We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the crowds scare you away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RedRocks Pizza Napoletana

RedRocks Pizza Napoletana
904 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703.717.9873
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 639 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Description: RedRocks is located in the upper King Street area of Old Town, at 904 King Street. The 2,500 square foot space is an open floor plan with an open kitchen, spacious high-back booths, marble table tops, high ceilings and a mezzanine section for great private events.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't let the crowds scare you away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Alexandria Va. and decided to walk around and take in the sights. After poking our heads into several different restaurants and wine shops, we opened the door to Redrocks and were immediately hit in the face with the smell of fresh made wood-fired oven pizza and we were hooked. We started out with a Caesar salad, now if you like your salad swimming in dressing than you won’t care for this. The salad was crisp and cool and lightly dressed with shaved parmesan cheese and home-made croutons, perfectly simple. We then ordered the Antipasto plate that had a nice variety of cured meats, olives, cheese, and home-made bread, perfect flavors that complemented our cold beers. Of course we could not pass up trying a pizza, after looking around to see what others had ordered we settled on the Toscano which had tomato, fresh mozzarella, salami, roasted peppers and grana cheese, it was fantastic. I have to say that the toppings were good, but the crust was amazing with just a bit of that wood oven char on the edges, yum. On top of the good food, the staff was very friendly and attentive. If you find yourself wondering up and down King street in Alexandria Va., give this place a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    44
    34
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Pizza Rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The PIZZA crust and sauce is just great! We love every visit and appreciate the service even when it's super busy (which is often due to the great pizza!) We're not drinkers but the bar and happy hours seem to draw a crowd -- a nice vibe but not rowdy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pizza doesn't get any better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Wood-fired oven baked pizza. Thin in the center; thick at the edge. Delicious dough. All four in our party agree. We just dropped in while visiting old town Alexandria. Beet salad with cumin dressing and walnuts. Excellent balance. Decent atmosphere. Service was outstanding, friendly, helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very popular restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is obviously a very popular restaurant in Old Town. I hadn't been there before, but when I drove by it at 2:00 in the afternoon it was packed, and then later for dinner at 6:30 it was packed and loud. The food was very good- the pizza margharita was great. The burrata salad I had was good but a little on the small side for $10. Could have used more greens. Service was very good and friendly. Overall a good experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Old Town pizza option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The hostesses may not be the greatest but don't let that turn you off. This is a solid pizza establishment in Old Town. they carry a good selection of micro-brews on tap that are in a rotation. If you get a table in the back you can watch the kitchen staff prepare and slide your pie in the wood fired oven. They also carry a variety of other meal options, Italian and American dishes, that provide a good variety of selections to be had. I've been here multiple times and the waitresses are on top of their game even when it's busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RedRocks Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to RedRocks Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RedRocks Pizza Napoletana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.