We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza

Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza
209 Swamp Fox Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-329-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 673 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eisenhower Ave.
Transit: Delia's is located across the street from the Eisenhower Ave. Metro station on the Metro's Yellow Line.
Hummelstown, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had dinner here on a very busy Saturday night. We did wait about 30min for a table but we enjoyed a cocktail at the bar. Even though it was very busy, we did not wait very long after placing our order for our food to arrive. The food was delicious and the presentation was good. Nice selection of wines. Julio was our server and he even cleared our table after every course since the bus boys were busy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Been here a couple of times and there's just something about the wood fired pizza that makes it great. I took my son this time who is a staunch NY style pizza guy and he even preffered this. I've had some of the chicken in the past also and it was good but, the pizza is worth the stop. The wait staff are always very attentive you should never want for drinks or anything else.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food is excellent and authentic tasting. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant as well as nice looking and friendly wait staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A safe staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is our usual fall-back restaurant when we are in the area, and we have been regularly. The food is good, not mindbendingly so but consistently so. You will not have a revelation but you will be full of pasta, and probably not regretting it. Service has been fine. Refills on lemonade are welcome in the summer. Location is handy for the cinema, and a Coldstone is nearby. The olive dip they give with the bread is delectable.

My only problem is that the portion sizes have been too large, especially with the starters. Last week I asked for a "small" salad intended as a starter because I was not very hungry. It was enormous, a big meal in its own right. I suppose there are worse complaints to have and some people may prefer their portions large! But it is worth noting here for the consideration of people who eat lighter.


Will probably be back next time we go to see a movie :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good pizza and Italian dishes across from AMC theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised to find Delia's across from AMC Hoffman theater near the PTO office in Alexandria - and happy to discover that the pizza and pasta dishes held up to the very good reviews on TripAdvisor.

My friend and I had a cheese pizza and a chicken francese dish - both very fresh and tasty, and good value for the price. Crust on the pizza was excellent, fwiw. And the penne side dish that came with the chicken was better than expected.

The menu and wine list was fairly extensive.

All told, better food, menu, service, etc. than one might expect from the location - I'd definitely go back to Delia's.

ps - I wouldn't endorse the AMC theater at this location. On more than one occassion, another audience member has taken a phone call for more than a minute during previews, conversation during the film was loud and intrusive, and the temperature was less than comfortable (much warmer than expected for a theater)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delia's Mediterranean Grill & Brick Oven Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.