We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here overnight on our way back to NY from Busch Gardens.
We arrived exhausted late Sunday night after driving 3 1/2hrs through the rain.
Kelvin at the front desk check us in extremely quick!
At first he gave us a room on the 1st floor that was in the back of the hotel where we also had to park. I was a little leery because we have 3 kids & it was late at night. We went to our room & instantly tried to close our window because it was facing the back parking lot & I didn't feel safe. But the curtains couldn't close. So my husband went downstairs to tell Kelvin about it & right away he gave us a new room that was beautiful on the 3rd floor! All the kids didn't have to share a bed. It was very clean, comfortable & quiet; just what we needed after a long drive! To top it; they had a great breakfast in the morning which the kids really enjoyed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
91
34
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel has very helpful and friendly staff. My husband and I stayed here four nights. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast items were plentiful. Room rates - GREAT PRICE. This hotel is located about five minutes from Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the top floor - facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lets face it - there are tons of hotels out there and it is tedious to research the reviews of various hotels. I know because I researched hotels for several weeks and chose this one from among many because of the consistently good reviews. Our stay was superb - absolutely no complaints. The value is great for a hotel near Old Towne and D.C. when one compares the exceptional quality of the rooms, customer service, free shuttle, free wifi and free hot breakfast. The selling point for us was the free shuttle to and from Huntington Metro. The hotel shuttle stops at a certain time in the night so you need to ask the hours of service to ensure that you arrive on time at the Metro otherwise the trip back to the hotel is $10 with a taxi. My kids made use of the sauna and pool next door (hotel arrangement with Homewood Suites). We loved Old Towne. When you get off at the King Street Old Towne Metro stop, there is a free trolley along King Street (it makes various stops) to the waterfront or you can use a free transfer with the Dash bus. It is best to start off at the Visitors Centre and purchase a Key to the City which is a coupon book filled with discounts for restaurants etc. and free access to the historical sites. Another great Metro stop is Arlington Cemetery (5 minute walk to cemetery) and Pentagon City where the stop leads into the shopping centre - fantastic shopping. We loved Nando's Chicken on King Street and Pentagon City for eating the flame grilled peri-peri chicken. P.S.: special mention must be made of David (maintenance) and Nancy (breakfast). They both worked tirelessly to please us during our stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We do value your thoughts and we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Alexandria. Thank you and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Paul Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent one night here on our drive home from Florida. Stayed in a two double bed suite. Room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Free breakfast the next morning was appreciated and well stocked. The staff was what stood out though - very very helpful and accommodating. David saw our children, came and sat by them during breakfast and made my son laugh. He went to grab us maps for our day in DC and brought back extra for the kids. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alexandria. We are glad to hear that your family had a great time. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks,

Paul Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fred was very friendly and gave excellent customer service. He is wonderful and I always looked forward to seeing his friendly face. He is patient friendly and one of the most helpful drivers I have ever met. Also the maintenance man David was always assisting us and very helpful. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear the you had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria.

Thank you,

Paul Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The staff is so friendly an helpful here, as well as genuine. Great spot for the family during vacation. Also, free breakfast is great, and if you ask Nancy for anything, chance at she'll get you what you want and more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We value your opinions and we thank you for your kind words. We look forward to serving you in the future here at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria, VA

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, US
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a 3-day weekend with extended family, as they had never been to Washington, D.C. We were not disappointed--the parking lot was spacious, the lobby and rooms were clean, and we got good service with a smile. As we were a huge group, we had to stay in 3 rooms, and the front desk made sure that our rooms were adjacent to each other.

The breakfast was hot and plentiful and had enough variety to suit everyone. There were a lot of restaurants close by. There's no pool, but the kids were able to go for a swim at the hotel next door. As we went around D.C. by car, we didn't get to use the shuttle service, although I did see the shuttle in front of the hotel with some regularity. I would just suggest replenishing the coffee more often in the evening. Otherwise, it wasn't really a big deal--there's the standard coffee maker in the rooms, and one night we got coffee (and doughnuts) at a nearby Krispy Kreme.

This was our first time to stay in Alexandria, but unfortunately we didn't get the chance to explore (especially the old town). We'll definitely stay here again and do that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are glad to here that your family enjoyed their stay here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria. We hope to see you and your family in the near future.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.