We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Whenever my wife and I go to Alexandria to visit our son, we stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and will assist in any way they can to make our stays good. The rooms are always nice and clean as is the breakfast area. We have no problems sleeping in the beds. We find them very comfortable. Nancy, the young lady that works in the breakfast area is an outstanding worker and should you need anything, she will do whatever she can for you. As I stated, we stay there every time we are in the Alexandria / DC area. It is a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review. Nancy was happy to see her name on tripadvisor and she enjoys when you come stay with us as well. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    65
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
39
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to bike to Mt Vernon. Convenient to trail and Alexandria. Breakfast was good, with nice hot choices. Rooms in front are close to traffic and can be noisy. Staff very cordial and professional. Only complaint is that sheets were thin as gauze. But room was comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
NHampton

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time so write a great review. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for five nights while visiting Washington, DC on vacation, last week of October to start of November, 2013. "We" was three of us - mom, dad, 9 year old son. I pored through hotel options before choosing this one, because I wanted to be able to walk to the Metro if needed. I also didn't want to pay the much higher prices for hotels that are closer to the attractions in downtown Washington. This hotel fit the bill nicely. The hotel shuttle was available to use, and out of 10 trips on the Metro from / to Huntington Station, we used the shuttle 3 times to get from the hotel to the station. The other 7 times we walked. The distance is probably about 1 mile, if you use the shortest route possible, figure it out on Google Earth in advance. We are "walkers", we like to walk, so know your own limitations and use the shuttle if you don't like to walk. The Huntington Metro Station is at the end of the yellow line - no other colors, the train can only go one direction from Huntington, so this makes it a little easier to figure out if you are new to the Metro. The Metro in general is very easy to use - check out the web site, routes, fare options, etc. in advance. We did not have a rental car, we traveled to the hotel from Ronald Reagan airport via the Metro. There are some limited restaurant options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel - if you're walking. So we walked a mile or so south to multiple dinner options. If you like to walk, you have a stroller, and you are headed south from the hotel, stick to the sidewalk on the west side of Richmond Highway, as it disappears for one short distance adjacent to guardrail on the east side, walkers can get through on the east side but maybe not strollers. If you don't like to walk - take the Metro somewhere for dinner or if you have a rental car, there are many options within easy driving distance from the hotel. The hotel itself was very clean and up-to-date. We were on the ground floor (one floor below lobby) and the room had high ceilings (don't know if all floors have this) - this helped to make the room feel spacious. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good - three or so cereal options, yogurt, make-your-own pancakes, eggs, bacon / sausage, bananas, fruit juices, milks, coffees, and some awesome cinnamon rolls. The hotel has two washers and two driers available for guest use, no charge, but bring your own soap. The room had a refrigerator. The only negative to the stay was the last night (a Saturday) there was a large group of high-school age kids staying in the hotel (need I say more?), and the kids in the room above us apparently got no sleep that night - we got little ourselves due to the noise they made. The hotel staff tried to quiet the kids. We asked to be moved but the hotel was booked, no other rooms open. This is the only night of the five that we were there that the hotel was that full - all other nights had fewer guests (and no high-school age kids) and all was quiet. We highly recommend this hotel if any of the above details appeal to you. If we return to Washington DC anytime soon we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Jim

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate all the great comments. We hope the next time you are Washington D.C. you will come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

During our recent stay at this hotel, we were very happy with the excellent service, especially the shuttle vans. They really made things so much easier and cheaper for us... All the drivers were great, and Fred was especially fun and helpful. Thanks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Madeline,

Hello from Alexandria. Our shuttle driver's thank you for writing such a great review. We hope the next time you are in Alexandria you select the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night, while waiting for other family members to arrive in town (we spent the rest of our trip with them at a different hotel in town). This Holiday Inn Express was easy to get to from the Beltway, it was clean, and the room was very nice. The breakfast service was way above average for the Express breakfast, especially in the DC area.

Room Tip: Avoid the first two levels. Level 1 is actually below ground level, due to the sloping elevation in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
RB94

The Holiday Inn Express Alexandria is so excited to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have family in the Alexandria area and have stayed at this hotel many times. Everything is always clean and comfortable. Having breakfast included in the stay is a plus and it includes more than muffins and coffee. I never leave hungry. The hotel also has a shuttle to the nearest Metro which is on the Yellow Line. I will be traveling to Alexandria soon and I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay on the back side. Traffic on Richmond Highway can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Karen

Thank you for being a loyal guest to the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria. Please let us know the next time you are coming to Alexandria so we can make your reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My Mom and I stayed at this hotel Sept 22-Sept 28, 2013, during our trip to Washington DC. The room and bathroom was very clean and comfortable. Carmen the day manager was so helpful and friendly, she remembered us each day when we left thru the lobby and always had a smile on her face. Phil the night manager was great too. The breakfast staff kept the dining area cleaned and stocked. (We loved the cinnamon rolls--where do they come from?). Asmon (sp) the shuttle driver was so sweet. Fred the day shuttle driver was fantastic. The price was very reasonable esp comparied to the other Alexandria/Washington DC hotels. We took the metrorail into the city everyday, but drove in one night for a nighttime tour (it would be helpful to have printed maps for visitors needing to drive into the city or Old Alexandria).

Room Tip: The swimming pool is at the sister hotel next door. The AC unit was louder on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Donna W

Thanks for the wonderful review. We have printed out some directions and maps ready for you the next time you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us in Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.