We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel minutes from DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel minutes from DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was a little skeptical about this place as I had never stayed here but it is just perfect. The rooms are beautiful and large, the parking lot is huge, and it's not far from dc. If I could choose a place that's outside of the city this would be it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for being a top contributor on TA. We also appreciate your great review. Please come back to D.C. and make sure your stay with us again ;)

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    59
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
104
38
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

It was a great place to stay everyone was friendly especially Fred our shuttle bus driver. All the rooms where neat and organized. the breakfast was amazing, and I really enjoyed my stay. And everything we needed was right their and a always got their on time. The metro is really close to do that made it a whole lot easier to get around town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We really appreciate your review. Hope to see you next time ;)

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was very pleased to have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. It is one of the nicer budget motels that I have stayed at. All of the amenities are great and appreciated.

The best part of my motel experience was the staff! Very helpful and very friendly and very accomodating. Phillip, Corey, and Fred stand out as assets to the property.

The first time I stayed was after their sister property next door wouldnt extend my stay, but
Phillip was excellent in accomodating me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for an awesome review. You Rock! Phill says "Hello" and to come back and see us the next time you are in the Alexandria area. Have a wonderful summer.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

By using our Priority Rewards Points, we earned one of the worst rooms in the place. The other guests were loud and noisy late at night. The worst feature was the lack of blackout curtains that would close out the bright lights and heavy traffic from Highway 1. Even though we asked for a quieter room, we stayed ground level, facing the road.

The service was very good in spite if the poorly located room. The staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel was clean and updated with a nice, open breakfast room. Breakfast was average with paper thin bacon and so-so scrambled eggs but plenty of it. The facility is quite nice so the right room with curtains that close or a higher floor in the back could change the whole experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Andrew

We appreciate you typing this review. Sorry to hear about the noise and the curtains. We would love for you to give us another try so can make sure you have a quiet room and black out curtains. Thank you so much for complimenting the staff. Have a wonderful summer and please come back and see us the next time you are in Washington D.C.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I gave this hotel 4 stars because of a few small things that I didn't like. First, there is no safe in the room, so I had to take my valuables with me. Most places I've been to lately have all had safes, so for a major hotel chain to not have them in the room was a bit off putting to me. Second, the hotel is next to a really shady motel area where there were a few people driving in and out of. My wife watched some people who looked like they were making drug deals and driving away. Now to the positives. The room we stayed at was a king suite. It was HUGE. There was a nice living area that had a pretty comfy couch and even a small eating table. There is a small kitchenette area that had a microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The TV channel selection was actually quite good, considering hotels usually only provide a handful of channels. The room was clean, the maid service was prompt and thorough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a great review on Trip Advisor. I do apologize about the safe, we do have safes behind the front desk where our guests receive a key and can place their belongings. We hope that the next time you are visiting the Washington D.C. area you will stay with us again.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for three nights while we visited near-by Mount Vernon and Washington, DC. Our room was very clean and spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. The complementary breakfast had a good selection of items from which to choose, and the staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. The staff members with whom we had contact and who were very friendly and helpful were Kelvin and Paul at the front desk, Nancy who made sure that everything was available at breakfast, and Phil, Fred and David who were helpful when we took the complementary shuttle to and from the Metro station. I would definitely stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Very convenient for visiting Mount Vernon and Washington, DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Wow, what a great review. Thank you for mentioning staff members. We really appreciate your feedback. Please come back and see us the next time you are in Alexandria. Have a wonderful summer.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Corey, your driver was super to us ladies, and very carring. He even went next door to get us some bottled water, when your front desk had not restocked. A perfect gentleman, and David, your maintence chap even went up, collected my suitcase that US Airways had smashed, and reconstituted it, so I could get home. These are gems! As is Fred the shuttle driver.

Fridges could be colder, but the rooms are clean and breakfast was great every morning. Staff were helpful there too.
A total pleasure to stay with you. Others should consider it seriously!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for this 5 star review. Everyone still talks about how nice you and your friends were when you stayed with us. We hope you enjoyed your concert ;) and you’re sightseeing in D.C. Please come back to Alexandria and make sure you stay with us. Fred says "Hi" as well.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.