We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms for a HIX...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Lauderdale, Mississippi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Huge rooms for a HIX...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

When I first walked into our room, my first thoughts were whats crops to plant due to the acreage in the rooms. All kidding aside, the rooms were quite roomy. The furnishing though were standard HIX and nothing to brag about. One thing to note: My room DID NOT have a microwave and wasn't sure if that was norm for the hotel or if room was just missing it. (I never needed it so it wasn't brought up) Thought it was just strange for a HIX. Staff was very helpful. Also had a free shuttle to METRO which is the best way to get around D.C. area unless you like traffic and paying for parking. Stayed here for three nights and had no problems here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    59
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
104
38
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We rolled into Alexandria at 10pm one night without a reservation and after a little looking around we settled on the HIE. This was a good choice. For one thing, my phone charger was missing and the front desk clerk lent me his personal charger for the night -- what a lifesaver!

The breakfast was good and the room was clean and well-appointed for our needs. A tad pricey, but we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and was absolutely amazed at how pleasant the staff was. This was my first visit to DC and I was extremely nervous about riding the Metro. Vince took the time to explain the Metro color coded system to me. When he was done he asked the driver Chandu would he take me to the Metro station so I could become familiar with it before taking it for the first time on Monday. Chandu took me to the Metro Station and explained how I would get my ticket and showed me where to stand when I was ready to be picked up. The following morning I was like a little kid going to my first day of school. I was very nervous and unfortunately it was raining. Mr. Fred was the shuttle driver and he offered me his personal umbrella for me to use during my stay. I was very thankful for this kind gesture because I was going to training and didnt want to be wet or have my hair wet when I arrived.

When I got back to the hotel Vince was there and he asked me how my day was and how was my commute (this became a daily regime.) I was so far away from home but they made me feel like I was amongst family by asking me how my day and commute was.

Vince, Fred and Chandu are truly great people/workers. When I first met them they were strangers. When I left, they were family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really apprecaite your review. Fred was pleased to hear that he made your stay. We hope that if you return to Alexandria we will be your top choice. Thanks again and have a wonderful summer.


Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The staff was very accommodating and pleasant! The rooms were very clean and smelled clean too. Also, the rooms were larger than in many hotels. We stayed 6 nights and were very pleased with this newer hotel. The shuttle to the metro was great,be sure to get a card with their phone number so you can call for pick up. Our driver Fred, was great and very informative. Breakfast included a nice variety, even had grapefruit a couple of days and the servers were very helpful. One even remembrered that i liked grapefruit and brought me one from the back the next day. What an unexpected treat from a chain hotel.
Our room was on the front of the hotel, next to the street. I was worried about noise, but it was not a problem. We heard very little.
Another plus was the short distance to Old Alexandria,where we enjoyed one nice evening.
This hotel was a bit more expensive than we are accustomed to paying but I shopped around extensively and this was the best value for the money that I could find. We were not disappointed, even added an extra night to our stay. Weekend rates are much less than week day.
I highly recommend this hotel!
Oh, one last thing, every other Tuesday night they have a manager's reception at 5:30. Check it out, it was quite nice the week we were there.

Room Tip: Manager's reception every other Tuesday 5:30=tasty If traveling with more than 2 people and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a great place to stay, everyone their seems to love their jobs from Fred the shuttle driver to the lovely lady that takes care of breakfast buffett. The enthusiasm of the employees helps make your day wonderful. They take care of the guests in a way that makes you feel valued. It is an easy shuttle ride to the Metro that quickly gets you to Old Town Alexandria and downtown DC. We will be statying here again when we return to DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for a week while seeing all the sights in DC. First of all everyone was friendly and I can not say that enough. The hotel is close to the metro stop and the hotel shuttle was great taking us to the metro and picking us up. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Within the first 30 minutes of arriving in D.C., I was hustled by a cab driver who drove me around for almost 30 minutes to take me to my destination which was 9-11 miles away. After this event my thoughts were all over the place and I anticipated all of the locals to be con artist. I was very, very wrong. I was greeted by Tim who went out of his way to calm me down (I was very teary eyed.) I explained to him that I was on on business and had the catch the train in the morning but I was petrified because I had never rode the train before. He took out a map and tried to explain the routes to me but it was a tad bit confusing. He understood how confusing this was and decided to draw me a map with instructions. He told me that the only thing I needed to worry about was the "Yellow" Train. He told me not to be concerned with any other color except for yellow. He explained to me that when the train comes I need to sit by the window and listen to the conductor say "L'Enfant Plaza". He also told me that when I come back home, the only thing I need to look for is "YELLOW HUNTINGTON" This helped me out with my nerves but I was still slightly concerned about getting lost on my morning commute. I came downstairs to ask Tim more questions but the shift had already changed and Arianna and Vince were working. I instantly became upset because my mentatlity went back to "all of these people are crazy con artist." Vince and Arianna changed my train of thought instantly. Vince found a color coded map and he and Arianna went on to showing me exactly where my destination was on the color coded map, they told me how many stops I would have before arriving etc. As we were having this discussion Mr. Chandu walked up and told me that he would bring me to the station that night so that I wouldn't be so overwhelmed the next morning.

The next morning arrived and I was all ready for my commute but unfortunately it was raining. It never occured to me to pack an umbrella for my trip. I was already nervous about my first train ride and it had the audacity to start raining. The shuttle driver "Mr. Fred", asked me if i needed an umbrella. I stated, I would be okay but how I was gonna be a little embarressed going into my training with my hair all messed up. He went into to his car and gave me his personal umbrella to use. I was so thankful and thought to myself how that was a very kind gesture. He dropped me off and told me that when I get back to stand "right here" and they would send someone to come pick me up.

The staff at this hotel turned my sour trip into one that I will never forget. I ended up at this hotel because my original hotel was booked. This hotel was not even in the location I initially desired but due to the staff and my new found knowledge of the train system, I will always stay at this hotel. I have training again next month and am looking forward to coming back to see my new found family.

VInce, Arianna, TIm, Chandu and Fred are the best. Thank you guys for taking care of this little Southern Girl lost in a big city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.