back to our hotel. After paying for our cupcakes the employee handed me a cardboard box. I asked if we could have a plastic bag to put the box in and also explained that we had to walk a few blocks and wait outside for our hotel shuttle. The employee said since we only ordered 4 cupcakes we would have to pay an additional fee for a plastic bag. I have never been asked to pay for a bag before, and I consider that to be extremely poor customer service considering the fact that there was a torrential down pour, and our order had already been paid for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gluten Free (and regular) cupcake available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This cupcakery is in the heart of old town Alexandria. My husband and I enjoyed their gluten free vanilla cupcakes. One of the better GF cupcakes out there. Our friend had one of their regular cupcakes and thoroughly enjoyed it. The icing is pretty sweet for me, but the cake was soft and fluffy (a rarity in the GF world).

The person at the counter assured us that they segregate their GF cakes from the glutinous ones. They also use separate utensils the whole way through. My husband had no issues!

I recommend stoop here and try them out for yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“better cupcakes in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I went on a mini cupcake tour in Alexandria with my five year-old son. The shop I am reviewing is right on king, in the heart of touristdom. The three we tried were chocolate creme brulee, pomgranate and red velvet. As another reviewer just mentioned, the icing is toooo sweet. Think grocercy store cake. Yuck! The only one that was not dry as a bone was the pomegranate one but it tasted artificial. I can make better cupcakes at home. My advice, skip and walk up to Lavendar Moon or Alexandria Cupcake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Occasionally Cake also viewed

 

Been to Occasionally Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occasionally Cake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.