We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, Not great - but has potential.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RedRocks Pizza Napoletana

RedRocks Pizza Napoletana
904 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703.717.9873
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Brew Pub, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: RedRocks is located in the upper King Street area of Old Town, at 904 King Street. The 2,500 square foot space is an open floor plan with an open kitchen, spacious high-back booths, marble table tops, high ceilings and a mezzanine section for great private events.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ok, Not great - but has potential.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited RedRocks on a sunday afternoon and were greeted and seated promptly. We were given water and had our drink orders taken almost immediately. They have a nice selection of beer on tap, my wife chose to just drink water. Being mid-afternoon (2:30ish) the place was about 1/2 full.

The pizzas are approx 11 inches, so they are personal pizzas. We each ordered our own pizza and a plate of olives. The olives came out pretty quickly - they come out hot so you have to give them a few minutes to prepare. The olives were very good. We then waited quite a while for the pizzas to arrive. The pizzas have a very tasty crust, unfortunately there was too much crust - on an 11 inch pizza, approx 4 inches (2 on each side) was crust. This doesn't leave much room for toppings. The pizza is better than what you will find in any of the chain pizza joints.

The service was spotty - out waiter was not the most friendly individual, and he seemed rather disinterested in waiting on us. He didn't seem too concerned that we had been waiting a while for our pizza to arrive, and didn't really pass by for us to ask him to check on it. Once the pizza arrived he checked back to see that everything was ok and again to drop off another bottle of water. There seemed to be very little effort to provide anything but the bare minimum of service. Once we were finished we had to wait for him to drop off our bill and yet again for him to bother picking up our credit card and running it through.

Overall - the ambience was nice, the seating was quick, the food was good but could use some improvement, and the service definitely could be much better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ducked in here between shops and had a really good lunch. Well-priced $10 menu had something for everyone. The pizza choices were interesting and all three we had were quite good. The beet salad also got high marks from our daughter. The location is right in the middle of it all and we were in and out in less than an hour. Really good find.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neotsu, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still Dreaming of RedRocks Pizza Five Months Later!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited the D.C. Area the first week in May, 2012, and discovered RedRocks in Old Town Alexandria. We're from Oregon. Our friends from the East Coast have always said we had no idea how good pizza can be. We finally understand what they mean! There is nothing like this in the West! The bar for excellent pizza is so high here. On our first visit we tried the Margherita pizza with microbrews and fell in love! We went back four times during the next week, even though we were staying across the river in National Harbor, putting our other planned restaurant visits on hold. Amazing value, excellent ingredients, attentive service and pleasant, casual atmosphere make this a top choice! You haven't had great pizza until you try this!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for pizza and beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great hangout to meet up with friends and enjoy drinks and pizzas. The flavors are solid and the staff is friendly. Great place to enjoy sports on the multiple tvs throughout.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale C, Public Relations Manager at RedRocks Pizza Napoletana, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. We pride ourselves on being a great restaurant with good food, great staff and an inviting atmosphere.
We hope that you will come back again to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Weak service - felt ignored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I waited about 20 minutes to get served when we stopped by here for a late lunch a few months back. Our server, a young man, was talking with other workers and customers this whole time. The place was pretty quiet at the time since it was between lunch and dinner, so there really was no excuse. When some attractive young ladies came in about 10 minutes after we had and sat a few tables away, he approached them immediately, and he proceeded to chat an flirt with them for a full five minutes. I don't know what was going on in his head, but to us it felt like we were not wanted and that we were a burden.

We were eventually served, and otherwise, the pizza was pretty good, not great. My wife's salad was solid. The place was tidy and clean, and the location is good -- on King a few blocks towards the Metro from Washington.

I don't frequently put in negative reviews, as can be seen in my previous postings, but this experience has been nagging at me since June, and when a friend reminded me of this incident, I felt it was time to share my experience with the world.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale C, Public Relations Manager at RedRocks Pizza Napoletana, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for writing. We are very aware of the service issues that existed a few months ago. As such, we have hired a new general manager and new staff. I know that you will see that things have greatly improved!
Since you enjoyed the salad and pizza, we would like to offer you a gift certificate for two pizzas on the house. Please come back and give us a second try!!
Just send an email to galecurcio@verizon.net and I will send you a certificate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RedRocks Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to RedRocks Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RedRocks Pizza Napoletana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.