We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true Napoletana PIZZA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RedRocks Pizza Napoletana

RedRocks Pizza Napoletana
904 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703.717.9873
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 641 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Description: RedRocks is located in the upper King Street area of Old Town, at 904 King Street. The 2,500 square foot space is an open floor plan with an open kitchen, spacious high-back booths, marble table tops, high ceilings and a mezzanine section for great private events.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“true Napoletana PIZZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent Pizza with a lot of choices for great toppings.
They also have several specialty beers available.
We had a pesto calzone and a margherita Pizza and it was so much food we took leftovers home. They also have wonderful appetizers.
The service was outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Go for Happy Hour. The prices cannot be better and the staff is fabulous. Order the Happy Hour specials, and add your favorite toppings to the $6 pizza. You will be amazed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pizza awesome, stomach happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

"As good or better than Anthony's Coal Fired" happy smiles on all family faces. Great waitress, Rays game a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My two daughters and I were looking for a quick lunch as we strolled King Street. Our host was quick to seat us, and our server, Miss Tracy, was wonderful and attentive. The pizza was the perfect size for us to share, and was one of the best pizzas we've had since moving to the area. The crust was thin and crispy on the bottom - no soggy bottom here! - and had a tender, chewiness to the outer edge that can be dry and too thick if the dough isn't right.
We left the restaurant satisfied and more than a little bit happy. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best pizza in D.C.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Let's start from the beginning: I am Italian! I live in D.C. because of work and i will be returning in Italy soon.
I have heard about a lot of places where you can eat nice italian pizza. And just out of curiosity I have tried a couple. Then I created my own ranking making a comparison between the pizza I eat here and the wonderful pizza i have eaten in my town (Naples, Sicily and Rome).
I just want to say that Red Rocks pizza is the best Italian-like pizza I could find in D.C. area, they absolutely deserve the first place in my personal ranking (at the second place there is Trader Joe's pizza!!! and after there are the others...I don't want to mention them because it's not fair).
The pizza in Red Rocks is very good, it is rightly thin with slightly burned crust due to the cooking in the oven fed by wood, like in a true italian pizzeria.... well, of course the oven is not hand made with the right bricks, it is pre-made and bought "ready-to-cook", but at least the pizza can find a "friendly" environment to be enriched with the typical taste.
The personnel is very friendly, they welcome you with a huge smile and help you with your choices.
The pizzas are a little overpriced, they go from 10 dollars to 13... it's better to have the basic ones for not more than 6 and the elaborated ones for 16....people could have more choices and could come more often because of the affordable prices.
As last, better to book your table, it's just a phone call. I tried on friday evening, called at 5.30pm to reserve the table at 7.30pm...and i did it!!
Ciao

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RedRocks Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to RedRocks Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RedRocks Pizza Napoletana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.